19 Reviews

This is not the recipe for authentic Chicago-style deep dish pizza. There is no cornmeal in Chicago deep-dish dough and never was. There's a bit more more oil in the dough (a good ratio is 1 Tablespoon oil to one cup flour). Your kneading time is way too long. To achieve the biscuit-like crust of authentic Chicago deep dish you need to mix for one minute and knead for no more than two minutes. What you have here will result in bread with tomato sauce and cheese.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slsl60514 November 13, 2010

One zillion stars! Last year DH and I ate at Giordano's in downtown Chicago and fell in love with their pizza....so much so that DH's employees had one mail ordered for him for boss's day! I had my fingers crossed that this would be close....very easy to throw together, easy to press up the sides of the pan. I used a 9 inch cheesecake pan which turned out great because then I could just remove the sides and it looked just like Giordano's! The crust is absolutely to die for....I could eat it plain!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsKnox2016 November 08, 2009

UPDATE: I have made this with bread flour and AP flour. It turned out great both ways. BEST crust EVER! It's even better the next day reheated in the oven directly on the rack. <br/><br/>This crust couldn't have turned out any better! Authentic or not, it was amazing! I let my bread machine do all the work and just pressed the dough into two cast iron skillets when it was done. I had enough dough to fill up a 13-inch cast iron skillet and a 5-inch one as well. I used homemade sauce and sweet-pickled banana peppers that I canned last fall, Italian sausage, pepperoni, sauteed onions, and a four-cheese blend. I baked it at 450 degrees for 25 minutes, but it was very well-done on top because I forgot to put it on the lowest rack. The crust was perfect! Cast iron makes all the difference because it ensures even heating. Thank you so much for this recipe! It is a new favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover January 22, 2014

It was very good. It came out chewy and fresh. Next time I will add a little bit more OO and minus a bit cornmeal. The crust is missing a bit of something that I can't put my finger on (a seasoning). But even with all that it was still good, the best I've ever made!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a June 12, 2010

I made this for dinner last night. My husband absolutely loved it, and insisted upon eating the leftovers for dinner tonight. (He said to tell you *five stars* btw! :)) This has to be the easiest dough I've ever worked with, and I do think the cornmeal adds a special something. I did not have med. grind, so I added 1/4 c. fine ground in mine, just for this time. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Snell July 14, 2008

Perfect! I don't know how this recipe could possibly be improved upon. It is fabulous deep-dish dough. I decided to try it in my bread machine on the dough cycle and it worked beautifully. I only had to add a bit more flour, as the dough was sticky during the first kneading. When the dough was ready I cut it in half and used one half to make regular pizza for my sons. The second half I pressed into a 9 inch cake pan brushed lightly with olive oil to make a smaller deep dish pie. Thank you, lucid. If I could give 10 stars I would.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo May 10, 2007

I love Chicago deep dish pizza and have been wanting to try to make it myself for sometime now. Not really sure if I could pull it off, I tried this recipe, but with all purpose flour and added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. For toppings I used mozzarella and parmesan cheese, onions, green peppers, italian sausage, pepperoni and semi homemade sauce. It turned out amazing!!! Exactly what I was hoping for! The crust is biscuit-y and delicious. Thick, but not dense. It's crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Not chewy. The dough is easy to work with and cooked perfectly in a cast-iron skillet. I've been looking for a restaurant quality deep dish recipe and this is a keeper for sure! Looking forward to trying a variety of experimental topping combinations with this delicious dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara D. February 06, 2014

Perfect dough recipe. I like to add a tad more olive oil, and I don't kneed it as long as it says. Have also put it directly into the pan to cook and had good results. Each time is a success.<br/><br/>Usually I will make this recipe, cut the end dough in half, roll out 2 circular crusts and wrap them in wax paper/plastic wrap, and freeze them for future dinners. Lasts very well in the freezer and makes a quick pizza night a great quick pizza night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.berner May 10, 2013

I totally agree with Chef #683983. It was OK but not Chicago style. Knead much less and add more oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CMZ2 June 03, 2011

I made this in a smaller than recommended pan and my god was it thick... AND GOOD. It could have used a little salt (which I forgot). Easily the best crust I've made... It came out great! Would definitely recommend this one (I have already).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDozarian December 29, 2010
Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza Dough