24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious; however I added carrots, onions, peas and parsley for flavor and to make it more filling. Also instead of making broth, I used canned chicken broth, which worked out fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cporterpick September 15, 2012

This recipe is awesome! My family of 6 devoured it, had seconds and we still had leftovers! The only substitution I made was after the chicken was cooked, I replaced half the water with chicken stock. Delicious and so easy. My husband was baffled by the dumplings and even after I told him they were tortillas, he was still amazed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmwink69 February 20, 2010

I make chicken and dumplins and always have great reviews and people want me to make them and bring them to there house. I have given them away as a gift. So I'm very partial on my southern dumplins. But, I thought I would give this a try not figuring I was reading it right with flour tortillas as I have tried to cook them similar to this before but I thought I would give it a try. It was alot less time then mine and I used a chicken boullian for the chicken broth. Well to my my surprise it came out pretty good. The tortilla has a little different texture but quickly got use to it. Mine started to burn a little on the bottom it said not to stir. It was a very hard thing to not stir as mine has alot of stir well most of the southern foods I make needs lots of stirring. But, I give it a five star. Great flavor, cheaper than my dumplins, alot quicker and can't wait to share.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Tut April 30, 2013

This is delicious filling soup and we love how the tortillas are kind of like noodles. I made it as written 1st to be able to review on it properly. I made it again today and I added a carrot and celery stalk along with some onion powder and poultry seasoning. It made a good soup great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julkoz February 01, 2014

This was an amazing recipe and so easy to make! Thank you for sharing this...it is definitely a keeper for my family!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeniferbz October 21, 2013

I have tried several different recipes for chicken and dumplings! This one is by far the best. I used half chicken broth and water to cover the chicken and added about 1 tsp of garlic salt. This was absolutely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmwjmiller March 22, 2013

My family loved this recipe! The only problem was that it was incredibly salty, so next time I will leave out the salt & use low sodium cream of chicken. This will become one of our usuals!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgm2116 January 29, 2013

This tasted just as it should ... good comfort food for cold weather! We will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda P. October 29, 2012

I can't tell you how glad I am to have found this! I lived in a small town in Mississippi for a few years and every home and restaurant in the area served "Chicken Pie" on Sunday. It was this exact recipe except it was finished in the oven with extra tortilla strips on top. Thank you, Parker's Mom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jancajun2 October 06, 2012

Surprisingly very good! I set it in front of my boyfriend who loves dumplings and he was so excited about how good it was. When I told him it was tortillas he was shocked. Very easy and yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food photog April 28, 2012
Chicken and Flour Tortilla Dumplings