Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicago Italian Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicago Italian Beef

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2008

      OUTSTANDING! My house smells so awesome right now and my stomach is growling terribly! I tried a bit of the meat already talk about TENDER!! I've tried many Italian beef recipes in the past this one for sure is a keeper!! Thanks so much for a great recipe. We will enjoy this on a monthly basis since I've found Italian Beef that's this good. Again many thanks!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I had a house full of company coming in and wanted to have something readily available for any drop-ins. I have made Italian Beef most of my adult life (I'm originally fromI Illinois and always have it as my first meal when I hit Chicago.) I was happy with my recipe, but wanted to try to make it better and different from all the other crock pot recipes out there. I looked at many recipes on the web and came across this one and because of all the high ratings it received, I decided to try it. It was the best I've ever made!!! I roasted an 8 1/2 lb rump roast in my big roaster at 200-250 degrees for about 5 hours. Refrigerated the meat, skimmed off the fat and returned the meat to a preheated crock pot on high for another 4 hours. Refrigerated overnight, skimmed again and preheated crockpot to low, shredded the beef and had it out on the counter for sandwiches all day. I'm a HERO! I did add some green bell peppers and 1 onion to the beginning broth. I upped the broth to 3 1/2 cups and the pepperoncini and giardiniera to 1 and 1/2 jar each. Also 2 pkgs of the Italian dressing mix. This was all because my roast was somewhat bigger than the original 5 lb roast in the recipe. All in alll, this one is so good and so REAL ITALIAN BEEF -like!! I can't wait to show my Tennessee friends what I've been talking about for all these years! Thanks Moonbugz!! Any other great recipes you care to share? Visit me at my food blog comfortcook.blogspot.com and you'll be getting honorable mention there soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Have made this seveal times - it's outstanding! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Wow - this was wonderful! I used a 2.75 lb rump roast & kept the rest of the ingredients the same. This is outstanding. What I did different: I omitted the sweet green peppers & it was still delicious! By my own error~I made it a little too spicy. I shouldve used 1/4 jar of pepperoncini & giardiniera instead of 1/2 of jar. I found myself trying to balance the spiciness when it was done. Even so, the flavors were not hidden by the spiciness. YUM-YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      I grew up in the Chicago area. There was a place called Novi's, in Berwyn, that had the best beef for years. They cooked their roast in water to produce the gravy. only a small amount of the roast peaked out from the water. If you add garlic, crushed red pepper, minced giardiniera along with a tablespoon of the giardiniera juice you will get a fantastic gravy. Never add oregno or other green herbs or spices. In Chicago the roast is cooked until well done then sliced very thin after it cools. Gonnella bread is the final touch. It is similar to french bread. Serving options are wet (extra gravy poured inside the sandwich) sweet peppers (cooked green peppers over the beef) and/or giardiniera over the beef. PS one final touch. Refridgerate your gravy and remove the layer of fat that congeals for a better tasting sandwich, unless you love fat. For the Carms taste leave the fat in the gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Excellent flavor. But not an authentic Chicago style beef sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      WoW! I have never had anything like this before. We loved it - I used 1/2 bottle pepperocini peppers and a full jar of giardiniera. The bread soaked up all the flavour and made a lovely spicy sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      This is a fabulous and easy recipe for Italian Beef. I've made something similar, but used deli italian roast beef to save time. It's no where near as good, so it's worth it to let your crock pot do the cooking for this recipe. To make these sandwiches really authentic, top each one with Hot Giardiniera Relish. I've not found anything authentic yet in the market, most of them are not spicy enough for me and are vinegar based. I order mine online from a vendor near Chicago. The relish is oil-based and authentic to what most restaurants in Chicago use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      We loved this! I have to admit that we did not add the pepperoncini or the girdiniera, but it turned out great anyway. We did add 1/2 an onion and made it with a 3 1/2 pound roast. It was great. We will definitely be sharing this recipe. It's the best tasting Italian beef recipe I have tried including the one's I just had in Chicago. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      This was great! I played with it a little bit though. I cooked a 4lb. roast on high overnight, lightly cooked the green pepper strips in a little oil in a pan, lightly toasted the rolls in the oven before I put the meat on it and added 2 thin slices of Muenster cheese over the beef and green peppers and put the sandwiches back in the oven until the cheese melted. I also put a little bit of horseradish sauce (not plain horseradish) on the rolls before I put everything else on it. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      This recipe really doesn't need another rating, but boy, is it good. And sooooo easy! I'd never had an Italian beef sandwich before, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Well, this pretty much knocked my socks off. I had a smaller roast, so I used just half a jar of the peppers and giardiniera. I still cooked it the full 18 hours, though, and I served it on some homemade French bread rolls. I never got around to putting the bell peppers in, but we didn't miss them at all. Fabulous recipe--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This was a good recipe, sort of like a spicy French Dip taste. I could not find giardiniera, so I am not sure if it made a huge difference. This makes a huge amount and after we had three meals off of this, we still had not finished it (2 adults and 2 teens). We ate it as sandwiches twice and used the meat in burritos the third time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Delicious! I halved the recipe because I had a small roast and I drastically reduced the hot stuff (for kids). It still turned out tasting great. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks Moonbugz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      I have made this several times and my family loves it more every time i make it. My mom is from chicago and loves italian roast beef so im taking it to here for mothers day thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Delicious and easy. I cannot stop picking at the leftovers. Am looking forward to the leftover beef on top of a baked potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      this is the best! i made it for a dinner party for people who eat healthy and run marathons and everyone loved it!!! five stars is not enough for this delicious beef!!!!!!Juicy, tender, wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      this was the first recipe i tried and it was great I missed my time so iI changed the cook temps and it was still great i make it all the time now. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Friggin Incredible! Being from Chicago I can honestly say...this is it!!! A buddy of mine ate 3 full sandwiches and I have never seen him eat anything (while having a few cold ones, which we were). Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      I wish I could make this, but I don't know what a lot of the ingredients are, or where I would even get them, living in Australia!! Sounds wonderful, as all you lucky people who have made it no doubt already know :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      Excellent!!! Best ever roast beef sandwiches!!!Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicago Italian Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (4230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1519.3
     
    Calories from Fat 530
    34%
    Total Fat 58.9 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 340.2 mg
    113%
    Sodium 2052.1 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 119.8 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 121.5 g
    243%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Good Seasonings Italian salad dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites