68 Reviews

This is a very tasty and easy to prepare chicken dish. I served it with a mushroom risotto and steamed broccoli and it was a fantastic meal. I think I'd up the sour flavor next time a bit because it was a little sweet...but that's a matter of taste. Definitely a repeater!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan August 18, 2012

This recipe was simple and fairly quick, but it turned out great. The flavor was nice and the chicken did not have too much coating on it. I did add some green pepper but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I served this on top of plain risotto. I am only giving four stars because I think five stars should reserved for recipes that are spectacular. This was very good though and I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klincko July 24, 2011

I have made this several times and each time I'm astonished at how people react to it...wonderful and elegant presentation, though I have also made it in smaller bite sized pieces for buffet fare... Thanks for the post EdsGirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggymaggot56 November 10, 2010

This was simple, fast and fantastic. Everyone loved it from the 6 year old to the 60 year old. We served it with thin spaghetti and it got rave reviews from everyone. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LightEra June 10, 2010

Used this recipe as inspiration. Replaced flour with potato flakes due to an allergy of grains. Left out the bay leaves and allspice as well because we did not have any. Also no white wine. The flavor was great anyway! We did add a big of dried minced onion and used powdered garlic to taste. No pine nuts for us. A great sweet and sour, our new favorite! It's defintely better than the chinese sweet and sour types. The balsamic and honey are the key!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PardenMe247 April 28, 2010

Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey923 March 13, 2010

Loved it and so different! Made it exactly as written except for pignoli, but didn't miss them! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovemycrock December 08, 2009

I had to write a review about this recipe. I have been really disappointed in the 5 star recipes I've been making recently, but this one broke the mold. It is EXCELLENT! Tangy, sweet, with the right amount of heat. We followed the recipe exactly, except we had 5 boneless skinless chicken breasts, so we doubled the rest of the ingredients (except the lemon and orange juice were just increased 1.5 times). We will be making this again! I already emailed it to my mom and sister.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sashacrab October 27, 2009

I just made this dish for the first time for my inlaws and got rave reviews! It sounded interesting and I had most of the ingredients already so I gave it a try. The only thing I did differently was that I used a little lemon zest as well to kick it up. I took the advice of others and doubled the sauce and was so glad I did! I served it over angel hair, but I could picture it with just about anything. If you're in the mood for traditional Italian then keep looking, however, it you want an awesome new staple in your book....give this a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristin October 14, 2009

This savory dish is a hit in our house. When done correctly, it satisfies even the fussiest guest. In fact, it's so good that I usually double the amount of sauce for the chicken. Brava!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonkeyMazz September 06, 2009
Chicken Agrodolce (an Italian Sweet and Sour Chicken)