Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Mushrooms in Sherry-Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Mushrooms in Sherry-Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2004

      DH said he liked the recipe and wants me to prepare it again. I on the otherhand found it lacking somthing, not sure what. As another reviewer said, it has a "mild yet rich flavor". I'll try again with a few herbs/spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      Wow! This was just wonderful - cannot imagine how I missed making it this long. Made it just as posted except for seasoning the chicken with some salt, pepper, celery salt and parsley. This is already a favorite here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      Delicious and very easy to prepare. I followed the recipe exactly except I doubled the sauce ingredients as we like lots of sauce. I thickened the sauce with a bit of cornstarch mixed with water. Had a bit left over for lunch the next day and it was even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      A very tasty sauce. I used cubed pork steaks instead of chicken, and followed the recipe, except I did add salt, pepper and some herbs to the flour before tossing pork with it. I served the sauce over the pork, omitting the noodles which are no-nos on Atkins diet. The sauce didn't thicken (probably because the flour from the breading wasn't mixed in the gravy) so I used a little cornstarch to thicken it. Delicious mild, rich flavor. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      Excellent. To the reviewers who commented on its relative blandness, I would note that the contributor DID say "season to taste"---leaving room for "playing". I used Cavender's Greek seasoning blend (kind of my favorite go-to), lots of salt and pepper, and a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice, along with the sherry. I'd serve this to dinner guests, for sure---maybe tossing in some quartered artichoke hearts and pimiento to fancy it up for company. I had a pot of leftover wild rice blend, so served it over that---magnifico!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      I almost feel bad reviewing after making so many changes, but it was the base I started with and it was GREAT. OK, so I used salt, pepper, minced garlic and thyme in my flour mix for breading the chicken. I quartered my mushrooms because I prefer the aesthetic. For the sauce I used 1/2 c. Chardonnay, 1/2 cup. chicken broth & 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream with a couple tablespoons of cornstarch mixed in to thicken it a bit. It went together quickly and tasted divine, we'll be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I thought this was full of flavor and was delighted that my kids and husband liked it too! Instead of chicken breasts I deboned a 4 lb. chicken and cut into bite sized pieces, which necessitated the use of more flour (1 c. flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp each pepper, paprika and poultry seasoning). Seasoning to taste at this point will prevent the dish from being bland. Because I used more flour I also had to add more chicken broth (1 cup) to end up with a nice sauce. This is a delicious, comfort food type dish which I will add to our usual menu plan. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      I have to agree, it was very tasty, but also very mild. In fact, the leftovers the next day were almost bland, but I am sure that can be fixed by tweeking. I had to add quite a lot of sherry, 3 tablespoons was almost undetectabe. The recipe as written is also a lot of meat and not much sauce. So I ended up doubling the sauce all together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      The flavor of this dish was wonderful! However, next time I will add a little bit more garlic or something of the sort because it was a little bit mild.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      I served this with Jasmine rice instead of noodles. I thought the rice was a great accent to this dish. I was surprised at how much I liked this recipe, very simple with a complex taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      I really liked this recipe. So easy to prepare and a very delicious sauce. The instructions were very easy to follow and it all came together quickly. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

    • on June 18, 2003

      This was delicious! I thought I had allready rated this but I guess not. I used boneless country style pork ribs because it is all I had and chardonnay because hubby figured it was the same as sherry!! Well if it was this good so butchered by me then with the sherry it HAS to be fantastic! Next time I will try it the "right" way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Very good dish and pretty simple to prepare. I changed the flour to a 50/50 mix of flour and cornstarch and added a lot of fresh crack black & white pepper to the mix and I also quartered the mushrooms instead of thinly slicing them. I served it over egg noodles with some warm dinner rolls and it was a big hit. Thanks for this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This was absolutely wonderful! It was a hit with all ages, including a five year old, who is by far, my toughest critic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Followed recipe to a T and it was Excellent. A Keeper for sure! so good that I will talk about it in my blog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      I agree with another poster that the flavor of this dish was "mild but very rich". In reading that, I added the following to the flour...1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/4 tsp onion powder, & 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Then threw the chicken pieces in a ziploc bag, added the flour mixture and shook to coat the pieces. Very easy and quick meal to make. According to DH, this would even be good enough for me to serve for the holidays when we host his side of the family at our home for Christmas. Since his family is so large, we don't have the room for a sit down dinner so this dish will be just wonderful for my "help yourself" table I set up in my kitchen. Thanks for such a great recipe and hope you don't mind, I posted a pic too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2004

      Thanks very much for the recipe recommendation; it was perfect for tonight's dinner. I found it straightforward to prepare, quick to cook, and VERY tasty. The only negative (and it's not really a negative LOL) is that the sauce didn't get as thick as I expected, which is no big deal (it was still a great sauce). I used 10% cream but next time I'll either use heavy cream or thicken the sauce a bit with flour or cornstarch. Now, I did double the sauce (we like lots!), so I don't know if that contributed. This was a big hit, especially with my husband, who had two huge helpings. The recipe did call for serving this with pasta, but as we had spaghetti last night for dinner I made rice instead, which worked well with this dish. I'll be making this a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Mushrooms in Sherry-Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.9
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    51%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 78.7 mg
    26%
    Sodium 208.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites