Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken And Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken And Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2002

      I made this recently when it was cold and wet outside. I made only a few changes. One being I added one small minced onion to the soup mixture before the biscuits were added in. The other change was I made biscuit batter from Bisquick biscuit mix and dropped that in by the teaspoon. I omitted the flour. I had to add extra water because it thickend up so much. It turned out so well and the left overs the next day were even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      THANK YOU for posting this. I made it and ate most of all by myself;) I love it! I did pour 1/2 the broth off and froze it for later. I figure I could add noodles and/or veggies for soup or add more chicken and biscuits for another meal. I did cube up 3 med. potatoes and added it in the first few steps for a hardier meal. I also only need 1 can of GRAND Buttermilk Biscuits to have enough for the pot. I only had 3 frozen chicken breast and threw them in frozen and it worked perfectly. THANKS SO MUCH!!! It's just like mom use to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Probably the best thing I've ever made and ever ate! So good, my husband and I ate the whole thing, including the leftovers! Had to use double the flour and took a little while to thicken, but so worth it! Added carrots and celery. Served over rice. So good. Thank you so much for posting! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I've made this several times - it is delicious!! The only way I will make chicken and dumplings from now on!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I have been looking for an easy Chicken and Dumpling recipe and this one fit the bill. I cooked it early one Saturday afternoon. After it was ready I poured it all in my crock pot and left it on “warm� and the family could eat it whenever they were ready. The only variations I made were I used no-sodium bouillon powder instead of the cubes and I used only one big can of biscuits. I used Grand’s Flaky Layers biscuits (8 ct). I wasn’t sure at first if it would be enough dumplings, but it was perfect. I flattened each biscuit on a plate then used my pizza cutter to cut it up into 1-2 inch squares. I really like the fact that I didn’t have the mess of making them homemade, but they tasted just as good. The only thing I would do different next time is use less butter. A whole stick (which is ½ cup) was too rich to me. It was still delicious, just a little too buttery for my taste. Also, I added the flour just like the recipe said and a little bit of corn starch, but my broth didn’t thicken as much as I would have liked. I agree that this recipe makes a lot. I’d say at least 8-10 servings. We ate off it twice and I still have a little left over. I’ll definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      This was wonderful!!! I love making this and freezing the leftovers!! Although I use frozen noodles in place of the dumplings (I boil them per package directions and add them in at the end when you normally add the dumplings), but still...YUM YUM YUMMY!!! And so quick and easy to make!!!! THANKS from the bottom of my full and happy tummy!!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This is my first "homemade" chicken and dumplings, and it was so good. The only thing I did differently is used Bisquick for my dumplings and that was great too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      its really good but only 4 stars cause it never did thicken like it was suppose to. i waited for almost 2 hours and i even doubled the flour/water mixture but it never did. still it was good so can't really complain! i will be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Very good!! Added celery, carrots, and onion to broth while cooking chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This was very good!!! To speed up the procees I cooked the chicken (seasoned with celery salt, garlic salt, ground corriander, and pepper) first in my George Foreman and just used chicken stock. I also added onion, peas and potatoes -I started the potatoes boiling in the chicken stock while I cooked the chicken and added 3 cloves of smashed garlic to the pot). Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This is a great recipe (see photo) it didn't take long to make and everyone seemed to enjoy it. It really does make a HUGE pot though LOL..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Love this recipe!!! Thanks so much for posting it! The gravy and chicken were the best part! I only used 1/2 stick of butter like others and next time I'll use Bisquick dumplings. The can biscuits got too hard and weren't fluffy like I'm used to. But, it's also amazing on rice! YUM! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was the best chicken & dumplings we've ever had. I am so grateful to you for posting this recipe, because it will be a regular at our house from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      YUMMY!!! This has to be the easiest and tastiest Chicken & Dumplings recipe that I have cooked, even better than mine!! haha! :) Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I just made this for tonights dinner. It was sooooooooooo delicious. I have never made chicken and biscuits, and am glad that I picked this recipe. All the other recipes that I looked at used already cooked chicken and I wanted one that you had to boil the chicken to get your own stock. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you so much for posting this. I stuck to the recipe except for two things, I used only 1/2 stick of butter instead of whole stick and used 1 can of big biscuits. Thanks again for an excellent recipe. Will definately be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I cook for my church on Wednesday nights and having the serving calculator is priceless. Used this recipe this week and was a smash hit with the congregation. Everyone wanted seconds and gave me high prasies for doing such a good job. This is the best chicken & dumplings recipe I have ever used. My brother, who doesn't like chicken and dumplings even asked for seconds!!! Everyone should have this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      When I tell you this C&D recipe is good - I mean it is "slap yo' Mama" good!!! My hubby said it was even better than his Mother's (lol). We LOVED it! Few things: I added some diced onions and green peppers, used about 1/2 the butter suggested, and only used 1 and a half cans of biscuits (we ate the rest with dinner). This recipe is a sure-fire hit with anyone who loves southern style comfort food!! Jeanene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Took the advice of another reviewer and added 1/3 c. of chopped onion, 1 tsp. celery seed (no celery on hand) and about 1/2 c. grated carrots. I also made my own homemade dumplings so I didn't have the overload of butter flavor some reviewers mention. This is a wonderful recipe!! Will be making this many, many times. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      My brother is a very hard person to please and he has eaten a lot of chicken & dumplings and he said these were the best he ever had! That says a lot! I will definitely be making these again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken And Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (1788 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.5
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    62%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 116.2 mg
    38%
    Sodium 569.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 27.3 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    biscuits

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes