9 Reviews

This is Olive Garden's recipe <br/>http://www.olivegarden.com/Recipes/Main-Dishes/Chianti-Braised-Short-Ribs/ <br/><br/>Identical

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cptsmast June 09, 2013

I have made this twice now and it was good but a little bit too acidic for me. Between the wine and tomatoes it was a bit much. I might make it again without the tomatoes or reduce the amount by half. Other than that I love the fact that this recipe is made on the stove top, since I currently only have a toaster oven in use. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp November 09, 2012

Outstanding! Sauce was great over mashed potatoes. Leftovers were even better.Now I try to make this a day or 2 in advance because it's soooo much better after flavors have melded.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslie.deering September 30, 2011

I have been meaning to write a review on this recipe for some time. All I can say is "Mmm, Mmm, Good!!!! Comfort food at its best! Thanks for posting....Alan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan in SW Florida December 22, 2010

All I can say is WOW. I followed the recipe as is. I only wish I had made a larger batch. I will be making this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HalCove September 12, 2010

This was an excellant recipe. My DH loved it. I made it just as written with the exception of adding more garlic. Absolutely perfert meal for a cool night. I paired it with mushroom risotto made with marsala wine. Great meal!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nonie39 April 18, 2010

I gleaned this same recipe off of the Olive Garden website. It is not the same as what I order at the restaurant, but it is good. I believe there is too much tomato. I watched the video how-to from OG and the chef called this part of the recipe 'tomato sauce', rather than 'crushed tomato'. That might be the difference. I will probably reduce the amount of this ingredient by half next time and use sauce instead of the crushed, but I still don't think this will be exactly as they have it at OG. There's an additional ingredient that's missing, or they replaced it with the tomatoes. In fact, I may nix the tomatoes all together, just to see what that gives me. Nevertheless, it is still a good recipe, but I gave it only 4 of 5 stars simply because I was expecting what I order at OG. As an aside, I served this with OG's Roasted Potatoes w/Red Onions (seasoned with lots of garlic and rosemary). Yummy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reinbeauchaser May 23, 2009

This recipe comes from the Olive Garden and it's darn near exactly how it tastes at the restaurant! I think the only difference is they "browned" theirs a bit more than I did or at a higher heat. DELICIOUS!!! Too bad they didn't give the risotto recipe but I winged it with some marsala wine and beef broth and I think it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
da_knees November 08, 2008

I made these as posted right down to the portabello mushroom risotto and crusty bread. I also had baked asparagus with balsamic brown butter and it was a fabulous meal! I loved the sauce! My husband who is a bbq fanatic said he would give this 4 stars, but any Olive Garden recipe wins this Italian girl over! Thanks for posting Meredith (Love your name -- it was 2 seconds away from being my second child's name!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 12, 2007
Chianti Braised Short Ribs