43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent Thai Curry! I used hearts of palm diced (couldn't find any bamboo) and red curry paste and the heat was just right for us - even the 2 year old liked it (I was surprised!). For those who think it's too thin - Thai curries are usually thinner than Indian curries, but if you like a thicker sauce you can mix 2-3 tbs of cornstarch with 1/4 cup of cream or milk in a separate cup and then add it to the curry towards the end of the cooking. Cook and stir until thickened. Great flavors! I used light coconut milk this time, but I missed the richness and will use regular next time. I might also reduce the fish oil to 2 tbs next time to allow the sweetness to come through more. Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz September 29, 2010

This certainly couldn't have been easier to make! I really appreciated the fact that the chicken was poached in the liquid and not cooked separately - very moist. Child-friendly as the curry paste didn't overpower the remaining ingredients. I even got to use that can of bamboo shoots I've had in the cupboard since...can't remember.LOL We reallyl liked this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 26, 2010

This was very tasty. I liked being able to cook everything together in my wok. I was out of fresh basil so I had to use dried, but will make again with fresh. Made for ZWT6.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana May 27, 2010

I thought this was very good, instead of broccoli, I used 2-3 cups of green beans. And I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried which I don't think added much to this dish. When I sat down to eat, I remembered I had fresh cilantro so I chopped some up and it was great with the sauce. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CC & G April 28, 2009

I tried it and this is fabulous!! I threw everything in the crockpot. I just used broccoli. I mixed the coconut milk and curry paste together first, then put in three whole chicken breasts and everything else. I didn't make any modifications. I put the Crock Pot on high for 2 hours. After the chicken was done, I put the whole chicken breasts in my Kitchen Aid mixer with a paddle attachment and let it shred. Put the shredded chicken back in the crockpot and it was beautiful and delicious!! Thanks for an easy meal. Will definitely make often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT April 11, 2013

Added baby corn and straw mushrooms, increased the amount of curry, added a tablespoon of fish sauce, doubled the brown sugar, and added a few shakes of crushed red pepper. Bought a sweet basil plant from Home Depot and we were good to go! We also threw in about 3 T of corn starch as lolablitz recommended. It turned the sauce into a perfect consistency (for me) without having to cut back on the fish sauce or chicken stock. I am so thankful to luvinlif2k for sharing this recipe. It's quick, easy, and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whiskeyhatch June 13, 2012

We loved this, we have tried left over grilled chicken breasts and also shrimp, we have never added the shoots either. Simple and not a drop left which earned it 5 stars in my book!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe February 01, 2012

I love how quick this recipe was. Next time, I'll cut the fish sauce down to 2-2.5 T. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AD #2 January 09, 2011

Wonderful flavors in this recipe. I made half a recipe and it was perfect for the two of us. Served with Thai Coconut Rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 21, 2010

I like the basic idea, but it really needs more curry (both the spices and the heat)! Will use significantly more next time around -- but there *will* be a next time around!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole September 13, 2010
Chicken and Broccoli Thai Curry