Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2002

      Made it on a regular cookie sheet with everything except the Italian sausage. Next time I might use two cans of pizza crust because it was a little thinner than I like. One of the best pizzas I've tasted from here to Chicago!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      This was pretty good although I used Italian Spice rather than the basil and oregano. I also made Steve Sickenberger's pizza dough (a whole lot of it) #8497. I diced up a tomato as well as some black olives. And added a little garlic. Like I said, it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Good recipe, but the pan needs quite a bit of oil to make a proper deep-dish crust. It's almost as if the outside of the crust is fried in the oil, but you need that texture for authenticity. Otherwise, this recipe is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Superb! This recipe's versatility is equally matched with its deliciousness. I used Steve's Dough recipe as recommended and it worked perfectly. I just sauteed all the meats with the spices and didn't include the veggies. Also, the bake time was increased to ensure the bottom was browned. For the last 5 minutes of baking, I took the pizza out briefly and coated the top in a think layer of sauce, just like Giordano's or Gino's East in Chicago ;) Wonderful overall! It brings out my nostalgia for Chicago like no other recipe can. Bravo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I followed the recipe for the topping, but I assembled the pizza differently because the method described in the recipe isnt' how a TRUE deep dish pizza is made. Anyone who has ever had a real Chicago deep-dish pizza knows that the first thing you put down is the cheese, and then any toppings - in this case the mixture outlined in the recipe - and then you top it off with crushed tomatoes instead of regular pizza sauce. If you make those changes, then you will have a real deep-dish Chicago-style pizza on your hands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      What a great pie! I had to go out and buy the ingredients for it as soon as I read the recipe! I used two each of Johnsonville's bratwurst and hot sausages. I also used the whole jar of pizza sauce, which was a little more than asked for. It turned out great! Thanks Sharlene for my GOTO Chicago style pizza. I can't wait to make it for a party!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      We have made this over 4 times and have loved it every time. I too add more sauce. And while this is not an "authentic" Chicago-style pizza as one reviewer suggested - I went to college right outside of Chicago - I think this recipe is less filling and a little more healthier the way I make it and still delicious. We will continue to enjoy this fabulous recipe. Thanks Sharlene.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      The ingredients made a wonderful pizza. We used it along with another dough recipe http://www.recipezaar.com/Chicago-Style-Deep-Dish-Pizza-Dough-171225 and it turned out fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This is amazing! Easy to make and fantastic tasting. Love that you saute the toppings. It makes the flavors blend and it truly comes together well. We have already made it twice and are planning a white pizza next time. YUM!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      You just made our night Sharlene! I used a recipe for deep dish pizza dough here on Zaar but the mixture of ingredients you suggested were perfect! I really like the addition of the pepperoni...when you heat it before putting it in the pizza it releases some of it's oil and flavors the rest of the mixture. Just perfect- thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Very good and very easy! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This was such a great recipe!! Thank you! This is how I'm gonna make pizza from now on. I'll try the homemade dough sometime too, but the fridge dough was super easy to work with. I made mine in a glass 9 by 13 pan. Worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This was so YUMMY!! I made this actually a few weeks ago. I also had a hard time with the dough, it came out to thick for me, but that was probably my fault. The tase is incredible and my whole family, Husband and 4 kids LOVED IT!! Thank You for the great recipe. I hope you like my photo's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Forgot to rate - great pizza! Never tried a pizza like this b4 - had some trouble getting the dough to stretch up the sides - but awesome none-the-less. Will work harder with the dough next time!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This was very good. I added some mushrooms and some candian bacon as well. I do not have a cast iron skillet so I used a deep dish pie stone and it worked out very nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I made this for Superbowl 2009 and used 1 1/2 cans of refrigerated dough and added mushrooms and olives to the mix. I don't have a cast iron skillet so i used a deep dish glass pie dish, it worked out well. I thought this tasted pretty good, although my hubby and brother didn't enjoy it very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This was fabulous. We all loved it and it tastes great the next day too! Next time I'd like to follow Saremca's advice and use more oil in the pan so the crust gets a fried crisp outer layer. Yummm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This was very good, the whole family loved it. I made it over superbowl weekend for the 1st time and was asked to make it the following week. The only thing that I noticed is the crust on the bottom needs to be a little thicker

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made this over the weekend for the Super Bowl and it was tremendous. This is a keeper!! Fantastic

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This was really, really good. I, too, added alot of extra sauce to it but, other than that, did not change a thing. It is PERFECT!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicago Style Deep-Dish Pizza

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.2
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    66%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 53.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 756.7 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pepperoni

    pizza dough

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites