15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used the recipe (minus the chicken as I already had pork dumplings to use) to tell me what to do with a sudden surge of Bok Choy I found myself with. This was fantastic! My six year old gobbled this soup up even though she'd never had bok choy before. We all loved it! Thanks to this recipe we can add bok choy to the list of veggies we can get in our 6 year old! Thanks! :-P

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emcquaid April 28, 2013

This soup is a tasty way to use bok choy. I took it to a party and everyone liked it. It's easy to make because you can be prepping the next ingredient while the other ingredients are cooking. I added a little chili garlic sauce to make it spicy. This seems like a really versatile recipe and I plan to try some of the additions suggested by other reviewers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoChile November 01, 2012

I have made this soup about 4 times. It is always delicious. And so easy. I do throw in some extra garlic and soy sauce too. I'm going to try the rice noodles next time. The whole family loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
familyofpools June 06, 2012

Quick, easy & delicious! I used chopped chicken breasts, added chicken boullion and cooked it in the pressure cooker - came out great! Kids devoured it and said they'd like it even better with noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookwithlove June 15, 2010

This dish is really simple and delicious. I was looking to cook my CSA bok choy and this recipe was best for me, because I already had all the ingredients in my kitchen, it was fun and easy to make and it turned out great. I diced the ingredients and added cayenne pepper for a kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CSAmember May 25, 2010

Pretty tasty! I added some chicken bouillon to this since I felt the veggie stock needed something. I also added some red pepper flakes. I had used chicken breast and diced it into strips but next time I may use ground chicken instead. I also added a little bit of sliced mini bella mushrooms and an extra clove of garlic. I may try this sometime with no meat and extra veggie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky D March 27, 2010

Very good and easy. I also added some celery and mushrooms that I had in the fridge. I think next time I may use shrimp in the place of the chicken. For a bit of extra flavor I added some chili flakes, an extra garlic clove and a bit more soya sauce. I also added rice noodles. My husband and I really enjoyed this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvdojos December 20, 2009

Delicious soup, I added extra firm tofu. This soup is off the chart with flavor... I will make it over and over again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moore7801 September 24, 2009

delicious, I used 'cubed' chicken rather than minced and add a little bit more of Soy sauce than what the recipe calls for. Today I added juice of 1 lime it gave the soup a nice touch. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SVC August 20, 2009

Delicious. This was my first adventure with bok choi and it was delicoius!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justine.szymala June 09, 2009
Chicken and Bok Choy Soup