17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great! So simple, with ingredients I usually have on hand. I may try to add an onion next time as well.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life September 25, 2012

I use heavy cream instead of half and half and instead of these dinky little dumplings I use the fluffy dumpling recipe on the bisquick box. perfect!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queen_lat October 01, 2012

Easy and delicious. This was my first attempt at dumplings and they turned out great!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joysolano November 04, 2012

I liked this a lot, mine was more like chicken and dumpling than soup which was a good thing for DH. This is a heavy dumpling, which we prefer, only I cooked it longer than stated. I followed the directions and the flavor was wonderful! A previous review stated these dumpling were dinky, they are whatever size you cut them! True southern dumplings are not light and fluffy but that is a matter of preference. We enjoyed this very much, great flavor! I also thought the chicken to dumpling ratio was right on. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amazing Grace October 30, 2012

I liked this soup very much - not so much the dumplings. I will go back to my use of canned refrigerated biscuits - I cut them in pieces and place on the top of the soup - spoon some of soup broth on top. I cover the pan with lid and simmer for 10 - 12 minutes (or until fully cooked). Very easy and nice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luanna E. November 02, 2014

The chicken and soup portion was very good but I didn't care too much for the dumplings.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustInTime September 25, 2012

Very good soup. My dh and I both enjoyed it. Will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana K September 08, 2012

Really good soup. Even my husband who doesn't like soups much for a meal, really liked it. Very flavorful and easy to make. Will use this recipe again. Made for PAC '11. Thanks, Mommie!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK October 18, 2011

I used Bizquick for the dumplings. This was fast, easy and delicious. The only thing I wish was different was the texture of the vegetables. I felt they could have used a little more time, but I guess that's what happens with a fast soup recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny E. October 17, 2013

Required some modification. First of all, unless you have pre-chopped vegetables and chicken, and are a whiz at mixing up dumplings, the prep time and cook time seem inaccurate. The dumplings are VERY dense - which is a shame, as I prefer fluffier dumplings. <br/><br/>I used bouillon and water instead of boxed or canned broth, and so I cut down on celery salt in order to prevent the saltpocalypse. Was still a bit saltier than I'd prefer - maybe use 1/4 tsp celery salt instead when making with bouillon. I also used powdered garlic (maybe 1/4 tsp? didn't measure) and added thyme and rosemary (again, didn't measure). I also skipped the celery, because my husband hates it. <br/><br/>I only used one chicken breast, which was almost a pound of meat. Three chicken breasts would be really excessive. I wish the recipe listed chicken breast by weight instead of by count. Also I think the recipe never actually tells you to add the bay leaves, although I'm sure we all understand that they go in with the stock at the beginning. <br/><br/>Had to cook for a bit to get the carrots nice and tender. Since I didn't care of the dumplings, when it came time to pack up the leftovers I removed the dumplings and added a small diced potato and some peas. <br/><br/>After modification, the sauce is quite delicious, if thin. Would be good with a nice rice pilaf or some biscuits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeaLeavesGreen October 25, 2014
Chicken and Dumpling Soup