Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Broccoli Thai Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Broccoli Thai Curry

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2010

      Excellent Thai Curry! I used hearts of palm diced (couldn't find any bamboo) and red curry paste and the heat was just right for us - even the 2 year old liked it (I was surprised!). For those who think it's too thin - Thai curries are usually thinner than Indian curries, but if you like a thicker sauce you can mix 2-3 tbs of cornstarch with 1/4 cup of cream or milk in a separate cup and then add it to the curry towards the end of the cooking. Cook and stir until thickened. Great flavors! I used light coconut milk this time, but I missed the richness and will use regular next time. I might also reduce the fish oil to 2 tbs next time to allow the sweetness to come through more. Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This certainly couldn't have been easier to make! I really appreciated the fact that the chicken was poached in the liquid and not cooked separately - very moist. Child-friendly as the curry paste didn't overpower the remaining ingredients. I even got to use that can of bamboo shoots I've had in the cupboard since...can't remember.LOL We reallyl liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was very tasty. I liked being able to cook everything together in my wok. I was out of fresh basil so I had to use dried, but will make again with fresh. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I thought this was very good, instead of broccoli, I used 2-3 cups of green beans. And I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried which I don't think added much to this dish. When I sat down to eat, I remembered I had fresh cilantro so I chopped some up and it was great with the sauce. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      I tried it and this is fabulous!! I threw everything in the crockpot. I just used broccoli. I mixed the coconut milk and curry paste together first, then put in three whole chicken breasts and everything else. I didn't make any modifications. I put the Crock Pot on high for 2 hours. After the chicken was done, I put the whole chicken breasts in my Kitchen Aid mixer with a paddle attachment and let it shred. Put the shredded chicken back in the crockpot and it was beautiful and delicious!! Thanks for an easy meal. Will definitely make often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Added baby corn and straw mushrooms, increased the amount of curry, added a tablespoon of fish sauce, doubled the brown sugar, and added a few shakes of crushed red pepper. Bought a sweet basil plant from Home Depot and we were good to go! We also threw in about 3 T of corn starch as lolablitz recommended. It turned the sauce into a perfect consistency (for me) without having to cut back on the fish sauce or chicken stock. I am so thankful to luvinlif2k for sharing this recipe. It's quick, easy, and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      We loved this, we have tried left over grilled chicken breasts and also shrimp, we have never added the shoots either. Simple and not a drop left which earned it 5 stars in my book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I love how quick this recipe was. Next time, I'll cut the fish sauce down to 2-2.5 T. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      Wonderful flavors in this recipe. I made half a recipe and it was perfect for the two of us. Served with Thai Coconut Rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I like the basic idea, but it really needs more curry (both the spices and the heat)! Will use significantly more next time around -- but there *will* be a next time around!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This was a very nice curry, I have to admit that I did put more than paste required, as my DH likes it so hot it's almost on fire, he he he but it was very very good, and so easy to make one pot to clean up, DH does the pots so he was very happy. This will be a regular on our table from now on. thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I have been looking for a recipe like this for a very long time. I love this dish and have enjoyed it at my favorite restaurant for years. After trying several recipes I am thrilled to have found this one. It is perfect. The only thing I would do is double liquid and seasonings. The more broth the better. Thank you so much for this little gem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      I've made this three times in three weeks so I thought I should write a review on it and say BRAVO!! It has become the second most requested recipe in my house (Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burrito Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos being the first). It is an easy recipe to alter and I've never made it the same way twice. Each time I've had to double the recipe. I always add more vegetables. The last time I made it I fixed it with broccoli, cauliflower, a red pepper and a yellow pepper. It was as beautiful as it was tasty. Oh, and I steam the vegetables and then add them at the end right before serving. I didn't like the way the vegetables turned out when I cooked them in the sauce. Great recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      It was bland and a little disappointing. My local grocery store only carried red currysauce and I wasn't sure how spicy it was. I used the amount recommended in the recipe and the flavor was bland. Curries in restaurants tend to have very vibrant colors and this was pale peach to white in color. At serving, all the guests had to add large amounts of curry powder to their portion to make it flavorful. Next time, I may double the curry paste, or add some hot peppers, or just add a tablespoon or two of curry powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      Delicious! The whole family enjoyed this one. I added some thinly sliced carrots, as I was using broccoli fresh from the garden and found I didn't have quite enough. I may cut back on the brown sugar just a touch next time, but this is a keeper. Served it with Jasmine rice and some naan on the side for soaking up the delicious broth. Next time I may add some fresh green chilies for DH and I to add some heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      This is really good and easy to make if you have the ingredients on hand. I happen to have some red curry paste from earthlygourmet.com, and that made it especially easy. One change that I made to the recipe was to first microwave the broccoli for 2 minutes with just a couple tablespoons of water and then adding it to the curry mixture after the broccoli had stood a few minutes. That helped to maintain a bright green color and prevent overcooking. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I really enjoyed the dish, and it was easy to make. I would recommend to anyone making this dish that the broccoli be added late in the simmering, it got a little soggy for me. Otherwise, it all worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      My favorite chicken dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Excellent recipe. Got to use some end of the season basil from my garden which was very nice. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      This tastes amazing, authentic and it could not be easier to make. I had a little trouble believing all that chicken and broccoli could completely cook in 15 minutes, but they did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Broccoli Thai Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.9
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    64%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 21.9 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1347.3 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green curry paste

    bamboo shoots

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes