18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

4 Stars for me. Easy to make and has good flavor. I like my dumplings a little more moist and not so brown/crispy. Next time I'll cover with foil for first 30 minutes of cook time and remove during the last 10 minutes to help dumplings to retain more moisture. I couldn't find buttermilk baking mix, so I used bisquick and used real buttermilk instead of plain milk for the dumplings.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkylerFox February 22, 2010

Excellent!! This was a hit with the adults right down to the grandkids. There were no leftovers. Definitely a keeper. I did not have any Bisquick so I whipped up some drop biscuits from scratch, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for posting this, I had been looking for the recipe after tasting a similar dish at a shower several years ago.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alskann October 03, 2010

Yum, this was very tasty. I would definitely call it chicken and bisquit casserole, as they are not soft and fluffy like dumplings. Next time I would do less salt, as ours was very salty, even though we used fresh made broth with no salt added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momisbusy November 30, 2009

Very good. Used frozen carrots instead of peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzySchool September 10, 2009

This was the bomb. This has definitely made it into my regular favorites rotation. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sqwishie October 20, 2008

Delicious! I used a 10 oz. bag of peas and carrots and I also topped it with Grand's buttermilk biscuits at the end. This one is a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipesrmypassion September 16, 2008

I've had this recipe for years from a magazine and my family absolutely love it. I do make my own broth while cooking the chicken so it isn't too salty as other reviews have stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy1209 August 10, 2008

This is a great casserole that I have had in my collection for a long time. The only change I amke is that I use my own biscuit recipe, adding additional milk along with the basil to turn my recipe into drop biscuits. Thanks for posting! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva December 19, 2007

This was absolutely delicious. I used Costco rotisserie chicken and added a little corn and carrots. It was to-die-for. This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie January 21, 2006

This was a very good casserole. I used more broth than called for (maybe 1 1/2 cups more) and used a can of Grands biscuits for the dumplings and it turned out delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThisGirlCan November 05, 2005
Chicken and Dumpling Casserole