Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicago-Style Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicago-Style Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2003

      I never had a Chicago-Style hot dog before and was really excited about trying this. I could not find the sport peppers, but they turned out good anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      I get an urge for these hot dogs and was not sure how to make them myself until I found this recipe. I especially loved it with the hot peppers. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This is one of our favorite Chicago style recipes. Everything about this recipe is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Yellow mustard..not brown. Celery salt makes a big difference. If you can't find sport peppers, hot banana peppers is an ok substitute. Don't ever put ketchup on a Chicago style hot dog. There are some places in Chicago who will not add it to your hot dog even if you ask. The toppings came from the depression when hot dog vendors were trying to entice people with extra toppings to fill them up more. People used to order Chicago style dogs by saying "drag it through the garden".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Never had a dog like this before. My son brought one home from Sonic. I was apprehensive with the plethera of toppings. But I was impressed. I had to try myself. What a great hot dog! I had never seen (and still havent seen hot dog buns with poppyseeds). I added seeds to the dog and made exactly as presented. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Never had a Chicago dog but having seen so many people on those travel tv shows enjoy them I thought we should give them a try... couldn't find buns with poppy seeds but used all the condiments suggested. Really good and filling... I felt like I was eating a burger somehow given the way it was dressed. Not a bad thing but just my opinion. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      OMG, these are wonderful. I made these for dinner the other night adn we all loved them. DS left out the peppers but otherwise we all followed the recipe exactly. Thank you for such an awesome way to serve hot dogs, it really jazzes up the ordinary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Wow! I never knew adding tomatoes to franks would be so delicious! Only thing did different was to cut my onions into rounds and boil them in the beer with the franks. I will never eat a hot dog any other way! Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Yumm Yumm!!!! I love Chicago-style hot dogs the best and I loved the suggestion of simmering the hot dogs in beer. I used good ole' Budweiser to simmer. They cooked perfectly and tasted just like ball-park hot dogs!! Next, I read in a magazine that the way to make the relish the beautiful bright green type is to just add a drop of green food coloring and a drop of yellow food coloring and blend well. We bit the tip off the little sport peppers (Vlasic hot chili peppers) and sprinkled the juice over the hot dogs and it was just perfect. The celery seed makes them taste authentic. I used a little celery salt too (because I saw that in the magazine that I got the relish tip in.) These were the best Chicago dogs I've ever had!!! Thanks for posting!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I LOVE my hot dogs this way! Every year I go to Chicago for St. Patrick's Day and I always have to make sure I have one! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      These were great. Loved all the add ons. I couldn't find sport peppers here, so just added some jalapeno slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      The contrast of the dill and sweet pickle relish is fantastic. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      Good Recipe, Can get everything ya' need @ http://www.viennabeef.comNote: Steam the dogs and buns. Sport Peppers are pickled seranno peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      I am not from Chicago, but had a good friend who grew up there and these seem fairly close to what he described, except for the brown mustard. Incidentally, a man from Chicago who runs a stand here in Denver told me that the "sport peppers" are actually pickled serrano peppers - hotter than jalapenos, and readily available in the produce section. Now, if we could just get an authentic Chicago Style Italian Beef recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Have lived in Chicago all of my life and have never seen a dog with brown mustard. Chicago dogs always have yellow mustard. Points for the celery salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      This was fun! And delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      Hey, Sue L, you must be from Illinois, too! Thanks for posting the definitive Chicago-Style Hot Dog recipe. They're like no other hot dogs! There's just something about that bright green relish and those poppy seeds! NO KETCHUP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Delicious, delicious! My family enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicago-Style Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.9
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    43%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 888.1 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites