Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2009

      I had made a chicken stew to use for several preparations, one of which was to make Chicken and Dumplings, so I only used the dumpling part of this recipe. The dumplings were light and had a delicious ('perfect' in my book) texture and flavor. I used melted unsalted butter instead of oil, and used a scant teaspoon of salt. I also cooked them close to 30 minutes. Just wonderful. DH was very suspicious - his experience had always been with heavy, gooey dumplings - but he loved this. The secret to a light dumpling is to never lift the lid until they're done (just like cooking rice). Thanks for a great recipe for an old standard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Very good, very fast recipe that the family loved. The only thing I changed was that I used two sets of veggies. The first set of veggies I boiled with the chicken for flavor as the recipe stated. I discarded them after that( way to mushy for my taste). The second set of veggies I added right before adding the dumplings, and finshed the recipe the same. This step made the veggies firmer instead of mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Although this dish is normally considered "comfort food" this simple recipe is worthy of a dinner party. I followed instructions tit for tat except that I used 3-1/2 lbs. of boneless, skinless thighs (my favorite in soupy chicken dishes because the rich chicken flavor does not get washed out). Your recipe rocks, Ms. Vezina! Thank you for sharing and know that this is now my default Chicken 'n dumplings recipe. Booyah!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I'd never cooked chicken/dumplings before so I took the time to read the reviews--whew! WELL, I ended up letting the chicken boil (I cut this recipe down to use 1 lb of chicken breasts)--which only took 15 min to cook, not 2 hrs. Took about 2 cups water to cover the chicken. Hubby helped me out by telling me the dumplings would need enough liquid to "steep" in as they cooked, so I needed a "taller" saucepan (I was using a "longer" one so the chick would lay next to each other & cook equally). Good thing! The dumplings were easy to put together--and took about 15 min to cook (I cooked them 12 min; hubby said they needed a bit longer); I made them tbsp size but next time will make them smaller as they really did "poof!" I read the reviews about not opening the lid as the dumplings cook & that helped. It was a great recipe; one I'll hopefully repeat b/c it was great to be able to serve this to hubby :-) Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      What I love about recipes like this is that it allows for the passionate cook to come out and play. And for the beginner cook, it is simple and straight forward. This recipe has virtually endless variations on what can be done with it. In my Dumplings I tossed in some Italian herbs and pepper. My 'Soup', loaded it up with all kinds of veggies, what ever is in season. Wonderful Chicken and Dumpling. This is a great recipe as is or made with the flavours you like. Either way, it is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      This recipe, for me, was all about the dumplings, as I already make my chicken soup in a very similar manner. I made chicken soup the other day with homemade broth from my freezer, leftover rotisserie chicken, onion, carrot, celery etc. I'm not real adept at making dumplings but this recipe was so simple to make I could't resist. They turned out awesome! I added extra broth as some reviews said and also did not take off the lid on the pot while the dumplings were cooking until I was sure they were done. I left them to go at a good simmer for twenty minutes. I also followed the recipe exactly except I halved it, and there was plenty to go around. Leftovers were wonderful. Dumplings came out light, light, light, and fulffy! Delish! Thanks so much I'll use this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Six thumbs up from three eaters--a winner at my house. I used my own chicken stock that I had made and frozen earlier, adding herbs and vegetables before putting the chicken meat back in. The dumplings were very satisfying. I might make just a little less dough next time, as there were too many dumplings to fit nicely in my pot. Someone with a wider pot will not have this problem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Yummo! My family loved this chicken and dumplings recipe. The only thing I did different was used 3 pounds of chicken thighs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I made this more or less along with the recipe, except that I used a can of cream of chicken and 6 chicken strips, so it was a smaller batch. The dumplings were so delicious though (I used the southern style instead) and the chicken broth gave them such a great flavor. I grew up on my mother's "German dumplings" which are very chewy. Don't get me wrong, I like them, but this is a nice change. Next time I will use a bigger pot though, as they expanded some and it overflowed a bit. The extra dough mixture (about half was left) went for a batch my mom made. That was a bit of a surprise as she's picky about dumplings. Just a tip to any one else who wants to make the southern ones: if you make your own chicken broth, make sure it's barely warm when you add it so as not to cook the eggs. Oh and I have to agree with another review, I think I'll make them a little smaller next time lol. Maybe I'll go by teaspoons instead for mini dumplings :) Either way, this was a hit for my family and DH. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      This was awesome. Cooked it in a crockpot. I added 2 potatoes, 1 tsp poultry seasoning and 1 bay leaf. I added approximately 5 cups of water to the crockpot ontop of chicken and veggies. I cooked for about 6 hours, removed and shredded the chicken and put it back in the pot. The dumplings took about 45 minutes to cook. Will definitely make this again! Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Very good, very easy! I used 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts because that's what I had on hand. When I came to the step of adding the dumplings to the soup, I made them quite small based on other reviews I read. Well, when it was finished cooking, most of my dumplings had dissolved into the soup! It made the broth very creamy and yummy, but I was disappointed because I actually wanted dumplings lol. So, I just made ANOTHER batch of the dumplings and cooked in some plain chicken broth (and made them bigger this time) and just stirred them into my previously completed dish. Much better now. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      This was a really good recipe. I made three changes. The first was that I didn't have an onion so instead I used about 1/4 cup dehydrated minced onions. 2. I used 2 cups all purpose baking mix with 2/3 cup milk to make the dumplings instead....just because I was lazy. Then dropped them in the soup the same way the homemade ones would have been dropped in. They were delicious! The other change that I made, was that right before I added the dumplings I put in 2 potatoes (diced) because Im from Idaho and its against everything I know to eat a meal that doesn't contain potatoes. By the time the dumplings were done, the potatoes were cooked (but not too soggy, because they will be too soggy if you add them in the beginning with the other veggies). Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Husband and kids loved it. This is definitely a keeper in my household. The next time husband wants me to do the dumplings in two different variations--half the way it is done in the recipe and the other half which is the chewier southern style you list at the bottom of the recipe. Husband liked the way the dumplings dissolved the next day making it like a creamy soup. Wish I could give this recipe more than five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I followed the base recipe, but did several things to lighten this dish. it was fantastic. I used 2 boneless breast, seasoned, diced and sauteed in 1 tbsp oil. I deglazed with about 1/4 cup white wine and added the vegetables and a bit of garlic. I used 2 cups chicken broth to cover and added an additional 2 cups of stock and simmered for 40 minutes. I also added a pinch of Poultry Seasoning. For the dumplings, I eliminated the oil, used 1% milk and 1 egg. I had used a bit of slurry to thicken the broth, but I don't know that it needs it after the dumplings cook. DH couldn't even tell this was a lighter version. My only issue is that the dumplings were a bit salty for me, I will greatly reduce or eliminate the salt the next time. Can't wait to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Great recipe! This is almost the same one I have been using for years. We just found out that our son has an egg allergy and the dumplings recipe I have always used prior calls for eggs. I was glad when I found yours! I knew it was the right one with all the great reviews. This one is a keeper and will replace the old family one I had been using. Also used some cornstarch and water to help thicken. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      VERY satisfying! The hardest and longest part was taking the chicken off the bone. It smelled fantastic and everything was cooked to perfection. We used the traditional dumplings and they were exactly the light,fluffy dumplings we were looking for. The only thing we changed was to add poultry seasoning to the chicken prior to cooking, as several people suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      My grandma from Kentucky would have been proud!!! This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I followed the directions exactly! Next time and there will be a next time I will make my dumplings a little smaller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      I have never been able to make a successful pot of chicken and dumplings before trying this recipe. The broth was flavorful enough (although I did add more liquid and some garlic and cayenne,) but what really did it for me was the inclusion of the word 'simmer' at the step where you add the dumplings. This may be common sense for veteran chicken and dumpling makers, but for me, 'simmering' as opposed to 'boiling' meant the difference between the decimated dumpling mush from my previous attempts and the perfect, fluffy bits that I had with this recipe. Eureka!

      Thank you, Dawn Vezina. Now I can make a wonderful dish that sendst my husband back for seconds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      My mother used to make flat style chicken and dumplings. Decided to make this recipe for the new year and it was wonderful! I'm so proud of myself and mom would be too. Thanks for providing such an easy delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Really good - flavor was that of a true "old fashioned" chicken and dumplings. Made exactly as written the first time and it was excellent. The 2nd time I also fried some bacon and added in the first step; and to save time used "flaky canned biscuits, torn apart, dipped in flour and cut into fourths" for the dumplings and that too was very good. Next time I want to use the Southern Style Dumplings recipe at bottom of this recipe. Got rave reviews - a real keeper. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 936.4
     
    Calories from Fat 464
    49%
    Total Fat 51.5 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 179.0 mg
    59%
    Sodium 2641.1 mg
    110%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 54.3 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites