Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Egg on Rice (Oyako Donburi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Egg on Rice (Oyako Donburi)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2003

      this is an excellent recipe, I made it for my JApanese class and they all loved it and my Japanese teacher said that it was very authentic

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      Simple and tasty! Exactly what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Amazing. I've never had Oyako Donburi before (I was a little hesitant about something non-breakfasty with eggs poured on top,) but I'll definitely add it to my regular menu now. I may even make just the sauce sometime--it would be great on stir-fries. Thank you, Hey Jude.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I guess you either love Oyako Donburi or not. I've looked at all the recipes for this dish in an effort to recreate the beloved Donburi my husband had in Okinawa while he was stationed there. He, and the rest of the family, found this recipe tasteless and bland, no fault to the chef, as all the Donburi recipes on this site are the same. I will try it made with the Bonito Dashi in a few days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      When I made it I thought it looked like too much sauce, so I made less sauce, but the sauce does boil away & then the stuff sticks like glue to the pan. ay! I used parsley, & no sugar cuz am diabetic. I really enjoyed this dish & am adding to my regular repertoire. The flavor & texture reminded me of chicken fried rice, but it's actually healthier than fried. The eggs stretch the protein of the meal. [editted to add] I just made it for the 2nd time, adding more water to the sauce, but it ended up soupy, so I now recommend following the directions & if it boils away just add a tbsp or 2 more of water. I did add little bits of celery & slivered carrot & liked the texture, flavor & color. I used dried shiitake one time and fresh one time, and I prefer the fresh. I beat the eggs slightly the 1st time, and the 2nd time just dropped the egg on top and let it steam with the cover on for a few minutes, and that made a prettier presentation, but I don't think it matters very much. I've seen instructions both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I recommend making 1.5 times the amount of sauce. I cooked the onion, chicken mushrooms (added sliced snap peas) then poured the egg over, covered it for a few minutes to cook then put the whole thing on top of the rice and poured the mirin-soy sauce mixture over top of that. PERFECT. Also, swap out green onions for cilantro and it's more authentically japanese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Amazing! Loved this!! I added garlic and some broccoli, carrot and peapod. A keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This was very tasty and I hope it reheats well because I have some left over. I didn't use the mushrooms as I couldn't find any and substituted chopped green onion for the cilantro as I am not a big fan of that particular herb. This is a very easy dish to make and comes together very quickly so it will become a standby for nights when I don't feel like cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I made this recipe for my teenage son's Japanese language pot-luck. It was the hit of the pot-luck! He has asked me to make it again. I am half-Japanese, so mirin, soy sauce and dried shiitake mushrooms are staples in our cupboard. It is the all-time Japanese comfort food and I highly recommend it to all folks who aren't familiar with homestyle Japanese cuisine. Once they try it, they will be hooked! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I just couldn't wait for the rice to finish cooking to try a little bit of this creation... YUMMY! Just as good or maybe even better than I've tasted at a Japanese Resturant. I was so proud of myself. I did not add the cilantro, though I did add green onions. I doubled the simmering sauce and added less chicken and eggs to make for a comfort soup day... ahhh... how great it is! Thank you for this wonderful recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Fabulous! I omitted the mushrooms and green onion. I was surprised how much the eggs soaked up the liquid from the sauce. It was less saucy than the version my husband makes. I added some extra soy sauce and mirin at the end. But I had left the eggs in for more than 1 minute. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Yum! I made certain changes: I omitted the shiitake because I didn't have any; used green onion instead of cilantro; and used half a tablespoon of sugar because I don't like my oyako too sweet. It's a great, easy and economical recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Great Recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

    • on February 19, 2006

      What a wonderful dish! It was delicious, fast and easy. I used fresh shiitakes because I have some on-hand. I will definitely make this again, and...again, and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      I almost gave this four stars, but I don't think that would be fair. The recipe itself is excellent. I however, am a really bad cook. I also GREATLY enjoy Chicken Katsu Don at my favorite Japanese hangouts. So to compare this recipe to that, when it's professionally prepared wouldn't be right. I do like the suggestion of using Sake over mirin, and adding extra sugar. I would also serve it over seasoned sushi rice, as it adds more flavor. But for the novice cook, this is an easy and delicious recipe to follow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      This is one of my favorite Japanese dishes. The recipe was easy to follow & tasted great. I know it is not traditional, but I do like additional veggies in my oyako donburi, so I added some matchstick carrots & greenbeans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      So simple and delicious-- AND better than the restaurant version! This is what I remember from when I was little. Now it's one of my comfort food recipes ^-~ Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Yum. Comfort food. Easy, easy to throw together too. We used fresh shiitakes because I have some on-hand that need to get used and I thought it was delighful. We sauteed the onions/mushrooms/chicken a bit before adding the simmer sauce, which worked okay, but I don't think I'll bother next time- the simmer sauce is flavorful enough that I don't think I would end up with those icky bland and dry 'boiled chicken' and 'boiled onion' flavors. I didn't have any mirin, so I used sake and added and extra Tbs of sugar. Really easy. We didn't have any cilantro, so we didn't use any, but I do think this would benefit greatly from the addition of something green. It's a very versatile recipe, and BF and I are looking forward to trying variations with pork and experiment with adding some ginger, garlic and green onion. The texture of the eggs in this was really lovely- almost custardy. The simmer sauce had great flavor and this was just all in all, a great rainy night supper for us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2004

      It was very easy to make and it was delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Egg on Rice (Oyako Donburi)

    Serving Size: 1 (460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 520.8
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    13%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 240.4 mg
    80%
    Sodium 1246.6 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 32.4 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites