Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / chia's rice & orzo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    chia's rice & orzo

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2003

      Wonderful! Easy to make and tasty! I used chicken broth with herbs and used Parmesan-Romano cheese. I also added Rosemary. Served with grilled steak last night. I also threw in some cooked frozen green peas and carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      I would never have thought of this combination - it was delicious! Other than scaling the recipe in half, I made no changes and served it with fish & broccoli. Thanx Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      I thought this was great and my picky husband didnt complain so five stars! I omitted the onion (picky husband), used a can of Campbell's chicken broth and added water and bouillon granules to make 2 1/3c (I halved the recipe for just the two of us) and used a generous pinch of Herbs de Provance and a tsp of fresh chopped parsley. The only complaint I would have is the directions say to saute the onion and then rice/orzo over high heat. This will burn your butter and orzo. I prefer to use medium heat, it takes a bit longer, but you will not burn the pasta and all pieces get evenly browned. I also omitted the cheese though it would probably be yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This was delicious! It went very well with steak. My new favorite way of making rice!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      This was a big hit at my house....I used Jasmine rice as that is all I had and it turned out perfect...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This was quick, easy and tasty. I used Jasmine rice instead of the Basmati, since I have tons of the Jasmine that I needed to start using. I did not use the Parmesan cheese, but I think a tiny little pat of butter on each serving would be nice. This was served with Chicken Lazone #65768.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This recipe is terrific: quick, easy, and delicious! Each time I've made it, it's just disappeared! It works well as the main attraction in a vegetarian menu (made with vegetable broth), and it's lovely as a side dish with fish or chicken. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      This turned out perfect and was just what I was looking for to serve with beef kabobs. It looked and tasted very good. I especially liked the combination of rice and orzo. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      I've been trying a lot of recipes that use orzo because I ended up with a lot of it and this one was wonderful! I did add green onions and wow. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      This is very good. The only thing I did differently was to saute some garlic with the onions. Oh, and I added a 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric for a more golden color. Reminds me of rice-a-roni that I used to eat a child. Thanks for a quick, easy, and different side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for chia's rice & orzo

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 301.8
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    24%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 476.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites