Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Flour Tortilla Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Flour Tortilla Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2012

      This was delicious; however I added carrots, onions, peas and parsley for flavor and to make it more filling. Also instead of making broth, I used canned chicken broth, which worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This recipe is awesome! My family of 6 devoured it, had seconds and we still had leftovers! The only substitution I made was after the chicken was cooked, I replaced half the water with chicken stock. Delicious and so easy. My husband was baffled by the dumplings and even after I told him they were tortillas, he was still amazed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      I make chicken and dumplins and always have great reviews and people want me to make them and bring them to there house. I have given them away as a gift. So I'm very partial on my southern dumplins. But, I thought I would give this a try not figuring I was reading it right with flour tortillas as I have tried to cook them similar to this before but I thought I would give it a try. It was alot less time then mine and I used a chicken boullian for the chicken broth. Well to my my surprise it came out pretty good. The tortilla has a little different texture but quickly got use to it. Mine started to burn a little on the bottom it said not to stir. It was a very hard thing to not stir as mine has alot of stir well most of the southern foods I make needs lots of stirring. But, I give it a five star. Great flavor, cheaper than my dumplins, alot quicker and can't wait to share.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      This is delicious filling soup and we love how the tortillas are kind of like noodles. I made it as written 1st to be able to review on it properly. I made it again today and I added a carrot and celery stalk along with some onion powder and poultry seasoning. It made a good soup great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      This was an amazing recipe and so easy to make! Thank you for sharing this...it is definitely a keeper for my family!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      I have tried several different recipes for chicken and dumplings! This one is by far the best. I used half chicken broth and water to cover the chicken and added about 1 tsp of garlic salt. This was absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      My family loved this recipe! The only problem was that it was incredibly salty, so next time I will leave out the salt & use low sodium cream of chicken. This will become one of our usuals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      This tasted just as it should ... good comfort food for cold weather! We will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      I can't tell you how glad I am to have found this! I lived in a small town in Mississippi for a few years and every home and restaurant in the area served "Chicken Pie" on Sunday. It was this exact recipe except it was finished in the oven with extra tortilla strips on top. Thank you, Parker's Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      Surprisingly very good! I set it in front of my boyfriend who loves dumplings and he was so excited about how good it was. When I told him it was tortillas he was shocked. Very easy and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      I am so happy I tried this recipe. My husband loves rolled dumplings, but frankly I am too lazy to even try to make them. I saw this recipe and thought I would give it a try, I am so happy I did. My husband loved it! This is pure comfort food and I am sure I will make it often. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      This is a great recipe and very easy. However, I do prefer hmemade dough for the dumplings. The broth flavor of this was perfect and I always us a whole chicken because I have 1/2 for a chicken pot pie and 1/2 for the dumplings. If you're in a hurry the tortilla's work well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      When the weather is cold and blustery outside this is a quick and easy comfort food. I have made this numerous times and no one can tell that the dumplings are made of flour tortillas. I also use chicken stock and sometimes add vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Wonderful! This is how my mom has always made chicken and dumplings. She had to make triple batches when I was in high school because about 10 kids would show up to eat them. The only thing she does differently is use chicken stock instead of water. Of course she also cooked a whole chicken instead of using just breasts. I make mine just like this recipe. Sooo good. I have always thought what most people call normal dumplings were gross. Thick and doughy-- yuck! I will stick with this. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This was (I'm sorry Parker's Mom) absolutely disgusting! No one in my family of 6 could eat this. The tortillas took on a very slimy feel and the flavor wasn't good at all. Very bland. I will definitely stick with the real dumplings from now on. Just not worth the short cut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      This recipe was so simple and they came out great. I was trying to think of something quick, with items that i already had at home. I served them with some cornbread. I will definitely be doing this recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Flour tortilla dumplings?! I couldn't quite believe it would be so easy. Well, sure enough, they turned out wonderful. Additions I made: I cooked some carrots, onions and celery til softened in a skillet with some bacon grease. I also spiced it up with some rosemary, thyme, garlic powder, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Good, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I loved this recipe -- delicious, convenient and flexible -- but my dumplings didn't set. They stayed as strips. I used smaller torts, but they were whole wheat, maybe that matters?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      SIMPLY DELICIOUS! These totally rivaled Cracker Barrel's dumplings. This was the easiest and cheapest recipe that has yet to enter my kitchen. I am so happy I have an easy alternative to the "old" way of making dumplings. This is a new favourite at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Flour Tortilla Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.4
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    50%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 46.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 670.7 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes