15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe tastes like a home made version of chicken pot pie. It is good, however not the best chicken and dumplings recipe that I have ever made. I grew up with a better recipe that mom made and this one does not even come close. Out of curiousity, I am on a mission and am trying to find out if there is anything out there more heavenly than hers. Unfortunately this was not it. This explains my 4 star rating. I would suggest not to throw out all of that good chicken broth in step #2. Instead reserve some of this freshly made goodness to use instead of the water in step #4. Dumping out the broth and recreating from scratch is a waste. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning , and 1 Tablespoon of Parsley Flake to the dumplings for more taste and color.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkylerFox May 28, 2008

LOVED THIS RECIPE!!! First time I have made Chicken and Dumplings and they turned out exactly how I like them. I did reserve the water that I boiled the chicken in use in the "water" part of the recipe. I doubled it thinking I may have made too much and it wasnt enough. It was a bit more of a stew consistency so next time I may add a bit of a thickening agent - or maybe not. I dont wanna mess with a good thing. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It is now in the dinner rotation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pillsbury12 October 08, 2011

Oh boy do I ever wish I could give this more than 5 stars because in my opinion this is worth 50 stars!! Made this tonight for supper. I tripled the soup recipe and doubled the dumplings. This was heaven!! My son who is 20 months is VERY picky and he loved it...he stole mine tonight LOL. My girls loved it. I phoned my hubby at work and told him he needed to come home for supper. When he got home I got him a bowl and he took one bite and said "oh my!!!" does that tell you how good it was?? I will be printing this one off and putting it in my keepsakes. I've already shared your recipe with 2 boards I am a part of. Thank you so much for this awesome recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luveyduvey21 February 21, 2008

This is getting five stars because the whole family loved it!! I have made it twice and both times substituted onion powder for the chopped onions since my 8 year old is picky and won't touch onions. My teen boys and husband never get enough, so next time I am going to triple the recipe!! Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me March 10, 2007

Well I have finally found the perfect dumpling (IMHO). I've been looking for this type of texture for a long time. The dumplings were light and fluffy and the texture was perfect. I doubled the entire recipe and added 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the dumpling mixture and they tasted wonderful. I left the lid on for 20 minutes and the dumplings were perfect. I think I'll use chicken thighs next time for some extra flavor in the chicken. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 31, 2006

Having read previous reviews, I made several changes and doubled the recipe (only used 3 cups of leftover cubed chicken breast though). I added a cup of water and an additional chicken bouillon cube. I also added 1/2 teaspoon each of poultry seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder and dried parsley flakes to the dry dumpling ingredients. Using a spring-action tablespoon melon baller was helpful. Increasing the covered cooking time to 20 minutes over low to med-low heat worked very well. My entire family devoured this. No leftovers! Thanks for posting, soulmatesforever. Also, thanks to past reviewers for suggestions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens October 09, 2014

I have never made chicken and dumplings before, but thank you, we really liked this recipe, and it's a keeper! I prepared mine a bit differently than the directions stated. I boiled the chicken in a pot, wiped out the same pot, sauteed the veggies and garlic in that same pot, and then just poured the soup and milk on top of the veggies when it was time. That way, I didn't have to dirty a bunch of dishes. I made a few additions, based on some helpful review suggestions: I added 1/2 teaspoon onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning, and 1 Tablespoon dried parsley flakes to the dumpling mixture. I also reserved a soup can's worth of the water that I used to boil the chicken in for the water portion of the recipe. The recipe didn't specifically say when to put the cut-up pieces of chicken in - I ended up putting them in about halfway through the 30-minute (pre-dumpling) boiling time. Also, 20 minutes with the lid on my pot was a perfect time for my dumplings to be cooked too. As another reviewer also stated, some of my soup mixture browned a bit to the bottom of my pot, and I had it set on lower than medium-low heat. I guess it needs to simmer even lower than that when the dumplings are in there. I think next time I make this, I will double the soup mixture, but keep the dumpling mixture measurements the same, because the dumplings soaked up a bunch of the liquid. Thanks so much, I'm so glad we tried this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 November 14, 2011

OH MY GOODNESS........talk about a comfort food......EXCELLENT and so easy to make. Very happy with this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralikestoeat February 26, 2011

I just made it today and I didnt think that hte dumplings were gonna come out right(seeing as though I never made dumplings before), and I gotta say that this recipe was awesome!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
top_home_chef September 23, 2010

I thought the flavor of this was excellent! I did something wrong with my dumplings because they just turned mushy and I had to scoop them out and throw noodles in at the last minute. Not sure what I did, but I will have to try again. I did add about a teaspoon of poultry seasoning for more flavor and quite a bit more chicken stock because it got too thick for me. But it was Awesome! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef of 5 March 07, 2008
Chicken and Dumplings