Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Dumplings, Southern Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Dumplings, Southern Style

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2002

      Great recipe! Very easy to make. Next time I will cut the dumplings smaller. They took longer than suggested to cook and were a little chewy, rather than tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2002

      see my posted comments, it's a meal in itself, this is my favorite childhood recipe that I finally rediscovered. The combined prep and cooking time is more like 3.5-4 hours depending how attentive you are to it. It's a great pot of soup to make on the woodstove and make the house smell so good. It's definitely worth the time to make! Thanks again, Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      Wonderful southern chicken and dumplings, My partners daughter took two big tubs out of town with her today as well as inhaling it yesterday. Loved by all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

    • on April 14, 2012

      OMG! This was SO good! The best chicken and dumplings I have ever had. And boiling the whole chicken sure makes a difference. The only change I had to do was to mix some cornstarch with cooled broth to thicken it up a bit for my taste. Other than that...Holy cow this stuff was great! Comfort food at its finest! A little time consuming to make but so worth it! Just a note that the dumplings look almost too dry when your rolling them out but they turn out awesome once in the pot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

    • on January 05, 2010

      Very good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Fantastically simple and delicious at the same time! Really comforting. I did add milk to my broth to make it creamier. I also left my veggies in. Too much chicken though. But I can always pick that out and make chicken salad or something else. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I agree with FB. This is one of the best true Southern recipes. Light and fluffy dumplings!!! I added some sage and poultry seasoning to the broth, then towards the end I added heavy cream to the broth to keep the dumplings from sticking to each other. This displaced Georgia Belle thanks you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      For anyone not from the South who wants to try REAL Chicken and Dumplings, try this recipe! Delicious! I've put off making Chicken and Dumplings up here in Chicago because the stores don't carry the frozen dumplings (like Mary Jane brand) like they do in Georgia, where my grandmother-in-law taught me how to make this soul-warming dish. But this recipe was just the thing to get me making the dumplings at home - perfect! I did have to add about 2 cups extra broth to handle all of the dumplings, but who can complain about TOO MANY dumplings? Not me! And the fresh thyme in the dough - what a fantastic touch! (for the northerners trying this for the first time, add the dumplings a few at a time rather than pouring the whole batch in at once so that they don't clump together. The extra flour on the dumpling surface will thicken the broth into a perfect gravy as it cooks!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      A new recipe to add to my favorite recipes book !!! This was GREAT !! I did not add the thyme called for, but followed everything else. The dumplings were tender and flavorful. The end result was the perfect cold weather dish, YUM !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Oh, WOW, these are great and some of the best comfort food ever! What a stellar way to cook and season the chicken and broth: everyone should take lessons from this! The dumplings are just as good, just the way I love them. The only thing I changed in the recipe was to halve the dumpling recipe because the broth cooked down so much. A little work for a lot of reward - this is a permanent keeper! Thank you for sharing the recipe and the method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Delicious! Having never made a recipe like this before, I was doubtful that it would turn out the right way, but it was delicious and easy to make. The seasoning was perfect; don't forget to add the salt and pepper at the end as suggested. Because my family wanted thicker broth, I removed the chicken and dumplings and added a little Bisquick to the broth, at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This was definitely a hit in our house. Personally I liked this better leftover rather than freshly made. As other reviewers indicated, the amount of time needed is closer to 4+ hours so plan ahead. Additionally there is quite a bit of dumpling dough so plan to add extra broth or water. The two quarts of water was not nearly enough by the time it all cooked down. My husband raved about this dish and said it most closely resembled his mother's. I can't ask for more than that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Excellent. I also used my food processor for the dumplings. Delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Great recipe, made short work of mixing the dumplings with the food processor..southern fare all the way....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Awesome C&D. It did take a little longer to make than stated but I don't care. The outcome was perfect. I loved the rosemary in this. Would never have thought of that one. I made as directed except I cut my dumplings into about 1X1 inch pieces and they cooked up fine. This is the first time I've made rolled out dumplings and I liked them. The dough was kinda hard to get together but I did okay with it. Rolled out nicely. It is Very Stiff. Thanks Di for a wonderful meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Members from my church take turn feeding our Missionaries each month. They are served a lot of pasta so I like to choose something different. I chose this particular recipe because of the herbs, which I grow in my garden. I was able to pick the thyme and rosemary to use as needed. This recipe was absolute delicious! My children LOVED it. We all left the table feeling very well satisfied. - Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      this was a first for me. i'm really glad there was a photo, because i didn't even know what this was supposed to look/taste like! my Lady says it was marvellous, and [other than my using unbleached, stone ground wheat flour for the dumplings] tasted just like She remembered from Her mother! :D so it gets 2 votes for 5 stars. it was a lot more work than anything i had previously cooked on my own, but wow, was it worth it! this was totally awesome! i've got a gallon Ziploc full in the freezer for next time, and i know i'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      DiBs when I moved to MS from up north many years ago I was pregnant and on a diet and my mother-in-law fixed my first southern dumplings. OMG I loved them. My doctor didn't. I tried for years to make them. Couldn't get it down. Well after about 40 years in the south I finally feel like a true Southerner. OMG are they good. And there goes the diet--again. Gloria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Dumplings, Southern Style

    Serving Size: 1 (531 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 633.5
     
    Calories from Fat 309
    48%
    Total Fat 34.4 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 128.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 980.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 37.7 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    thyme

    rosemary

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes