32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My Dad and I really enjoyed this recipe, I only made half since there is just the two of us and there is enough for us to have two more meals out of it. I did add a little onion and a little sage. This will be used over and over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacqueline in KY November 10, 2008

Thank you so much for posting this recipe! This is exactly how my beloved grandmother made chicken casserole, and it was one of my favorite foods ever! She'd always serve it with a dollop of sour cream on top, and could never tell my Mama or Daddy (who loved this casserole) that she used Cream of Mushroom soup, as they hated mushrooms. We would always laugh and share secret smiles when they would try to guess what her 'secret ingredient' was. With your recipe, I'll be able to carry on those memories with her to my husband and child.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrissyStar September 13, 2007

I had some frozen Perdue chicken breast tenders and used seven to fill the bottom of the 13 x 9 pan. I sprinkled the breast with the salt pepper and garlic. I had an 8 oz. pkg. of mushrooms that I placed over the chicken and had 5 slices of Lorraine Swiss lowfat cheese that I laid over the mushrooms. I didn't have cream of chicken soup, so I used a can of cream of asparagus and cream of mushroom (both low fat) and thinned with 1/2 cup white wine and 1/2 cup milk. Had no sage and onion seasoned stuffing mix either so I substituted with cornbread stuffing. This was a delicious recipe and very quick and easy to put together. My husband loved it and I will be making often...thanks Margo59!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in NH March 24, 2004

This is similar to a recipe I have made. I made this but liked mine better. Precoom the chicken breasts and cut I to smaller sections if chicken pieces are large. Place in greased dish. Combine 1 can cream of. Mushroom soup with 8 oz of sour cream. Layer on top chicken. Make Stove Top dressing according to directions. I use chicken broth instead of water. Spoon on top. Bake for 30 minutes or until soup is bubbling and dressing is nicely browned. Much quicker and good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgan_dl_12607592 March 18, 2015

Yum! I will add cheese next time, for a twist. Will definately make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chaloner September 08, 2012

I didnt care much for this recipe, but my fiancee did, so i'm rating this recipe for him. I dont care for stovetop stuffing or any boxed of bagged stuffing mix. I personally think this would have been very good if it was homemade cornbread dressing instead. Anyway, he liked it, thats all that matters. I used a can of cream of celery and a can of cream of chicken soup. I also only had italian flavored skinless breasts which i browned a little bit before putting them in the dish. I also used chicken flavored stovetop stuffing. I think if i tweaked it to my likings, it would turn out very good. Thanks, anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doreen_2 September 30, 2011

This casserole is delicious and worth the 5 stars, if only for it's flexibility. The only changes I made were: I added shredded cheddar cheese to the soup mix, chopped broccoli to the precooked chicken layer, followed the rest of the recipe as written. FYI; if you don't have cream of chicken soup, take any cream soup (not tomato) and just add some poultry seasoning to it, go easy though. I used precooked chicken, because that's what I had on hand, and adjusted the cooking time. Yummy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 November 07, 2010

Comfort Food all the way! We loved it. I cut my BLSL chicken breasts in smaller pieces and it cooked much faster. I also added a bit of light sour cream and used the low-fat soups. We couldn't tell the fat was missing at all! Great recipe and I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrysDanMom July 22, 2010

Total comfort food! Delicious flavor- next time I will add more stuffing but so good...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staci.spass November 03, 2009
Chicken and Dressing Casserole