19 Reviews

DH said he liked the recipe and wants me to prepare it again. I on the otherhand found it lacking somthing, not sure what. As another reviewer said, it has a "mild yet rich flavor". I'll try again with a few herbs/spices.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady April 07, 2004

Wow! This was just wonderful - cannot imagine how I missed making it this long. Made it just as posted except for seasoning the chicken with some salt, pepper, celery salt and parsley. This is already a favorite here!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KBhere February 19, 2004

Delicious and very easy to prepare. I followed the recipe exactly except I doubled the sauce ingredients as we like lots of sauce. I thickened the sauce with a bit of cornstarch mixed with water. Had a bit left over for lunch the next day and it was even better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine July 17, 2003

A very tasty sauce. I used cubed pork steaks instead of chicken, and followed the recipe, except I did add salt, pepper and some herbs to the flour before tossing pork with it. I served the sauce over the pork, omitting the noodles which are no-nos on Atkins diet. The sauce didn't thicken (probably because the flour from the breading wasn't mixed in the gravy) so I used a little cornstarch to thicken it. Delicious mild, rich flavor. I will make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl June 10, 2003

Excellent. To the reviewers who commented on its relative blandness, I would note that the contributor DID say "season to taste"---leaving room for "playing". I used Cavender's Greek seasoning blend (kind of my favorite go-to), lots of salt and pepper, and a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice, along with the sherry. I'd serve this to dinner guests, for sure---maybe tossing in some quartered artichoke hearts and pimiento to fancy it up for company. I had a pot of leftover wild rice blend, so served it over that---magnifico!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante May 23, 2013

I almost feel bad reviewing after making so many changes, but it was the base I started with and it was GREAT. OK, so I used salt, pepper, minced garlic and thyme in my flour mix for breading the chicken. I quartered my mushrooms because I prefer the aesthetic. For the sauce I used 1/2 c. Chardonnay, 1/2 cup. chicken broth & 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream with a couple tablespoons of cornstarch mixed in to thicken it a bit. It went together quickly and tasted divine, we'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy January 11, 2012

I thought this was full of flavor and was delighted that my kids and husband liked it too! Instead of chicken breasts I deboned a 4 lb. chicken and cut into bite sized pieces, which necessitated the use of more flour (1 c. flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp each pepper, paprika and poultry seasoning). Seasoning to taste at this point will prevent the dish from being bland. Because I used more flour I also had to add more chicken broth (1 cup) to end up with a nice sauce. This is a delicious, comfort food type dish which I will add to our usual menu plan. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin November 10, 2007

I have to agree, it was very tasty, but also very mild. In fact, the leftovers the next day were almost bland, but I am sure that can be fixed by tweeking. I had to add quite a lot of sherry, 3 tablespoons was almost undetectabe. The recipe as written is also a lot of meat and not much sauce. So I ended up doubling the sauce all together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suppen-Kaspar August 04, 2007

The flavor of this dish was wonderful! However, next time I will add a little bit more garlic or something of the sort because it was a little bit mild.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Cuisiniere March 13, 2007

I served this with Jasmine rice instead of noodles. I thought the rice was a great accent to this dish. I was surprised at how much I liked this recipe, very simple with a complex taste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toryrenee November 14, 2006
Chicken and Mushrooms in Sherry-Cream Sauce