Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2002

      Very, Very good. Made these for dinner last eve, Good comfort food for a stormy day. Everyone thought it was delicious. We love Chicken and dumplings. Served it with a green salad and baked apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      I did not use any wine. I did however find cream of chicken AND mushroom soup by Campbell (I'd never seen that before) so I used two cans of that. I also used leeks and a bag of small frozen pearl onions and added fresh mushrooms. Unforunately I did not follow the instructions very well so the dumplings turned out kind of gummy ( I added everything in and then the dumplings so they had no room to cook). So I used one can for dumplings and just used the second can as biscuits. Very lovely and tasty chicken and dumplings (I used 10 skinless boneless thighs and three skinless boneless breasts).WONDERFUL FLAVOR in spite of my errors I will be making this one again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      I really liked this recipe. I am not a chicken and dumpling expert. I have had it only a few times. This was easy, tasty and made a huge pot of food! I did not add the wine and I boiled the chicken with two bouillon cubes. Added pepper but otherwise followed directions exactly. Was very easy. Thanks for the new staple recipe for our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      I will be making the AGAIN & AGAIN!!! It was sooo delicious and SUPER easy!! Next time I will add more peas and carrots! Thanks so much for posting! It's a GREAT recipie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      very tasty. I added garlic and seasoning salt. Hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Great recipe. I added more chicken, really wonderful. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      This is exactly what I've been thinking of when you think of Chicken and Dumplings. I didn't have any wine or cream of chicken soup, so I put just milk in it. It was fantastic! I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      I've had to make this twice w/in the past 2 weeks and both times it was gobbled up completely at each sitting! Used chic breasts but all else was per the recipe. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      This is really good and super easy! All three of my boys like it, and it's no easy task to get them to like the same thing at the same time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This is great for a quick chicken and dumplings, and I will use it regularly. It won't replace my more involved recipe, which I love, but this is perfect for getting a home cooked meal on the table fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was so good and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      My family loved this recipe! It was like chicken pot pie in soup form! I didn't have any green peas, but did have some leftover frozen mixed vegetables (peas, corn, carrots, green beans) so threw those in instead. I did use just enough water to cover the thighs and added 2 cloves of choped garlic. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I've never made chicken and dumplings before, and never thought about using refrigerated biscuits for the dumplings! This recipe was really delicious. I used chicken stock instead of water, used two cans of cream of chicken soup (that's all I had), and would only use about 1/4 teaspoon of poultry seasoning the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Now THIS is a recipe that deserves 5 stars! The broth was thick and rich and everything came together nicely! The only addition I made was to add 3 cloves of fresh chopped garlic. In the pursuit of healthy food, I used a homemade / copycat recipe for the pillsbury dough. but all-in-all, this one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      very easy to make delicious, although instead of water I use chicken broth. Everyone I make this for loves it. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I made this last night for dinner. It hit the spot. This was the first time I've ever made dumplings. Everyone loved it and it was sooo easy. I did only use one can of biscuits but wished I would have used two. Next time I may make a different type of dumpling, but either way this was terrific and I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      This had a fantastic flavor. When making the dumplings, I divided each biscuit in 1/4ths and dropped into the broth/vegie mix. I personally would have liked them divided into at least 1/8ths and just one can of 10 biscuits-not 2 cans. Also, I didn't use 2 quarts of water, I used enough to cover the chicken by about 1 inch (which meant that I used approx. 1 and 1/2-3/4 quarts of water). This made the broth a little richer. I have never made nor had chicken and dumplings, but my husband had and he said it was fantastic. (fyi...I thought it tasted great, too.) I will definitely make this again. Thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      loved it, will cook it as often as i can convince my husband to eat chicken!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      I really liked this recipe, although I did modify it slightly. I cut the recipe in half except for the chicken. There wasn't enough chicken for my liking, so I used 4-5 chicken breasts to make it meatier,and I also added more carrots as it seemed there was too much broth. Loved the flavor, though and I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      this was sooo incredibly good and so easy to make! thank you for posting. I made this about a week ago, and I'm making it again tonight. My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.0
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    48%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 25.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 506.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes