76 Reviews

I've been trying different chicken and dumpling recipes for years, usually with disappointment, but this one is fantastic. I actually worked for Cracker Barrel and can say that these come extremely close. I added onion, extra salt, pepper and thyme, which I love, and the recipe turned out perfectly. One tip, after rolling the dough out 1/2 inch thick, I used a pizza cutter to cut it into squares. I like my dumplings on the thin side and these were wonderful.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahlouzoo_640532 May 11, 2011

This was very good all of my familey loved it. I added 2 diced stalks of celery,2 diced carrots and 1 small onion diced to the water and chicken befor it was cooked for extra flavor.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern chef in louisiana November 12, 2001

I made this tonight and it was fantastic!! My kids loved it too. I added carrots and celery also. This recipe is a keeper!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erika January 25, 2002

This was fantastic!! The dumplings are soft, yet firm enough to have good texture. The gravy was nice and thick. I made my usual chicken stock with a chicken, one gallon of water, one bunch of celery, 3 large onions AND skins halved, 3 crushed garlic cloves, 2 Tsp. of salt, and 2 Tsp. of peppercorns. I doubled the dumpling recipe (since I doubled the broth). I kneaded the dough as directed, and patted it out on a floured counter to about 1/4" thickness and then cut 1" x 1 1/2" strips. Placed them all into the boiling stock (that everything else was removed from), reduced the temp as directed, and cooked for 10 mins. w/the cover cocked to allow some steam to leave. It was FANTASTIC and a definite keeper. (It was so good I joined the site! LOL) Thank you for this recipe.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyssie71 December 30, 2007

As far as a classic C&D recipe, this is as close as it gets. However, looking at the nutrition facts was scary - 700 calories and 41 grams of fat per serving?? A lot of the fat comes from the whole chicken to make the broth and the shortening. Instead, I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and some white meat chicken tenders. Added celery, garlic, onions, and thyme like some other reviews. I also added a Knor homestyle stock base, which helps add back some flavor without all the fat and marrow coming out of the chicken bones. Use low-fat margarine to make the dumplings and the buttermilk isn't really necessary. Most people can't tell the difference between normal milk (skim for me) and buttermilk when it's actually cooked into the dumplings. I did end up thickening the sauce a little more after adding dumpling by mixing 2 T flour into 1/4 c. COLD water, then adding that faux roux back into the pot and stirring. Hope this was helpful for anyone wanting to cut out some of the unnecessary fats!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gipsy_13 January 11, 2012

I altered this recipe a little for my convenience. I bought a rotisserie chicken and de-boned it instead of boiling my own. So then I had to make my own broth using "better than broth" with 2 quarts of water. I also used margarine instead of shortening for the dumplings. It truly does taste just like Cracker Barrel's and I love theirs. So thank you hcopeland for this recipe I have sent it on to many other friends.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l13west December 20, 2009

I didn't eat them because I'm on a diet. These comments are my husband's and neighbor's. It's not as good as Cracker Barrell. But it is good.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Fullerton February 18, 2002

I normally make chicken and homemade egg noodles, and my family loves them, but DH wanted dumplings like his grandma made, and he loves Cracker Barrels, so I tried this recipe and he was very happy with it. I made exactly as written with one exception, I added one Knorr chicken stock container. I will keep using this recipe!! Thanks H for posting!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu December 07, 2011

I am rating this on the dumplings mostly because I added celery, carrots, onions, green beans and peas to the soup. We loved the dumplings. I tore off little pieces like one reviewer suggested and they were perfect. I am making them a second time today and this time added some cajon seasoning salt for the salt called for. Thanks for a great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnie2u December 08, 2011
Chicken and Dumplings Like Cracker Barrel's