8 Reviews

This is incredibly delicious. We're big fans of anything from the test kitchen!
I had leg quarters, so I used those instead of thighs. I also started the dish too late in the evening and had to save it for the next night's dinner. I didn't add the shredded chicken back to the soup until I reheated it to make the dumplings the next night.
It really is a perfect cold weather dish. The broth is creamy from the milk and the dumplings are nice and light inside. Mine took almost 20 minutes to cook, but my heat was on pretty low. I also didn't have any sherry so I used some Pino Grigio instead.
Other than all that, I pretty much followed the recipe as it was written. I am definitely going to be making this one again and again. Plus, it fed my family of six (4 kids age 6 and under) and there are leftovers enough for 3 more generous servings. Lunch anyone?!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians November 06, 2011

Amazing one dish meal. Loved this one and it is easy. Used chicken breasts, white wine and half and half. We will have this one many times in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 18, 2010

This is an outstanding recipe! Wow...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Ma November 16, 2010

WOW!!! This tasted 10 off the yummy -O-meter! Each bite tasted as great as the first.....

I have never had chicken and dumplings made correctly until this evening. All the dumplings of my past, be it from home cooking or restaurant; have always been gummy and without taste.

The dumplings turned out perfect, with a cake like interior that soaked up the stew gravy and has re-defined the word delicious for me.

This recipe has spot-on balance of flavors and textures. I was not a big fan of thigh meat, but when mixed with the vegetables and dumplings in this recipe it is just right.

I can't wait to have this again!!!

Thank you.... Alex

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alex99 October 30, 2010

I have been using this recipe for a few years now and it is the absolute best!!! The only thing I do differently is that I use 1/4 cup of white wine instead of the sherry, as they did on the show. Sometimes I also add some green beans at the end (right before I do the dumplings) for some extra green veggies. Every time I have made it for anyone they say it is the best they have ever had!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jridpath7 January 05, 2010

It's sad that this recipe only has one review now two including mine. This is by far the best recipe for chicken in dumplings you will ever find. I have made it before and this year I tweaked it for Thanksgiving leftovers. After making stock from the turkey I used that and left over turkey for this recipe. I followed the recipe right at #4. I did not use the sherry but did add a bit of balsamic vinegar. It added a depth. Best use of left over thanksgiving turkey I have every made!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secure Amy December 03, 2009

The best! I loved cooking in my dutch oven since it's all in one pot. A little time-consuming, but well worth it. I did substitute breasts one time and found that it didn't provide enough chicken fat for the dumplings so I just added some oil. Still delicious and I think we actually preferred it this way with the white meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purplepen July 05, 2009

I've made this three times in the last few months and keep forgetting to review it. I have made chicken and dumplings a couple of times before but this recipe is better than any others we have ever tasted. The only changes I made was to sub vermouth for the sherry and used 1/2 chicken thighs and 1/2 breasts. Chicken fat in the dumplings adds great flavor. This is the epitome of All-American comfort food. Thanks so much for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clean Plate Club December 21, 2007
Chicken and Dumplings