Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken a la King Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken a la King

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2001

      Very, very good! As an added chicken flavor I added half a can of Butter Ball Chicken Broth, along with a handful of frozen peas, and served it over biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2001

      It is a great meal I put it with noodles and it is nice and creamy and a good taste as well. It was easy to make. All you need is a picture of it to go with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2002

      I made this and shared with my mother. We both loved it. She even had seconds. She is the type that likes the same things cooked the same way all the time and I have been trying to expand our menu. Very tastey. Thanks for a new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2001

      i added an onion and some garlic to the sauteed vegetables as well as peas. i think it would be even better with almonds as a final touch, but very good without and pretty easy to prepare on short notice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2001

      I'm not sure what "double cream" is but, this was good without it. I also served over biscuits. This IS comfort food. Very creamy and I too could "pig out" on this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2000

      An excellent dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      i placed the whole thing inside little bread bowls and my family was totally "bowled" over! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      This was a huge hit with everyone including the smallest member of the house. The Hubby actually liked it so much he had extra and overstuffed himself. I have to admit I kept grabbing an extra taste now and again as I was putting the left over's away. I doubled the recipe to serve 6 and still wound up with enough for lunch tomorrow. Thanks we definitely plan on making this again for future dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      While I was pregnant i had a serious craving for a chicken dish my mom made when I was a little girl. I found this recipe and tried it and Bingo! I could have eaten it everyday after that. We poured it over puff pastry. Sooo good. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

    • on May 23, 2010

      Comfort food all the way! We loved it over homemade biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Served this up with noodles and butter on the side and it was one delicious meal! I left out the green pepper and added carrots and peas. A real hit with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Just what I was looking for to have over some puff pastry cups! I added in some frozen peas and carrots, and left out the mushrooms. It was so creamy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      verrrryyyy good! :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Hello Joan Edington, what a lovely decadent dish! Don't you love people who make a recipe telling you the changes they made? Well here goes: added more chicken, more mushrooms, & spring green peas. I didn't use the green peppers and other than that -- no changes were made and the meal was delicious! Served it on English Muffin toasts. The flavors meld quite nicely and afforded us a very "luscious" change. Thanks for sharing, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Really tasty and very easy to make. Served with boiled rice and thought it complimented well. All my housemates loved it. Improvised slightly on the amount of ingredients as I was serving five and didnt think the amounts really correlated with a greater number. Also mixed together a couple of the steps listed. Couple of additions I made - after melting the butter I put a spoonful of garlic in and before adding the milk I put a dash of sherry in. Also didn't use canned pimiento as I couldn't find it in my loca store. Overall amazing receipe, will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I loved it although I made several changes. I sauted onions and garlic with the vegs. then made the white sauce and combined them. I also put a pinch of cayenne in for extra zip. The measurements are confusing and difficult to increase the servings for a family. I tripled it but used only 2 egg yolks and 4 TBS of whipping cream (bty double cream not available in US closest thing with that high of fat content is heavy whipping cream). Over all, I will make it again. My son wants me to throw in some shrimp!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      This stuff was a dad's pleasure. Very simple to create and Cook friendly. I also used carrots, cauliflower, radishes; green & yellow bell peppers. I used pure sesame oil to marinade boiled chicken chunks ( 4 table spoons ), while I prepared the sauce. I didn't know what double cream was so I used sour cream. Out of worcestershire sauce, Substituted teriyaki sauce in place of. Everyone enjoyed this dish to the last bite. Served with fried rice. PROPS To You! Arnold Contreras

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      Overall this recipe was okay. It was pretty good but a little "flour" tasting to me. I also thought it was too much trouble for the outcome. I guess I just prefer chicken ala king made with broth instead. But again, overall it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      Very tasty dish and so easy to make. I used left-over turkey, added chopped onions and omitted the pimiento. I also served it in puff pastry shells. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken a la King

    Serving Size: 1 (634 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 895.4
     
    Calories from Fat 601
    67%
    Total Fat 66.8 g
    102%
    Saturated Fat 31.9 g
    159%
    Cholesterol 405.8 mg
    135%
    Sodium 557.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 45.3 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites