Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicago Italian Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicago Italian Beef

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2013

      Great sandwiches! I used sub rolls for mine and also had a rump roast about 2 1/2 lbs. so I used 1 can of consommé although I did use the entire pkg. of Italian dressing mix. I was nervous about the pepperoncini so I only used about a quarter of a jar but it was no problem at all, not too spicy. I subbed some jarred roasted red peppers for the giardianella. Thanks for posting. Made for Cooking Tag mania 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      I've never been to Chicago. Not sure if I will ever be. Made this for the Superbowl. The game wasn't good but these sandwiches sure were. Followed the recipe to a "T" Nice blend of flavors. Made the whole house smell wonderful.....almost couldn't wait until halftime. Didn't have to slave over a stove or grill. Actually got to watch the game. I would highly recommend this recipe. I can't wait to try with a nice venison roast. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      I don't own a crock pot (had one in the 70's and used it once). I couldn't find a rump roast ( tried four different stores). I was intrigued by this recipe and HAD to try it. I bought a four pound bottom round ( the largest I could find) and prepared it as written in my cast iron enameled dutch oven. I put it on the cooktop on high until it really got cooking, then turned it down to a nice simmer. Four and a half hours later, the meat shredded perfectly. I told my husband that if I had this out at a restaurant, I would return and order it again. He said that if he had it at a restaurant, he might never leave!! When this was cooking, the aroma was other wordly. The taste is even better. I've tried a lot of recipes from this site, and this one is the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      Very good. I used a "Rump" and it fell apart after hours in the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly...cooking time and ingredients. I thought it was good but it wasn't worth the time or expense. There are others ways I'd rather prepare that meat. It tasted like meat in broth. I guess from the rave reviews I was expecting more. I need more spices and flavor. Glad we tried it...the guys will finish it off with no problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

    • on April 18, 2010

    • on April 04, 2010

      I grew up on Carm's beef starting with the original on Cicero Ave. behind the huge Magiskist sign and then following them to Oak Park. Thanks for this recipe...it truly tastes like the beefs I remember and loved. The first time I tried it I used an eye of the round...BIG mistake as it was an absolutely lousy piece of beef, very tough and almost impossible to shred. Won't make that mistake again. The rump roast is the best to use, but have tried a sirloin roast that wasn't too bad also. I've been making this recipe to bring in to work for my lunch group at least once a month and they all love it! Thanks for bringing me back to my youth and early adulthood. Portillo's is close but still not quite the same though I like their beef better than Al's or Mr. Beef's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      While this is a good recipe, I will probably not make it again. Just personal preference. I give it a 3 on my scale, which means I ate it, it was OK, but not what I'm looking for. No offense to any others out there. I used an eye of round and sliced it paper thin after cooking instead of shredding. I have never had a Chicago beef sandwich. Never been to Chicago, but was seduced into trying this recipe after watching a Food Wars show pitting Chicago rivals Al's and Mr. Beef's sandwich shops. I just had to try! Thank you for a good recipe that gave me a taste of what it is all about. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Tastes just like the sandwich I had in Chicago. Takes awhile, but easy to make and well worth the wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      My family was salivating for 18 hrs of cooking time, it was well worth the wait. The recipe is perfection as written w/ out changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Delicioso!! I was a little nervous about all the giardiniera and pepperoncini, so I only used the 1/2 jar of giardiniera, and I was surprised how mild the flavor was. Also used miscellaneous herbs instead of the salad dressing mix (fresh cilantro, basil and oregano, minced garlic, a whole Vidalia onion, and salt and pepper. I loved the carmelized onion slices with my sandwiches). Hubby loved it, kid ate it. We ate several meals and froze the rest. I've also frozen the meat juices for a future soup base. Tx for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      We enjoyed this sandwich while we were camping this weekend. I left it in the crockpot all day and it smelled so good. We added a slice of Muenster cheese on top of the meat in the bread (we used Italian sub rolls) and we halved the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      phenomenal! i wish i could eat it on a whole wheat sour dough roll but i have to make due with serving it on a broiled portabella due to gluten issues. this is a new staple food in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      We thought this was really good. Even better the next day. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I've never had the real thing, but this recipe was great! I didn't have pepperoncini, so I just used a whole jar of banana peppers (with juice). I also added seasoned salt, garlic powder, and pepper. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Just tried it. I probably put in a little too much pepperoncini and giardiniera and used the wrong type of bread. It tasted pretty good, but I just came back from a trip from chicago (I grew up there) and this recipe is nothing like the real thing. This tastes more like spicy pepper pot roast to me. I cooked a 4.5 roast 14 hours but the meat tasted dry even with they juices. When I taste the real thing, the meat is actually juicy. Maybe I should have cooled the roast so I could slice it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

    • on April 28, 2009

      This makes an excellent sandwich. We devoured them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Man this stuff was goot! We had in sub rolls and what a feast we had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicago Italian Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (4230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1519.3
     
    Calories from Fat 530
    34%
    Total Fat 58.9 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 340.2 mg
    113%
    Sodium 2052.1 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 119.8 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 121.5 g
    243%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Good Seasonings Italian salad dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes