Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Dumpling Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Dumpling Casserole

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2010

      4 Stars for me. Easy to make and has good flavor. I like my dumplings a little more moist and not so brown/crispy. Next time I'll cover with foil for first 30 minutes of cook time and remove during the last 10 minutes to help dumplings to retain more moisture. I couldn't find buttermilk baking mix, so I used bisquick and used real buttermilk instead of plain milk for the dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Excellent!! This was a hit with the adults right down to the grandkids. There were no leftovers. Definitely a keeper. I did not have any Bisquick so I whipped up some drop biscuits from scratch, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for posting this, I had been looking for the recipe after tasting a similar dish at a shower several years ago.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Yum, this was very tasty. I would definitely call it chicken and bisquit casserole, as they are not soft and fluffy like dumplings. Next time I would do less salt, as ours was very salty, even though we used fresh made broth with no salt added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Very good. Used frozen carrots instead of peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This was the bomb. This has definitely made it into my regular favorites rotation. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Delicious! I used a 10 oz. bag of peas and carrots and I also topped it with Grand's buttermilk biscuits at the end. This one is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I've had this recipe for years from a magazine and my family absolutely love it. I do make my own broth while cooking the chicken so it isn't too salty as other reviews have stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This is a great casserole that I have had in my collection for a long time. The only change I amke is that I use my own biscuit recipe, adding additional milk along with the basil to turn my recipe into drop biscuits. Thanks for posting! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      This was absolutely delicious. I used Costco rotisserie chicken and added a little corn and carrots. It was to-die-for. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      This was a very good casserole. I used more broth than called for (maybe 1 1/2 cups more) and used a can of Grands biscuits for the dumplings and it turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      Comfort food is even better when it's easy to make! I used Bisquick Clone #12648 with good results. Also homemade chicken stock. Simple and good. Thanks, Marie Alice, for a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      Very easy to make - a little on the salty side, but overall had a great flavor - my picky husband ate three bowls. Will DEFINITELY make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      Excellent meal! This would especially be a great dish for a very cold night (comfort food). My picky husband loved it! I did too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      This recipe didn't quite meet my expectations. I am planning to try it again in a couple of weeks. I am thinking that I may have missed something in preparation. My 19 year old son liked it very well, and just couln't seem to get enough of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      Very easy and flavorful dish! The only change I made was leaving the peas out! The dumplings were very good, and I like the of addition basil! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Tina, Delicious "chicken 'n dumplings". The whole thing was great. Best dumplings I have ever made. Dottie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      I tried this and it was a bit dry and salty. Do take in mind that I am a beginner cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      I really enjoyed this dish. It was also very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Dumpling Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.0
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    38%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 25.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1457.0 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes