28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy!!! This came up when DD wanted to make cookies and I was not going out in the - whatever wind chill to get eggs. We made a half recipe and got 12 cookies. Left 3 plain, put chocolate chips on 3, mint m&ms on 3, and plain m&ms on 3. Thanks for a great cookie!!! The 3 yo's opinion: "yummy. It tastes good and sweet". ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn717 December 15, 2008

Glad to know I'm not the only one who remembers this buttery treat. It's been 30 years since I had the true cafeteria experience but this recipe was very close. Cookies melted in my mouth. I tried the pinch of salt but could not see the point of the optional sugar, so I didn't use it and they were fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robinhrpro August 13, 2008

This is it!!! One of a kind. My family will enjoy these cookies for years to come. I have made this recipe several times and theses cookies really are tender and delicious!!!! Thanks it WONDERFUL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
796213 March 23, 2008

You made my holiday!! I have always wanted this recipe and the people that had it would never give it up!!! Thanks its the best!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nellabella_321 December 31, 2007

I too searched high and low for this recipe many years ago, even resorting to calling a few schools and talking to someone in the cafeteria, but they would not give me the recipe. Then we had a temp in my office who used to work in a CPS cafeteria and she gave me the recipe - the true recipe and yours is very close! The real recipe does not have the salt or 4t sugar. I prefer to use real vanilla extract when I bake, but I have found these taste more like I remember if you use the imitation vanilla, I'm guessing because that is probably what they use in the schools. I was only in the CPS for kindergarten and 1st grade, and all these years later I remember these cookies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 February 16, 2007

I used the top comment recipe and found four cups of flour made the cookies taste like flour, next time I will stick to the recipe above!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Constance R. January 17, 2015

I tried the above recipe it also was missing something to me as well. I remembered a light taste of evaporated milk so I added 2 TBS and it was on point they were very good. really close to those lunch room cookies only a very few of us from the CPS were blessed have.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosevelt L. August 26, 2014

I used the Mzhollywood review and my cookies were delicious my kids and husband loved how they came out.I lost the recipe years ago and my cookies would melt on the pan so I knew I needed more flour I don't remember using powdered sugar but like I said the cookies were perfect,didn't have Almond extract so I used Vanilla I'll try the Almond next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tkimmee September 01, 2013

I made these yesterday. Although these are good butter cookies, they are not the Chicago Piblic School cookies. Both my elementary school and high school (on two different sides of Chicago) perfected the cookie and they both had the same recipe. Whoever submitted this recipe need to go back to the drawing board before calling it a Chicago Public School Cafateria cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beautiforashes June 30, 2013

Great recipe but I changed it a tiny bit. I used 3 sticks of butter and it did not tell you when to put the salt into the recipe but a pinch is not enough. I mixed the salt into the flour,and one more thing, I added more flour to get the right consistency for the cookie dough. Overall great and brings back such fond memories of lunchroom fun with my friends back in the day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krsttaa May 04, 2013
Chicago Public School Cafeteria Butter Cookies