Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicago Italian Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicago Italian Beef

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2010

      This was our first recipe we tried and we are glad we picked this one. We absolutely loved this! We used Bell Peppers instead of the sweet peppers and didn't cook them. They still tasted great! We've been telling people about this recipe and now we have to give them a copy. We used about a pound more of rump roast because we couldn't find anything smaller. We bought a large loaf of bread and toasted it, then spooned on the Italian beef (with the juice) onto the bread and cut it from there. Also, we found that if you only cook it for 12 hours, it still comes out nice and tender. Again, we are very happy that you posted this recipe. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      FANTASTIC!!! I made this for my family and guests this last weekend and it was a hit. I loved the giardiniera and peppers. I also served with cheese for those that wanted it. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Great recipe! I did make a few modifications - I could only find .7oz packets of the italian seasoning mix so I used 1 of the regular and 1 zesty italian, and I added an extra 10oz of broth, as my family likes extra sauce for dipping :) I also added about 1/2 of a thinly sliced yellow onion in with the green peppers and used provalone cheese. With that being said - 18 hours seemed a little excessive to me, my meat was ready to be shredded after about 5 and it still tasted amazing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Ridiculous!!!! This is so awesome!!! Made adjustments according to how I like it..including double broth/seasoning for crockpot cooking, then even made side batch of broth/seasoning on stove top JUST for dipping my Italian Beef Sandwich in (Chicago style). Also, threw on a slice of provalone and some shredded mozza before dipping whole sandwich in!! Wowzie!!! Go for it! Peppers, everything else, perfect. Works especially well if you live in Chicago and can buy the ingrediants from the source. All the workers at the store figured out what I was making by my ingredients alone and I bet they headed to Portillos tonight for dinner! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This is amazing! Just like the sandwiches I've had in Chicago. I served them at our super bowl party and everyone loved them. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. Thanks so much for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I would give this 10 stars if I could! We used a 2 lb rump roast, trimmed the fat as much as possible, Good Seasons Italian Salad Dressing Mix TSR Version Good Seasons ItalianSalad Dressing Mixby Todd Wilbur, 3/4 of a jar of pepperoncini, and since I couldn't find the giardiniera in the store, I made my own after scouring the net for a recipe Hot Italian Giardiniera Hot Italian Giardiniera. The roast was done in about 7 hours, and smelled fabulous. Since DH loves crusty bread, I toasted it in the oven first before we made sandwiches, and just used some of the peppers from the crock pot to top the sandwiches. HEAVEN! I was worried about the spiciness, and it had a lot of heat that day, but the next day the leftovers were much more mellow. If you can wait and let it sit overnight after cooking, the reheat, the flavor is phenomenal. I can't wait to have some for lunch, my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Definitely a keeper! I used a different cut of beef (I think it was a chuck roast?) and halfway through I thought uh-oh, this isn't working. But by the end of cooking, it had fallen apart and was fabulous. I have kids and went light on the pepperocinis and giardiniera but should have dumped it all in because it sweetened as it cooked. I didn't have green peppers and it was great without, though next time I'll put them in if I have them. The kids all ate it first time and said it was good, which is high praise indeed. My husband said to move it right over to my recipe book - I'll be making this again! BTW I used Good Seasons Italian Salad Dressing Mix TSR Version Good Seasons ItalianSalad Dressing Mixby Todd Wilbur since I didn't have any of the packaged kind on hand and it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I have never had Chicago Beef, so I cannot vouch for it being identical. However, I can say it is very delicious and we really loved it. Perfect tangy flavor. I don't usually like giardiniera, but I trusted the recipe and added it, and it did add a very delicious flavor. I also liked that rump roast isn't that greasy, so the au just was really good without that slick of fat on the top. Will definitely make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Moonbugz, this recipe is GOLDEN!!! I have tried about 5 different Italian Beef recipes from this site and AllRecipes trying desperately to make a beef like those I grew up on in Chicago. While many of them were decent, they weren't excellent and they certainly weren't authentic. I grew up near Carm's and while it wasn't my favorite place to get beef's, it was a definite contender. I followed your recipe pretty closely. I used two 2.5 pound roasts, used 2 packages of Italian Seasoning, used 1/2 of a large jar of spicy pepperoncini and used half of a large jar of HOT giardiniera. I omitted the green peppers because I didn't have them and also because my favorite beef's never included green peppers (unless you added them to the side) and HOLY COW were these off the charts EXCELLENT! My husband is from New York and doesn't know what an Italian Beef is and he's never thought much of all my previous attempts at making it. He couldn't stay out of my crockpot before dinner was even done! That is a HUGE compliment! Also, using two smaller cuts of beef caused the cooking time to decrease quite a bit. Mine was falling apart by the 13 hour mark. I'm salivating just thinking about the leftovers today and the gravy bread the day after that! TO DIE FOR! This is my official favorite Zaar recipe of all time - brings me home! Thank you Moonbugz! OUTSTANDING!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Having been a life long Chicagoan until moving down to Dallas a few years back, I definitely miss being able to get to a good Beef sandwich. This may not be the best beef you ever had, but it is definitely better than most of what you would get back in Chicago. I followed the recipe to the T except for using 2 2-1/2 lb. roasts as opposed to one 5 pounder. The difference is that it cooks faster and started falling apart by hour #14. The only problem is trying to find a good roll (french rolls do not stand up). Great for parties and the prep is rediculously easy. Highly recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Oh, yum! I cooked 2 roasts, which together weighed a little over 5 lbs. Since we like highly-seasoned food, I added the full jar of both the pepperoncinis and the giardiniera. (The recipe doesn't specify, but the ones I used were 16 oz. each.) I also took another reviewer's advice and used 2 packets of the seasoning mix. I went to turn them at the 6-hour mark and discovered I'd accidentally set the dial on 'high'. The meat was totally done and falling-apart tender. The au jus is fiery hot and wonderfully flavorful. Can't wait for supper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      Went through all the Italian Beef recipes and chose this one since I'm originally from south of Chicago and wanted the taste I had grown up with. I actually got an "I love you" from Dh (who's never had an Italian Beef) for this one. It's that good. I would go to the max w/ the 'heat' next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      We cook a batched for the Super Bowl and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. The taste reminded us of a "Ropa Joe" from the restraunt, Bahama Breeze. We will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      I loved this. I did double the amount of the Good Seasons packets however.That seemed to give the BOOT I was looking for.Thank You Moonbugz and Recipezaar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2014

      You do NOT have to cook your roast for 18 hours. I did that the first time and it disintegrated into meat mush. Even 8 hours is more than long enough because I can normally cook a pot roast in 4 hours in a slow cooker. I flipped the roast in the cooker at 2 hours, then tested it again at 4 hours an it was fork tender at that point. I gave it 1 more hour, (5 total) and it was falling apart tender. There is no reason to go past that point in cooking time. I adjusted the recipe with additional 4 garlic cloves, and 1 medium sliced onion and that made an improvement in the flavor of the broth. I steamed sliced red and green bell peppers on top of the roast for the last half hour, and took them out to serve on the platter along side the meat. I found that setting a colander over a bowl worked pretty well to strain the juices separately from the meat, and then I served that on the side so that everyone can adjust how wet they made their sandwiches, or just dipped their bread into the juices like they do in Chicago restaurants. A little tweaking helped this recipe, and make it a lot quicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      Melt in your mouth goodness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2014

      Out of this world goodness!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Ok, this has the Wow factor! So awesome. I didn't use the peppers at all, since I don't like them, but it was great without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      Made for a large crowd including kids several weeks ago - went over really well plus its a 'no fuss' recipe. Didn't cook for the full 18 hours, didn't have any complaints about tough meat and it really fell apart when shredding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Made this for a picky family and they all loved it. Because most of them don't like spicy, I used mild giardiniera and only a few pepperoncini. It's almost as good as the best I've had and only as expensive as 2 or 3 sandwiches purchased in the restaurant with plenty of leftovers. The green peppers are a necessity. Now my kids know what I mean when I say I want mine "wet and sweet". We had a blast eating messy and laughing at each others looks of bliss while biting in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicago Italian Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (4230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1519.3
     
    Calories from Fat 530
    34%
    Total Fat 58.9 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 340.2 mg
    113%
    Sodium 2052.1 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 119.8 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 121.5 g
    243%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Good Seasonings Italian salad dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites