Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2002

      I had just dressed out an old rooster and thought that it would be tough as shoe leather but, not so! This sauce was so tasty and we liked the idea of thickening the sauce. Had so much that I have another meal of it frozen. We loved the steamed dumplings as mine usually are soggy when I drop them in the liquid to cook. These were light and nice and soft but I will need to add a bit more salt for our taste. I found the flour and butter a little difficult to incorporate in the liquid; it tended to lump. Next time I will add a little liquid to it before putting it into the pot. But we will definitely have this meal again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2000

    • on June 28, 2010

      I loved this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing, have saved it! Regards.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      My wife insisted I find a good Chicken and Dumplings recipe and this is the one I chose. The dumplings were easy to make and the chicken and noodles was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This is it! You made "The" best C & D recipe! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This recipe is incredible! I was leery of making my own dumplings, but this steam method is super easy. I cooked the chicken in the crock pot all day. The entire meal melted in our mouths. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      this was a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I make chicken and dumplings the same way except I add a can of cream of chicken soup.I skip step number 6 because it is not needed when using the soup. You really can taste the extra flavor it adds.Once I used a can of cream of celery soup instead and it was great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      It is a snowy day and I was up to cooking a comfort meal and this definitely filled the bill. And the dumplings came out so fluffy, will try these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      As the Mom of Quadruplets +1, I'm always looking for things to make in quantities for the masses that keep everyone full until the next meal! This was an awesome recipe. I used some seasoning salt and doubled the recipe. I've never made chicken and dumplings before and this was GREAT! Very kid and husband friendly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      If you want the yellowish color but don't want to add food coloring, you can substitute it with a 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric. It will only alter the flavor slightly if at all and add to the flavor not deminish from it. The color will be beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 657.8
     
    Calories from Fat 384
    58%
    Total Fat 42.7 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 188.6 mg
    62%
    Sodium 637.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 46.1 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes