99 Reviews

Out of this world goodness!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ August 13, 2014

Ok, this has the Wow factor! So awesome. I didn't use the peppers at all, since I don't like them, but it was great without them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriscoBay March 26, 2014

Made for a large crowd including kids several weeks ago - went over really well plus its a 'no fuss' recipe. Didn't cook for the full 18 hours, didn't have any complaints about tough meat and it really fell apart when shredding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI March 19, 2014

Made this for a picky family and they all loved it. Because most of them don't like spicy, I used mild giardiniera and only a few pepperoncini. It's almost as good as the best I've had and only as expensive as 2 or 3 sandwiches purchased in the restaurant with plenty of leftovers. The green peppers are a necessity. Now my kids know what I mean when I say I want mine "wet and sweet". We had a blast eating messy and laughing at each others looks of bliss while biting in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmadz March 05, 2014

Great sandwiches! I used sub rolls for mine and also had a rump roast about 2 1/2 lbs. so I used 1 can of consommé although I did use the entire pkg. of Italian dressing mix. I was nervous about the pepperoncini so I only used about a quarter of a jar but it was no problem at all, not too spicy. I subbed some jarred roasted red peppers for the giardianella. Thanks for posting. Made for Cooking Tag mania 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa November 05, 2013

I've never been to Chicago. Not sure if I will ever be. Made this for the Superbowl. The game wasn't good but these sandwiches sure were. Followed the recipe to a "T" Nice blend of flavors. Made the whole house smell wonderful.....almost couldn't wait until halftime. Didn't have to slave over a stove or grill. Actually got to watch the game. I would highly recommend this recipe. I can't wait to try with a nice venison roast. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WokRokr March 02, 2013

I don't own a crock pot (had one in the 70's and used it once). I couldn't find a rump roast ( tried four different stores). I was intrigued by this recipe and HAD to try it. I bought a four pound bottom round ( the largest I could find) and prepared it as written in my cast iron enameled dutch oven. I put it on the cooktop on high until it really got cooking, then turned it down to a nice simmer. Four and a half hours later, the meat shredded perfectly. I told my husband that if I had this out at a restaurant, I would return and order it again. He said that if he had it at a restaurant, he might never leave!! When this was cooking, the aroma was other wordly. The taste is even better. I've tried a lot of recipes from this site, and this one is the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 October 09, 2011

Very good. I used a "Rump" and it fell apart after hours in the crockpot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater February 18, 2011

I followed the recipe exactly...cooking time and ingredients. I thought it was good but it wasn't worth the time or expense. There are others ways I'd rather prepare that meat. It tasted like meat in broth. I guess from the rave reviews I was expecting more. I need more spices and flavor. Glad we tried it...the guys will finish it off with no problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk February 13, 2011
Chicago Italian Beef