97 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was our first recipe we tried and we are glad we picked this one. We absolutely loved this! We used Bell Peppers instead of the sweet peppers and didn't cook them. They still tasted great! We've been telling people about this recipe and now we have to give them a copy. We used about a pound more of rump roast because we couldn't find anything smaller. We bought a large loaf of bread and toasted it, then spooned on the Italian beef (with the juice) onto the bread and cut it from there. Also, we found that if you only cook it for 12 hours, it still comes out nice and tender. Again, we are very happy that you posted this recipe. Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave95 December 19, 2010

FANTASTIC!!! I made this for my family and guests this last weekend and it was a hit. I loved the giardiniera and peppers. I also served with cheese for those that wanted it. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 04, 2010

I would give this 10 stars if I could! We used a 2 lb rump roast, trimmed the fat as much as possible, Good Seasons Italian Salad Dressing Mix TSR Version Good Seasons ItalianSalad Dressing Mixby Todd Wilbur, 3/4 of a jar of pepperoncini, and since I couldn't find the giardiniera in the store, I made my own after scouring the net for a recipe Hot Italian Giardiniera Hot Italian Giardiniera. The roast was done in about 7 hours, and smelled fabulous. Since DH loves crusty bread, I toasted it in the oven first before we made sandwiches, and just used some of the peppers from the crock pot to top the sandwiches. HEAVEN! I was worried about the spiciness, and it had a lot of heat that day, but the next day the leftovers were much more mellow. If you can wait and let it sit overnight after cooking, the reheat, the flavor is phenomenal. I can't wait to have some for lunch, my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht January 25, 2010

Moonbugz, this recipe is GOLDEN!!! I have tried about 5 different Italian Beef recipes from this site and AllRecipes trying desperately to make a beef like those I grew up on in Chicago. While many of them were decent, they weren't excellent and they certainly weren't authentic. I grew up near Carm's and while it wasn't my favorite place to get beef's, it was a definite contender. I followed your recipe pretty closely. I used two 2.5 pound roasts, used 2 packages of Italian Seasoning, used 1/2 of a large jar of spicy pepperoncini and used half of a large jar of HOT giardiniera. I omitted the green peppers because I didn't have them and also because my favorite beef's never included green peppers (unless you added them to the side) and HOLY COW were these off the charts EXCELLENT! My husband is from New York and doesn't know what an Italian Beef is and he's never thought much of all my previous attempts at making it. He couldn't stay out of my crockpot before dinner was even done! That is a HUGE compliment! Also, using two smaller cuts of beef caused the cooking time to decrease quite a bit. Mine was falling apart by the 13 hour mark. I'm salivating just thinking about the leftovers today and the gravy bread the day after that! TO DIE FOR! This is my official favorite Zaar recipe of all time - brings me home! Thank you Moonbugz! OUTSTANDING!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl September 11, 2008

Great recipe! I did make a few modifications - I could only find .7oz packets of the italian seasoning mix so I used 1 of the regular and 1 zesty italian, and I added an extra 10oz of broth, as my family likes extra sauce for dipping :) I also added about 1/2 of a thinly sliced yellow onion in with the green peppers and used provalone cheese. With that being said - 18 hours seemed a little excessive to me, my meat was ready to be shredded after about 5 and it still tasted amazing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katorugger October 23, 2011

Ridiculous!!!! This is so awesome!!! Made adjustments according to how I like it..including double broth/seasoning for crockpot cooking, then even made side batch of broth/seasoning on stove top JUST for dipping my Italian Beef Sandwich in (Chicago style). Also, threw on a slice of provalone and some shredded mozza before dipping whole sandwich in!! Wowzie!!! Go for it! Peppers, everything else, perfect. Works especially well if you live in Chicago and can buy the ingrediants from the source. All the workers at the store figured out what I was making by my ingredients alone and I bet they headed to Portillos tonight for dinner! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Cameron July 07, 2010

This is amazing! Just like the sandwiches I've had in Chicago. I served them at our super bowl party and everyone loved them. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. Thanks so much for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Emstar February 08, 2010

Definitely a keeper! I used a different cut of beef (I think it was a chuck roast?) and halfway through I thought uh-oh, this isn't working. But by the end of cooking, it had fallen apart and was fabulous. I have kids and went light on the pepperocinis and giardiniera but should have dumped it all in because it sweetened as it cooked. I didn't have green peppers and it was great without, though next time I'll put them in if I have them. The kids all ate it first time and said it was good, which is high praise indeed. My husband said to move it right over to my recipe book - I'll be making this again! BTW I used Good Seasons Italian Salad Dressing Mix TSR Version Good Seasons ItalianSalad Dressing Mixby Todd Wilbur since I didn't have any of the packaged kind on hand and it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PBF January 18, 2010

I have never had Chicago Beef, so I cannot vouch for it being identical. However, I can say it is very delicious and we really loved it. Perfect tangy flavor. I don't usually like giardiniera, but I trusted the recipe and added it, and it did add a very delicious flavor. I also liked that rump roast isn't that greasy, so the au just was really good without that slick of fat on the top. Will definitely make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP January 18, 2010

Having been a life long Chicagoan until moving down to Dallas a few years back, I definitely miss being able to get to a good Beef sandwich. This may not be the best beef you ever had, but it is definitely better than most of what you would get back in Chicago. I followed the recipe to the T except for using 2 2-1/2 lb. roasts as opposed to one 5 pounder. The difference is that it cooks faster and started falling apart by hour #14. The only problem is trying to find a good roll (french rolls do not stand up). Great for parties and the prep is rediculously easy. Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cripnkim August 10, 2008
Chicago Italian Beef