10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never had anything like this before and am not usually a fan of peanut sauce. This was great! I used sriracha instead of the chilli sauce and left everything the same. I also mixed the sauce in the same pan after I cooked the chicken (took the chicken out)In the last step it says to mix the rice with the sauce, I didn't do that, I mixed the sauce with the chicken and served it over brown rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasteeone February 24, 2012

Made this for dinner tonight, and my whole family loved it! I made the sauce and cooked the chicken earlier in the day, and threw in the green beans at dinner. Also used red curry paste because I didn't have the red chili paste. The simplicity of this recipe along with the taste is deserving of the 5 star rating. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charps January 06, 2012

Fantastic dish! I steamed brown rice to use, and agree that next time will not steam the beans as long. I was worried the 1 tsp chili paste would make it too spicy, but it wasn't at all (maybe 1-2 stars if you were at a Thai restaurant). I didn't realize I should make the sauce in the same pan as the chicken, so dirtied another pan, but it worked just fine that way. It sat for awhile before we ate it, and it was a very thick sauce - yum! Served with gyoza!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks September 16, 2011

We have had a lot of green beans from our garden and decided to make this dish - we really liked it and will make it more often
OOPS I forgot to put the rating in

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar August 28, 2011

Wonderful recipe. You can't go wrong when peanut butter is included! I didn't have red chili paste so used red pepper flakes instead. I also added shredded carrots along with the green beans and served over steamed brown rice. I did thicken the sauce slightly with cornstarch My DH said this is a repeater. I am moving to my "Tried & True" file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM March 13, 2010

Quick, easy, and flavorful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
garrett_kelly September 13, 2009

We enjoyed this meal (I especially like meals that are all-in-one... I probably should have served something else alongside it but was tired that night and it was nice to know we were getting our starch, veggies and protein all in one bowl!)... my hubby really liked the lemon flavor in the peanut sauce. I think I might add a little more honey next time (personal taste). We also added a little extra salt at the table and found it brought out the flavors a little more. I did make a few substitutions, but nothing major. I used red chili flakes as I didn't have paste, and brown rice cooked with chicken broth rather than water. Also, I was able to make it a bit simpler by using my rice steamer which has a tray to put on top for steaming vegetables... I just put the green beans over the rice toward the end of the cooking time. Simple yet tasty meal.. (and even good leftover. :) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Al Al September 02, 2007

We loved this recipe! The peanut sauce is very good. Really not spicy at all. I roasted my green beans and served them on the side for my "no sauce" picky kids. Really good flavor and a quick easy meal to make. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JillAZ December 10, 2006

This was very quick to make--I agree, 10 minutes on the green beans was a little long as well--but very tasty for the amount of time involved. My whole family enjoyed it and I'll be making it again soon. I don't know if I'd call it spicy though--my family said bring on the chili paste--I'll triple it at least next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W October 03, 2006

Very delicious, & prep is not as time consuming as it looks. As a matter of preference only, I wouldn't cook the beans for more than 5 minutes, would use lime juice & a lot more chili paste! This is definitely a recipe that will be in the front of my files. Thank you for posting Chabear!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queer Eye in the Kitchen Guy September 25, 2006
Chicken and Green Beans in Spicy Peanut Sauce!