Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Barley Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Barley Stew

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2009

      When i first reviewed this recipe I gave it 4 stars for being bland, but after making it a few times I have found a way to make it spectacular. First, start with a good stock, not boullion cubes. Next, increase the celery and use the inside leafy part and top leafy part - just chop them up. Then substitute fresh thyme, add some sage (fresh is really best) and increase all the herbs by about 2-3times as much. Also, I add several cloves of garlic. With the new recipe my husband and I can't get enough, even though the soup is quite filling. I have also tried adding some lemon juice, which changes the flavor a bit and is just wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      I've made a similar beef stew with barely recipe which calls for mushrooms. I added them to this one as well. Also, I added a little worchestershire sauce. Both additions make the stew a bit more hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Great recipe! I made quite a few changes, but I wanted to post so I could repeat it in the future because it was so delicious! I sauteed the onion and 4 cloves of garlic in a little EVOO before adding the stock. I used 3 cups of stock + 3 cups of H20 + 2 tsp chicken base. I had roasted a chicken with sweet potatoes, carrots and parsnips, so I added the leftover chicken and veggies to the stock. I added about 3/4 cup of sherry because I Love sherry in chicken soup, and 3 stalks of celery and 1 tsp of sage per another reviewer's suggestion and it was a perfect compliment! Thanks so much for the recipe, Bertha, this soup was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Very good but next time I'll add carrots for color.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      This was delicious, hearty and healthy! Great recipe! I did find that I needed to up the seasoning a bit. I used chicken stock, as ordered, but also added some stock concentrate, salt, garlic salt, pepper and a bayleaf. I also added some green beans and a diced potato. Those additions upped it to 5 servings. It was GREAT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was very good, which was a pleasant surprise because I have a hard time finding barley recipes that I enjoy. The flavor was delicious. Even my husband liked it a lot. I added pepper. I do think it was too salty, but I think I might have measured in too much bouillon--some days I just can't count to five without problems! thanks for a great recipe! This is going to become a staple meal in our home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Wonderful. Luckily I froze a batch, and then when my hubby and I got sick last week, this was like money in the bank. Excellent comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      My mom made something just like this and it was everything a good meal should be -- hearty, healthy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      I really like barley. I cooked the chicken a day before I made the meal. I also added a bit extra barley, basil and thyme. It came out thick, fragrant and delicious. Could easily be vegetarian without the chicken and would still taste good. Thank you Bertha.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      This turned out pretty good for being so simple, just needed a little salt and pepper towards the end. I'm not a big fan of carrots but they complimented the barley and chicken very well. Took another reviewer's advice and doubled the garlic and basil, and used fresh thyme. I also upped the amount of celery and would like to add diced potatoes and peas and/or green beans next time... maybe a little onion or garlic powder too. This was an effortless recipe and the consistency of the stew was perfect. Would be easy to double as well for more food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

    • on January 13, 2011

      Loved it! Instead of using uncooked chicken, I used some left over chicken breasts that were cut up. Added them in the last half hour. Everyone loved it and it was filling with the barley. Served with salad and crusty bread. Yummy, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      This soup was so simple to make and used such basic ingredients it was surpising how delicious it turned out. I will be sure to add this to my list of frequently made soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Wonderful stew. I made as written but used fresh herbs right at the end. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This was the best chicken stew I've made. I made it for friends and they all requested the recipe. They've made it for friends who now want the recipe too. It's so easy and tastes like you've been working on it all day. To save time I use a 16 oz bag of frozen veggies (carrots, corn, peas, green beans) and use fresh onion, garlic, etc. No celery. I only use 1/3 c. barley. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Very nice on a cold winters day. I did however add a few other ingredients. Like frozen peas, potatoes, and Mrs Dash garlic and herb (I still added the garlic clove). I have some for tonight and had enough to put some in the freezer for another night. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Very nice. I had fresh basil instead of dry, so I added it at the very end of cooking. Instead of chicken breasts I used 2 packets of chicken drumsticks, but deboning was no problem. After they had simmered for so long the meat just fell right off. The family loves it, even as leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Barley soup (meatless) is a tradition at Thanksgiving and Christmas in my dh's family. This morning my 8-year old son asked me to make "that soup thing with the little white bead-like stuff in it". When I found this recipe it was so similar to the soup my son was trying to describe, I decided to try it. I cooked this in the crock-pot, but sauteed the celery and onion first, adding the garlic for a minute. Layered it in the crock w/carrots first, seasonings, onion & celery mixture, barley, then 3 cans of Swanson's Natural Goodness broth. Covered it and cooked on high 4 hours. I had 2 cups of diced cooked chicken in the freezer. I thawed it and stirred it into the pot just before serving (so the meat wouldn't get chewy). We all enjoyed the soup, and I thank you for posting. I'll definately use this at Thanksgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      We found this to be very tasty and very quick to fix. I used leftover roasted chicken instead of the chicken breasts, and 2 stalks of celery instead of 1. I think I would add another cup of chicken stock, there wasn't a lot of liquid, but that is personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      I made this recipe at a co workers request for a soup with barley. I made one small change. I used bone in chicken breasts to make my own stock. This was a big hit here at work. I will be adding this to my soup rotation. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Barley Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (452 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    18%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 46.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 531.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites