Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Ala King Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Ala King

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2012

      I made this last night for dinner and it was fantastic! I did double the recipe. I had 3 bone-in skin on chicken breasts to use up. i used the chicken broth from boiling the chicken. I subbed peas for mushrooms, I didn't have any on hand. This is a classic recipe. I remember eating this as a kid but it came in a pouch that you boiled in a saucepan. Please tell me I'm not the only one that remembers that. I'm showing my age. Great recipe will be made over and over. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      My husband wanted me to cook this for him - he had this before.. I was kinda skeptical... but it was awesome - I will cook this again . I made servings for 5 - cooked three chicken breasts and added some chicken boullion to the water when i cooked the breasts- then used chicken water for my chicken broth. When i cooked the butter and flour.. I let it brown till is was golden brown before i added the chicken broth and milk. I also used fresh mushrooms, sliced, and let the whole thing simmer for at least 30 minutes - it was wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful!! This was so easy to make. This is comfort food at its best. I did add frozen peas and served over biscuits. Sure beats those recipes that use cream of chicken soup for the sauce. My husband and I are arguing over who will get the left overs for lunch tomorrow. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      This recipe is as good as my mother's! Thanks you so much for this. I don't see that I will ever use any other Chicken Ala King recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Great recipe, and quick to make. I used canned mushrooms, but next time I'll use fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      I made this and added peas in place of the mushrooms, I served over mashed potatoes. It was great. I added this recipe to my cookbook, love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This was good, however it was a little bland, so I added more salt and pepper than asked for in the recipe. I also added frozen mixed veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      As others said this is wonderful comfort food. Much better than the recipe I had been using. Added celery and carrots. I used homemade biscuits instead of toast. Thanks for posting, Petdrwife!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This was good, but too rich for us. More of a chicken with gravy than what I'm use to as a Chicken Ala King.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Easy and delicious! I omitted the pimientos (don't like 'em) and served over biscuits. I also added a tsp of chicken bouillon granules for a little extra flavor. For a vegetable component, I added a bag of frozen peas, corn and green beas. Since I had chicken already cooked, I had a wonderful dinner in about 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I have made this a couple of times and can't believe I didn't review this. This is just a nice easy recipe that is sure to satisfy. The prep time is not even close to an hour. I boiled three chicken breasts. Let them slightly cool and but up in small pieces. Whipped together the sauce, using fresh mushrooms and added peas for extra color. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I volunteer at a boys' group home every week, and they got this dish for dinner tonight; everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing. I did add: chopped onion, frozen peas and carrots to the gravy, all of which I sauted lightly before adding. This dish takes me back to my childhood for sure--will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      This was a great and easy recipe. For one who is new to cooking it was a hit! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Thank you for the recipe. This is really good and really easy. I grill enough chicken for the ala king and also for my fussy son's to eat plain. I have made it more than once and will continue to make it over and over. Great and simple! Gina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Wow! Did this meal dissapear! It was easy to make and just absolutely delicious! I added frozen peas and carrots and served over hot buisquits. I have to admit we all went back for seconds. Thanks for the great recipe I do believe this is now a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Ala King

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 458.5
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    54%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 130.6 mg
    43%
    Sodium 915.7 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    toast points

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes