Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Adobo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Adobo

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2005

      Delicious chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      This is perfect! I did cut the amounts in half because there were only two dining. In all other respects I followed the recipe strictly, as to ingredients and procedures, up to and including the use of reduced sodium soy sauce. No extra salt was necessary. The chicken is delicious, and the sauce is wonderful, too. Thank you very much for this recipe. I will use it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      A friend made this for an ethnic dinner & it was delish. I'm pretty sure she made it as written. Several went back for seconds & the entire dish was ate up. Flavours were great & I will be trying this recipe soon, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      This was great! Everyone loved it, especially my two year old son who's a picky eater. Very easy to make. I reduced the peppercorn to 1 teaspoon, instead of 1/4 cup. Can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow. I'm sure it'll taste even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      My dad spent a while in the Phillipians and brought back his version of adobo. This recipe reminds me of his and it is just as tasty and easy. I love the use of crushed peppercorns because his version would leave them whole - I remember picking them out as a kid. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

    • on August 12, 2008

      Ok, followed the recipe EXCEPT, the 1 tsp brown sugar wasn't enough. I've had pork adobo and it's much sweeter.. this, as is written, is just too sour, vinegary.. so I added about 4 Tbsp brown sugar.. thickened it up w/cornstarch at the end, because the sauce was too runny, BUT, the overall flavor was killer over white rice!! Reminds me of the saucy chicken chunks over rice in bowls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

    • on January 19, 2008

      This was really good. My BF said it was quite possibly the best chicken he's ever had! Good flavor and very simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I really liked this recipe, 1/4 cup of peppercorns was way too much for me, but I loved all the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This was a very tasty recipe. I used chicken breast instead and didn't alter the cooking time. They were tough & chewy. My fault. I left the remaining chicken in the pot and continued cooking for an additional hour, and they were super tender then. I will make this again and if I choose to use chicken breast again I will increase the cooking time to 1 1/2 hours. I would recommend this recipe to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I suggest you do not use skinless chicken breats for this recipe. Stick to the mentioned chicken thighs. My chicken breasts turned out very bland. This was an attempt of cutting back on fat and it backfired :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      Served with steamed jasmine rice and stir-fry broccoli, this is a very tasty meal. I used one tablespoon cracked black pepper rather than 1/4 cup, and that was plenty for my husband's and my taste. I also used hind quarters and skinned them before cooking and added a couple of tablespoons peanut oil and a teaspoon sesame oil to help keep them moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I used regular soy sauce, and now I know why it's important that it's low sodium. That being said, it was still pretty good. I will have to remake it at some point with low sodium soy and rereview.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I have a Filipino relative who makes chicken adobo, and I impressed myself when I made this recipe! It tasted almost exactly like it. (He said he used Apple Cider Vinegar and omits the brown sugar.) I will definitely make this again but either reduce the amount of peppercorns OR make sure to crush them a little more than I did. Getting a 1/2-full size peppercorn makes it real peppery bite. Thanks for such an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      All I have to say is amasing!!! My boyfriend is Filipino and most of the time he does not like my "Canadian" cooking. I finally impressed him with this chicken adobo. He even said it tasted just like his moms. I did not use low sodium soy sauce and it was not too salty. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe that is so good and easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Yummm! Even my (fussy) husband loved it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Good taste, should've used thighs as suggested. BS chx was a bit dry. Flavor was there, added a can of black bans to the pot. I had to thicken twith the slurry. TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      Wonderful chicken. Left out the brown sugar, as I ran low on soy sauce and had to use teriyaki sauce. Easy and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Adobo

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 774.8
     
    Calories from Fat 471
    60%
    Total Fat 52.3 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 286.5 mg
    95%
    Sodium 1325.8 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 61.7 g
    123%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes