Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Broccoli Skillet Stir-Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Broccoli Skillet Stir-Fry

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2012

      This is so amazing! It's a household favorite. My husband is allergic to shellfish so we use teriyaki marinade as substitute for the oyster sauce and that's worked out pretty well, I still put a little oyster sauce on my food because it's delicious. I've also found that putting the sliced chicken into a slurry of cornstarch and soy sauce for about 30 minutes before cooking keeps it nice and tender. A can of water chestnuts is a great addition to this recipe as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This was FANTASTIC!!! I added mushrooms, carrots and frozen sugar peas. A keeper for sure!!! Thanks Kittencal-When is your cookbook coming out???? I will be the first in line to buy it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      We enjoyed this dish. I added lots of garden vegetables as it is that time of year! DH thought the seasonings would better suit a beef dish rather than a chicken dish. Guess I get to make it again, yum yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      I knew I could count on a Kittencal recipe and this one did not disappoint. We had some leftover veggies from a party veggie tray so I halved carrots and cut up some onions, cooked them about 2 minutes and then added snap peas for a minute and finally added broccoli for about 3 minutes. A wonderful quick last minute success. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      The sauce has such a depth of flavor. I added mushrooms, green, red and yellow bell peppers and vidalia onions. Very delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      I cut the recipe in half as there is only 2 of us and we have enough leftover for lunch tomorrow! DH loved the flavour of the dish. Different from other stir fry dishes I have tried before! Will certainly do this one again!!! Thanks Kittencal!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Once again Kittencal has done it. This is a fantastic recipe. I didn't have chicken broth, so I just used water, and I had to sub thai fish sauce for the oyster sauce and I didn't have scallions, but this turned out wonderfully. Just the right amount of heat. Just before serving to my family I stirred in a few cups of cooked rice, and got compliments from everyone. I can't wait to try it as written, but even with the substitutions I had to make it was worth 5 stars. Thanks for another great tasting recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      It's soo good! Made it for the second time last night. I recommend making it just as it's directed if you can, because it's amazing. I had never used sesame oil before but the flavor it gives the food really makes it taste authentic. I made it on a whim last night but was missing hoisin sauce, scallions, and `sesame oil. It was still delicious with just olive oil and oyster sauce, but next time I'll make sure I have everything on hand because it makes for a super easy and delicious weeknight meal. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      made this tonight. I added carrots. I added cornstarch (enough to sprinkle over all of chicken) to chicken prior to cooking to keep moisture in. We learned this in an Asian cooking class. Added lots of flakes for a kick. Served over angel hair pasta.

      Easier to make than other stir fry recipes and just as good! Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Lovely! This is a restaurant-quality, easy dish, with lots of versatility so it's definitely a keeper in my home. I used 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper and it was not hot for me at all, may use a teaspoon next time if I'm in the mood for some heat! I goofed up and accidentally used almost 1 cup chicken broth (was in a hurry and thought it was 8 Tbsp in a cup lol), and it still turned out wonderful. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Another winner recipe. I doubled the broccoli, used 3 chicken breasts (using the food processor to thinly slice), and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I had to purchase the hoisin and oyster sauces as I had never tried them before; but we really loved the end result!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      yum - forgot the sesame seeds tho.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Delicious. Modified a few things. (for lack of ingredients) sauteed one regular onion instead of green onion (had none around) in the sesame oil added 1/3 cup hoisen sauce and subtracted the oyster sauce (didn't have that either), put the broccoli and onion, in a large baking pan alongside the salted/peppered cut up chicken pieces, not breasts. poured remaining sauce and broccoli over the whole pot, baked 350 for 1.5 hours. sprinkled the sesame on, and served over rice. perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Outstanding! This was sooo good! I made my own hoisin sauce and omitted the oyster sauce. I also added 1/2 a bag of frozen peas & carrots, but otherwise made as stated. Loved it! My 4 year old said it was the best chicken he'd ever had!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Very yummy! If you serve this with rice, I think it could feed 3-4 people. I followed the instructions fairly closely except for the oil. I cooked everything in broth instead of oil and added 1 tsp of sesame oil at the end. It is a very delicate oil that loses much of its flavor if it is heated too much. I toasted the sesame seeds before sprinkling over the dish and there was plenty of sesame flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Very Good. We enjoyed this meal for dinner tonight very much. I did add 2 carrots in with the broccoli and I needed to cook both for about 5 minutes. I cooked my chicken for 5 minutes and added fresh mushrooms (about 6) the last two minutes. I did omit the sesame seed. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This was good. I didn't have any oyster sauce, so I used soy sauce instead. To get more veggies in there, I added some snap peas and matchstick carrots along with the broccoli. I also toasted the sesame seeds in a dry skillet before adding them. This was really easy and can be adapted for whatever ingredients you have on hand!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Pretty yummy! Was happy to find this because I didn't have to run out to the store to get anything new! I did play with the recipe a little though-- I added ginger, used grapeseed oil (sesame oil is a little strong for my taste), and I marinated the chicken in 2 tbsp of soy sauce & 1 tsp oil for about 2 hours before cooking (the oil keeps the pieces from sticking together). I also mixed the sauce on the side and added only as much as I needed. I used 1 part hoisin, 1 part oyster sauce because I like my stir frys a little sweeter. Just a tip, cutting your meat into small, thin strips/pieces works better in stir frys because each piece gets a good coat of sauce without drying out the meat. Also, you may want to let the pieces brown in the oil before adding the sauce to prevent burning. Thanks, kitten =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

    • on November 09, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Broccoli Skillet Stir-Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 694.8
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    36%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 218.8 mg
    72%
    Sodium 1829.9 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 80.0 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes