Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Agrodolce (an Italian Sweet and Sour Chicken) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Agrodolce (an Italian Sweet and Sour Chicken)

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2012

      This is a very tasty and easy to prepare chicken dish. I served it with a mushroom risotto and steamed broccoli and it was a fantastic meal. I think I'd up the sour flavor next time a bit because it was a little sweet...but that's a matter of taste. Definitely a repeater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      This recipe was simple and fairly quick, but it turned out great. The flavor was nice and the chicken did not have too much coating on it. I did add some green pepper but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I served this on top of plain risotto. I am only giving four stars because I think five stars should reserved for recipes that are spectacular. This was very good though and I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I have made this several times and each time I'm astonished at how people react to it...wonderful and elegant presentation, though I have also made it in smaller bite sized pieces for buffet fare... Thanks for the post EdsGirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This was simple, fast and fantastic. Everyone loved it from the 6 year old to the 60 year old. We served it with thin spaghetti and it got rave reviews from everyone. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Used this recipe as inspiration. Replaced flour with potato flakes due to an allergy of grains. Left out the bay leaves and allspice as well because we did not have any. Also no white wine. The flavor was great anyway! We did add a big of dried minced onion and used powdered garlic to taste. No pine nuts for us. A great sweet and sour, our new favorite! It's defintely better than the chinese sweet and sour types. The balsamic and honey are the key!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Loved it and so different! Made it exactly as written except for pignoli, but didn't miss them! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I had to write a review about this recipe. I have been really disappointed in the 5 star recipes I've been making recently, but this one broke the mold. It is EXCELLENT! Tangy, sweet, with the right amount of heat. We followed the recipe exactly, except we had 5 boneless skinless chicken breasts, so we doubled the rest of the ingredients (except the lemon and orange juice were just increased 1.5 times). We will be making this again! I already emailed it to my mom and sister.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I just made this dish for the first time for my inlaws and got rave reviews! It sounded interesting and I had most of the ingredients already so I gave it a try. The only thing I did differently was that I used a little lemon zest as well to kick it up. I took the advice of others and doubled the sauce and was so glad I did! I served it over angel hair, but I could picture it with just about anything. If you're in the mood for traditional Italian then keep looking, however, it you want an awesome new staple in your book....give this a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This savory dish is a hit in our house. When done correctly, it satisfies even the fussiest guest. In fact, it's so good that I usually double the amount of sauce for the chicken. Brava!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      My husband thought it tastes a lot like General Tso's chicken except not as spicy, that we get at the Chinese restaurant and he loves. We both liked it, but be careful not to cook the sauce too long, or you will end up with spicy syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Just average to me. I would make it again but it didn't impress my guest. So if you are looking for resturant quality this isn't it. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      My husband and I loved this! We added broccoli, sliced baby carrots, and bell peppers. The sauce soaked into the veggies and made them delectable! I doubled up the sauce so I had enough to cover the chicken and the veggies. I also used apple juice instead of the dry white wine. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      This is a tasty recipe, I added lots of veggies, red peppers, onions, boc choi to round out this dish. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Great sweet and sour dish. I left out the pine nuts and was told I had lemon juice and didn't. All in all its a tasty dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I really liked this meal, DH wasn't thrilled. I found it to be unique and tasty. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      We weren't crazy about this dish. It was time consuming and dirtied a lot of dishes. The flavor was ok... but nothing to write home about. I served it with fresh steamed asparagus and medium grain white rice. I also doubled the sauce so we'd have extra for our rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      I liked it very much, DH found it slightly too sweet. There was lots of sauce but very nice one. Served it with white rice so the taste of sauce and meat would be enhanced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I thought that this was a great recipe. I have a large family and everyone from 2-18 loved it. Definately going to make again.We had this for a weeknight dinner but I look forward to making it for company. I didn't have berries so I used a bit of ground allspice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      I enjoyed the sauce, a little different but pretty good. My kids did not like it at all, so I will not be able to make it again. I found the directions a little difficult to follow and keep from burning/scalding the dish. Contrary to what the other reviews indicate, there was not a ton of sauce and it did not "wait" well; my boyfriend is watching the debate and his dinner is looking quite congealed. It did not live up to the reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Agrodolce (an Italian Sweet and Sour Chicken)

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 500.9
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    40%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 146.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 30.7 g
    123%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    allspice berries

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes