25 Reviews

When i first reviewed this recipe I gave it 4 stars for being bland, but after making it a few times I have found a way to make it spectacular. First, start with a good stock, not boullion cubes. Next, increase the celery and use the inside leafy part and top leafy part - just chop them up. Then substitute fresh thyme, add some sage (fresh is really best) and increase all the herbs by about 2-3times as much. Also, I add several cloves of garlic. With the new recipe my husband and I can't get enough, even though the soup is quite filling. I have also tried adding some lemon juice, which changes the flavor a bit and is just wonderful.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen March 01, 2009

I've made a similar beef stew with barely recipe which calls for mushrooms. I added them to this one as well. Also, I added a little worchestershire sauce. Both additions make the stew a bit more hearty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsprinci_11518721 October 01, 2013

Great recipe! I made quite a few changes, but I wanted to post so I could repeat it in the future because it was so delicious! I sauteed the onion and 4 cloves of garlic in a little EVOO before adding the stock. I used 3 cups of stock + 3 cups of H20 + 2 tsp chicken base. I had roasted a chicken with sweet potatoes, carrots and parsnips, so I added the leftover chicken and veggies to the stock. I added about 3/4 cup of sherry because I Love sherry in chicken soup, and 3 stalks of celery and 1 tsp of sage per another reviewer's suggestion and it was a perfect compliment! Thanks so much for the recipe, Bertha, this soup was awesome!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 28, 2010

Very good but next time I'll add carrots for color.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie October 07, 2009

This was delicious, hearty and healthy! Great recipe! I did find that I needed to up the seasoning a bit. I used chicken stock, as ordered, but also added some stock concentrate, salt, garlic salt, pepper and a bayleaf. I also added some green beans and a diced potato. Those additions upped it to 5 servings. It was GREAT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP June 22, 2009

I made this for dinner tonight and it was very good, which was a pleasant surprise because I have a hard time finding barley recipes that I enjoy. The flavor was delicious. Even my husband liked it a lot. I added pepper. I do think it was too salty, but I think I might have measured in too much bouillon--some days I just can't count to five without problems! thanks for a great recipe! This is going to become a staple meal in our home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wigglesworth February 13, 2009

Wonderful. Luckily I froze a batch, and then when my hubby and I got sick last week, this was like money in the bank. Excellent comfort food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenna sais quoi October 02, 2005

My mom made something just like this and it was everything a good meal should be -- hearty, healthy and delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville July 19, 2004

I really like barley. I cooked the chicken a day before I made the meal. I also added a bit extra barley, basil and thyme. It came out thick, fragrant and delicious. Could easily be vegetarian without the chicken and would still taste good. Thank you Bertha.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo April 04, 2003

This turned out pretty good for being so simple, just needed a little salt and pepper towards the end. I'm not a big fan of carrots but they complimented the barley and chicken very well. Took another reviewer's advice and doubled the garlic and basil, and used fresh thyme. I also upped the amount of celery and would like to add diced potatoes and peas and/or green beans next time... maybe a little onion or garlic powder too. This was an effortless recipe and the consistency of the stew was perfect. Would be easy to double as well for more food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stuckonsushi June 22, 2014
Chicken and Barley Stew