10 Reviews

Wonderful! Easy to make and tasty! I used chicken broth with herbs and used Parmesan-Romano cheese. I also added Rosemary. Served with grilled steak last night. I also threw in some cooked frozen green peas and carrots.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kikimony February 22, 2003

I would never have thought of this combination - it was delicious! Other than scaling the recipe in half, I made no changes and served it with fish & broccoli. Thanx Chia!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady January 16, 2004

I thought this was great and my picky husband didnt complain so five stars! I omitted the onion (picky husband), used a can of Campbell's chicken broth and added water and bouillon granules to make 2 1/3c (I halved the recipe for just the two of us) and used a generous pinch of Herbs de Provance and a tsp of fresh chopped parsley. The only complaint I would have is the directions say to saute the onion and then rice/orzo over high heat. This will burn your butter and orzo. I prefer to use medium heat, it takes a bit longer, but you will not burn the pasta and all pieces get evenly browned. I also omitted the cheese though it would probably be yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy L. May 14, 2009

This was delicious! It went very well with steak. My new favorite way of making rice!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catlady13 February 09, 2009

This was a big hit at my house....I used Jasmine rice as that is all I had and it turned out perfect...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc June 03, 2008

This was quick, easy and tasty. I used Jasmine rice instead of the Basmati, since I have tons of the Jasmine that I needed to start using. I did not use the Parmesan cheese, but I think a tiny little pat of butter on each serving would be nice. This was served with Chicken Lazone #65768.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. September 03, 2007

This recipe is terrific: quick, easy, and delicious! Each time I've made it, it's just disappeared! It works well as the main attraction in a vegetarian menu (made with vegetable broth), and it's lovely as a side dish with fish or chicken. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotElizabeth November 21, 2005

This turned out perfect and was just what I was looking for to serve with beef kabobs. It looked and tasted very good. I especially liked the combination of rice and orzo. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas September 10, 2005

I've been trying a lot of recipes that use orzo because I ended up with a lot of it and this one was wonderful! I did add green onions and wow. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` April 27, 2005

This is very good. The only thing I did differently was to saute some garlic with the onions. Oh, and I added a 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric for a more golden color. Reminds me of rice-a-roni that I used to eat a child. Thanks for a quick, easy, and different side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheekyBear November 21, 2004
chia's rice & orzo