11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you love chicken salad, then you should definitely love this recipe. I made some slight altercations, however. I didn't have sour cream, and it seemed like too much mayonnaise, so I used half the mayonnaise and a can of cream of mushroom soup. Added a little garlic powder, yellow mustard, oregano, and chopped onion (to mimic my chicken salad recipe). Skipped the almonds and crushed chips (personal preference). Turned out great! Next time might add mushrooms and just a tiny bit of rice to soak up the awesome creaminess. Will DEFINITELY make this again. Yeah, I altered the recipe a bit, but you should not be disappointed however you make it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian M. February 05, 2015

Yummy comfort food. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 24, 2013

My husband loved it, my toddler wouldn't touch it. Almonds are a great touch. If I make it again, I'll smash up the potato chips into smaller pieces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchen_novice March 22, 2010

This is awesome comfort food! The almonds add a nice texture to the dish. I've taken this to church pot lucks several times and always get requests for the recipe. I've accidentally mixed the chips in a few times and it's still really great. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charity C November 29, 2009

My Aunt always used to make this and we loved it. We called it Chicken Club Casserole. Its like a baked Chicken salad. I'm not sure why the previous reviewer was so worried about the mayo thats what gives it the creamy rich taste. This is true comfort food and a wonderful potluck or after church casserole! Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee April 22, 2007

On the bright side, the topping gets 5 stars. But the casserole itself had an overwhelming mayonnaise taste to it. I had my suspicions when I was scooping a disproportionately full cup of mayo into the dish. The outcome was disappointing. I liked the other elements (crunchy almonds and celery, sharp cheddar) but I just couldn't get over the mayo thing. I may try again with a low-sod cream of celery soup instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalia 3 August 15, 2006

I have made this recipe many times over the past year and a half. I just realized that I had never rated it. It is absolutely one of my family's favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DIryshe November 30, 2005

This was very good. I will definitely make it again. Next time I might add some water chestnuts just for additional crunch. I was in a hurry, but wild rice would be good with this, too. Very nice texture; nice and creamy not dry like some casseroles. DH loved the topping!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mewmew June 24, 2004

This is an excellent AS-IS recipe. Made great left overs. Serve with a green vegi for a nice plate color compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anila V. April 21, 2003

Like the above review, I have made a version of this recipe many times. This one is by far the BEST. Could have eaten all of it at one sitting. Don't change or add a thing! This is also an easy recipe to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan February 11, 2003
Chicken and Celery Casserole