30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made it on a regular cookie sheet with everything except the Italian sausage. Next time I might use two cans of pizza crust because it was a little thinner than I like. One of the best pizzas I've tasted from here to Chicago!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn January 28, 2002

This was pretty good although I used Italian Spice rather than the basil and oregano. I also made Steve Sickenberger's pizza dough (a whole lot of it) #8497. I diced up a tomato as well as some black olives. And added a little garlic. Like I said, it was pretty good.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbaraK March 24, 2002

Good recipe, but the pan needs quite a bit of oil to make a proper deep-dish crust. It's almost as if the outside of the crust is fried in the oil, but you need that texture for authenticity. Otherwise, this recipe is great!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saremca March 09, 2003

Superb! This recipe's versatility is equally matched with its deliciousness. I used Steve's Dough recipe as recommended and it worked perfectly. I just sauteed all the meats with the spices and didn't include the veggies. Also, the bake time was increased to ensure the bottom was browned. For the last 5 minutes of baking, I took the pizza out briefly and coated the top in a think layer of sauce, just like Giordano's or Gino's East in Chicago ;) Wonderful overall! It brings out my nostalgia for Chicago like no other recipe can. Bravo.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
russ2246 June 03, 2010

I followed the recipe for the topping, but I assembled the pizza differently because the method described in the recipe isnt' how a TRUE deep dish pizza is made. Anyone who has ever had a real Chicago deep-dish pizza knows that the first thing you put down is the cheese, and then any toppings - in this case the mixture outlined in the recipe - and then you top it off with crushed tomatoes instead of regular pizza sauce. If you make those changes, then you will have a real deep-dish Chicago-style pizza on your hands.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jleonard711 December 10, 2009

What a great pie! I had to go out and buy the ingredients for it as soon as I read the recipe! I used two each of Johnsonville's bratwurst and hot sausages. I also used the whole jar of pizza sauce, which was a little more than asked for. It turned out great! Thanks Sharlene for my GOTO Chicago style pizza. I can't wait to make it for a party!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Bean February 03, 2012

We have made this over 4 times and have loved it every time. I too add more sauce. And while this is not an "authentic" Chicago-style pizza as one reviewer suggested - I went to college right outside of Chicago - I think this recipe is less filling and a little more healthier the way I make it and still delicious. We will continue to enjoy this fabulous recipe. Thanks Sharlene.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana E. December 26, 2011

The ingredients made a wonderful pizza. We used it along with another dough recipe http://www.recipezaar.com/Chicago-Style-Deep-Dish-Pizza-Dough-171225 and it turned out fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulabob January 07, 2010

This is amazing! Easy to make and fantastic tasting. Love that you saute the toppings. It makes the flavors blend and it truly comes together well. We have already made it twice and are planning a white pizza next time. YUM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janny Bananny January 02, 2010

You just made our night Sharlene! I used a recipe for deep dish pizza dough here on Zaar but the mixture of ingredients you suggested were perfect! I really like the addition of the pepperoni...when you heat it before putting it in the pizza it releases some of it's oil and flavors the rest of the mixture. Just perfect- thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend November 08, 2009
Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza