9 Reviews

we added cream sauce to the pesto and left out the peppers--it was good--we froze it for our dinner coop, and everyone seemed to like it--could have used more sauce for our tastes so next time we will add more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracyb928 March 26, 2010

This was fantastic!! My fiance said probably the best pasta dish I've made in a long time. It was so flavorful, but so simple too. I seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper, garlic & onion powders. The veggies are great in this, and I may add an onion next time. I didn't really measure the pesto, just used enough to coat the pasta to our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug February 10, 2010

I made this before my baby was born and froze it in 2 batches. I did not cook the broccoli at all, just mixed it in while still frozen. I was impatient when it came time to eat it and just cooked it in the microwave on a "casserole" setting. It was still fabulous. I used a Knorr packet to make the pesto - I think it would be even better with higher quality pesto.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Jena~ February 01, 2010

Very yummy! Changes I made: omitted peppers (personal preference), used parmesan cheese from a shaker (didn't have fresh), used frozen grilled chicken (as another reviewer did), added a few extra ounces of chicken, and used tortellini for the pasta. I also put the broccoli in with the pasta during the last minute or so of cooking, then drained the entire pot into the colander. I served it with crusty bread and fruit salad. I did not freeze this, instead heating it in the oven right away. Will definitely be freezing some soon. As we sat down to dinner, I realized that every item in our entire meal came from Costco, right down to the milk, butter, bread and fruit in the salad (except for some oranges that were given to us). Would like to try it with fresh parmesan, as I'm sure that would add even more flavor. I was scared that the pesto would be overpowering, so I reduced it by a Tbsp or so. Tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelRoo January 31, 2010

Since I was only feeding two of us, I made the recipe as directed, baking half to eat that night, and freezing the other half for later. It was so good, we ate the leftover bag three days later! I can't wait to try other variations on this method, I was scared about freezing pasta, but this worked awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tee Lee November 05, 2009

I made this as the recipe stated, except I fully cooked the broccoli with the noodles so it all could be eaten at once. Let me say, I cannot believe there is only a few reviews of this recipe, it's awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheNovakFamily October 27, 2008

Very tasty, and very easy. Made as written. Portions were generous, and very filling - Made 6 servings in our house. And the leftovers frozen and reheated beautifully. A definite winner. Thanks JillAZ

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower October 25, 2008

I made 8 of these for a frozen dinner exchange I do with friends and this was so easy to make! I used the chicken strips that are pre-cooked and the Cibo Naturals pesto sauce from Costco. I also added about 1/4 cup pine nuts. The broccoli didn't get too mushy and everyone loved it, even my kids! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ravensmith November 06, 2006
Chicken and Broccoli Pasta With Pesto