Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2009

      This is a really good recipe. I did make some changes for a few reasons. I used canned chicken breasts because I was trying to test to see if this would be easy enough to make while camping. I still cooked it in the pan with garlic it just didnt cook as long. I doubled the garlic.. we are garlic fans round here. I used green enchilada sauce in lieu od picante sauce. I like it better. I also mixed in a few tablespoons of sour creme in with the 1/2 cup enchilada sauce to make it more like chicken sour cream enchiladas. I also, based off another enchilada recipe I had my eye on spread the bottom of my baking sheet with a small layer of sour cream before placing the enchiladas in the pan. Next time I make this I am omitting the red bell peppers... I ended up picking them out and my husbands wasnt a fan of them either... I will probably put in diced onion in with the chicken and garlic in lieu of red bell pepper. We are also big fans of onion around here! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Hopping on the bandwagon... these are some tasty enchiladas! I subbed regular onions for green and upped the garlic, but didn't add any cheese inside the enchiladas (I didn't have enough, and I figured it would be lower-calorie that way anyway.) I like a creamy enchilada, so I worried these would be dry, but they tasted divine. The little bit of bacon gave these a great flavor. Thanks! This will go in my recipe rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      This was a great recipe! I've made it a couple of times now and both times everyone really enjoyed them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This is so good. We used the picante sauce and then also put a can of enchilada sauce on it too cause we like them saucy and it was a bit dry for us but other than that is was a awesome dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I was REALLY surprised with how simple and delicious this recipe was! I substituted bacon bits to make it even easier and it was a hit with the family. I've made it twice now and have added it to my cookbook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

    • on November 02, 2009

      What a fantastic dish! I used green pepper and it worked out fine. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Excellent Enchiladas! I used already cooked chicken breast strips from Costco to shorten the cook time and just heated it thru with the rest of the ingredients. They made great leftovers as well...I had all my coworkers drooling!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This was a big hit this evening! I used turkey bacon and skipped the red peppers. I didn't bake them, either, as I used "Tortillas" rather than store bought. I'd say that this serves 4 adults. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      WOW, this will be going directly to the favoites book. It was even better reheated the second day. I think it would be great to triple and use for OAMC. I did not use the bacon greese to cook the chicken but thought that there was pleanty of bacon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This was a good recipe. I like using the bacon grease to for the chicken, left it really moist. I really don't think the bacon added anything to this dish. I even used good thick bacon with a lot of flavor. At the end of the day, I would leave out the bacon. The rest of the flavors were great. I would add a little more spice (heat) to the dish. I would also saute the peppers with the chicken a little longer to soften them up or use roasted red peppers to really add a great flavor. Overall a good dish and a great starting point for a lot of different options.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Wow, this was great! I love the fact that this can be made into a healthy recipe. I used low fat cheese and wraps and they were excellent, even for those husbands that don't fancy the "low fat junk" he loved it!! I used chilli powder instead of cumin and I ommited the bacon. I also used (low fat) cheddar cheese because it was all I had at the time. Can't wait till we have it again.... thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Loved it. It was a hit with my kids and my husband said he felt like he was eating at a mexican restaurant. I used Goya Canned Black Beans and I added white rice and olives to the receipe. I also used Taco Bell Medium Taco Sauce as the picante. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      These were a great hit! Because picante sauce is just a term made up by Pace for their salsa, I used chunky salsa instead. These were great. I will make them again and again. The only changes I made to the recipe were leaving out the bell pepper and the bacon and I also put the cooked chicken in the food processor for a few pulses to sorta shred it. Then I put it back in the pan and added the black beans. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Funny story - I made this for Freezer Tag 2008 and my ravening horde ate it all before I could freeze it. So - nothing to do but make it AGAIN! This is an absolutely delicious recipe. I used salsa in the enchiladas and enchilada sauce over the top, had green pepper instead of red, skipped bacon the first time and added rice the second time (because I was using leftovers from a weekend fiesta). Either way, any way, whatever you add, these are simply delicious. I froze the enchiladas cooked, then reheated in the microwave for lunch. Very nice! I also froze some extra filling by itself and that worked even better for us. Thanks for a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I, too, used enchilada sauce instead of the picante sauce. This dish is outstanding. Even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I used enchilada sauce instead of the picante and it worked just fine. Great & easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful. Do not substitute out the black beans and then insult by reviewing this dish, they are absolutely essential. Serve with Basic Rice Pilaf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Very tasty!! I added corn but otherwise stuck to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      These are delicious! Not too hot, with good flavor and texture. I added pinto as well as black beans, as I'm a big bean fan. These were great to freeze, too; I made about two dozen and they thaw well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 645.2
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    29%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 64.1 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1464.4 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 35.1 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes