37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so amazing! It's a household favorite. My husband is allergic to shellfish so we use teriyaki marinade as substitute for the oyster sauce and that's worked out pretty well, I still put a little oyster sauce on my food because it's delicious. I've also found that putting the sliced chicken into a slurry of cornstarch and soy sauce for about 30 minutes before cooking keeps it nice and tender. A can of water chestnuts is a great addition to this recipe as well!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCeleste September 04, 2012

This was FANTASTIC!!! I added mushrooms, carrots and frozen sugar peas. A keeper for sure!!! Thanks Kittencal-When is your cookbook coming out???? I will be the first in line to buy it!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rivacat February 01, 2010

We enjoyed this dish. I added lots of garden vegetables as it is that time of year! DH thought the seasonings would better suit a beef dish rather than a chicken dish. Guess I get to make it again, yum yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka July 26, 2014

I knew I could count on a Kittencal recipe and this one did not disappoint. We had some leftover veggies from a party veggie tray so I halved carrots and cut up some onions, cooked them about 2 minutes and then added snap peas for a minute and finally added broccoli for about 3 minutes. A wonderful quick last minute success. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bezbrizan March 11, 2014

The sauce has such a depth of flavor. I added mushrooms, green, red and yellow bell peppers and vidalia onions. Very delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NOLAinBlairsville July 14, 2013

I cut the recipe in half as there is only 2 of us and we have enough leftover for lunch tomorrow! DH loved the flavour of the dish. Different from other stir fry dishes I have tried before! Will certainly do this one again!!! Thanks Kittencal!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl March 10, 2013

Once again Kittencal has done it. This is a fantastic recipe. I didn't have chicken broth, so I just used water, and I had to sub thai fish sauce for the oyster sauce and I didn't have scallions, but this turned out wonderfully. Just the right amount of heat. Just before serving to my family I stirred in a few cups of cooked rice, and got compliments from everyone. I can't wait to try it as written, but even with the substitutions I had to make it was worth 5 stars. Thanks for another great tasting recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinatrotochaud February 21, 2013

It's soo good! Made it for the second time last night. I recommend making it just as it's directed if you can, because it's amazing. I had never used sesame oil before but the flavor it gives the food really makes it taste authentic. I made it on a whim last night but was missing hoisin sauce, scallions, and `sesame oil. It was still delicious with just olive oil and oyster sauce, but next time I'll make sure I have everything on hand because it makes for a super easy and delicious weeknight meal. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jce62108 February 10, 2013

made this tonight. I added carrots. I added cornstarch (enough to sprinkle over all of chicken) to chicken prior to cooking to keep moisture in. We learned this in an Asian cooking class. Added lots of flakes for a kick. Served over angel hair pasta.

Easier to make than other stir fry recipes and just as good! Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbenjamin5 February 05, 2013

Lovely! This is a restaurant-quality, easy dish, with lots of versatility so it's definitely a keeper in my home. I used 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper and it was not hot for me at all, may use a teaspoon next time if I'm in the mood for some heat! I goofed up and accidentally used almost 1 cup chicken broth (was in a hurry and thought it was 8 Tbsp in a cup lol), and it still turned out wonderful. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway August 21, 2010
Chicken and Broccoli Skillet Stir-Fry