Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      This is not the recipe for authentic Chicago-style deep dish pizza. There is no cornmeal in Chicago deep-dish dough and never was. There's a bit more more oil in the dough (a good ratio is 1 Tablespoon oil to one cup flour). Your kneading time is way too long. To achieve the biscuit-like crust of authentic Chicago deep dish you need to mix for one minute and knead for no more than two minutes. What you have here will result in bread with tomato sauce and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      One zillion stars! Last year DH and I ate at Giordano's in downtown Chicago and fell in love with their pizza....so much so that DH's employees had one mail ordered for him for boss's day! I had my fingers crossed that this would be close....very easy to throw together, easy to press up the sides of the pan. I used a 9 inch cheesecake pan which turned out great because then I could just remove the sides and it looked just like Giordano's! The crust is absolutely to die for....I could eat it plain!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      UPDATE: I have made this with bread flour and AP flour. It turned out great both ways. BEST crust EVER! It's even better the next day reheated in the oven directly on the rack. <br/><br/>This crust couldn't have turned out any better! Authentic or not, it was amazing! I let my bread machine do all the work and just pressed the dough into two cast iron skillets when it was done. I had enough dough to fill up a 13-inch cast iron skillet and a 5-inch one as well. I used homemade sauce and sweet-pickled banana peppers that I canned last fall, Italian sausage, pepperoni, sauteed onions, and a four-cheese blend. I baked it at 450 degrees for 25 minutes, but it was very well-done on top because I forgot to put it on the lowest rack. The crust was perfect! Cast iron makes all the difference because it ensures even heating. Thank you so much for this recipe! It is a new favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      It was very good. It came out chewy and fresh. Next time I will add a little bit more OO and minus a bit cornmeal. The crust is missing a bit of something that I can't put my finger on (a seasoning). But even with all that it was still good, the best I've ever made!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I made this for dinner last night. My husband absolutely loved it, and insisted upon eating the leftovers for dinner tonight. (He said to tell you *five stars* btw! :)) This has to be the easiest dough I've ever worked with, and I do think the cornmeal adds a special something. I did not have med. grind, so I added 1/4 c. fine ground in mine, just for this time. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Perfect! I don't know how this recipe could possibly be improved upon. It is fabulous deep-dish dough. I decided to try it in my bread machine on the dough cycle and it worked beautifully. I only had to add a bit more flour, as the dough was sticky during the first kneading. When the dough was ready I cut it in half and used one half to make regular pizza for my sons. The second half I pressed into a 9 inch cake pan brushed lightly with olive oil to make a smaller deep dish pie. Thank you, lucid. If I could give 10 stars I would.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      I love Chicago deep dish pizza and have been wanting to try to make it myself for sometime now. Not really sure if I could pull it off, I tried this recipe, but with all purpose flour and added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. For toppings I used mozzarella and parmesan cheese, onions, green peppers, italian sausage, pepperoni and semi homemade sauce. It turned out amazing!!! Exactly what I was hoping for! The crust is biscuit-y and delicious. Thick, but not dense. It's crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Not chewy. The dough is easy to work with and cooked perfectly in a cast-iron skillet. I've been looking for a restaurant quality deep dish recipe and this is a keeper for sure! Looking forward to trying a variety of experimental topping combinations with this delicious dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      Perfect dough recipe. I like to add a tad more olive oil, and I don't kneed it as long as it says. Have also put it directly into the pan to cook and had good results. Each time is a success.<br/><br/>Usually I will make this recipe, cut the end dough in half, roll out 2 circular crusts and wrap them in wax paper/plastic wrap, and freeze them for future dinners. Lasts very well in the freezer and makes a quick pizza night a great quick pizza night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I totally agree with Chef #683983. It was OK but not Chicago style. Knead much less and add more oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I made this in a smaller than recommended pan and my god was it thick... AND GOOD. It could have used a little salt (which I forgot). Easily the best crust I've made... It came out great! Would definitely recommend this one (I have already).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      This is the only pizza dough I use :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Fantastic! Have made it three times so far. Even when the dough won't stretch all the way up, it still comes out so delicious. Be sure to generously coat the bottom with oil (like 1/4 inch across the iron skillet). You can top it any way you want but remember deep dish pizzas only need sauce dotted on. They are already moist without lots of sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Tastes just like Gino's East! Perfect crunchiness on the outside, tenderness inside. My new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      We have made this three times now and it is the best! The only thing we do different is we use regular all-purpose flour instead of the unbleached bread flour and it comes out great.The crust has great texture and flavor.It holds all the toppings and is a good sturdy crust. We like making and eating this pizza! It is so much better than takeout. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Nice texture and authentic flavor; I think I might incorporate garlic next time, though with the excess dough I had I made 3 breadsticks, brushed with butter and sprinkled with garlic powder and garlic salt and that was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      wonderful dough, nice texture I added 1 tsp of Emeril's Italian essence and 1 tsp of onion powder to the mix. Skipped the cornmeal completely. Both kids enjoyed this meal - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This is the receipe I've been looking for. It tastes great. In Atlanta, there aren't many deep dish pizza places. I use a 14 inch Iron Skillet to cook the pizza in. It comes out firm and tasty every time. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Terrific dough recipe. I had to make a last minute adjustment, no bread flour, and it worked fine. oh the pizza is to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Awesome dough recipe! I found it to be quite sticky so I ended up using a lot of flour to knead with but it turned out great still. I used this to make focaccia today. Tomorrow I am gonna try to make pizza with this recipe. Made for ZWT 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.7
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    37%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 296.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes