Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chi Chi's Seafood Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chi Chi's Seafood Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2010

      This is the real deal...We remember many nights at Chi Chi's on Mineral Point road in Madison...and the CanCun enchilada was my fav. Thanks KingJackQueen for posting this wonderful recipe! After reading many of the revues Some of the reviewers had problems with this recipe.. Several things that are important to have this turn out right. 1. Make sure you're using unsalted butter...the lobster base is salty and using the unsalted butter is important. 2. Cook the ruox stirring constantly until it begins to turn light brown and you can really smell that nutty aroma. 3. Make sure you do use the lobster base...both Whole Foods and Woodmans Groceries carry it 4. And lastly be sure to use sherry rather than white wine because you can taste the sherry in the final sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      This was perfect! My Mom & I used to be the Cancun's biggest fans - that's what we ordered every single time we dined at Chi Chi's. For her Christmas gift this year, I made a pan of these for her. They were so delicious and just how we both remembered them. Thanks to another savvy reviewer, I made the shrimp broth from a ramen packet and substituted it for the lobster base (22cents at Walmart instead of buying a jar of lobster boullion). I also used one pkg of imitation crab and one pack of lobster flavored imitation crab.

      We really truly were in heaven eating that wonderful meal. My Mom said it was her favorite gift! I've been buying "sweet corn cake" mix by Chi Chi's brand at SuperTarget for a while now. Make a batch of that to go along and you can't go wrong! Thanks so much for posting this recipe KingJackQueen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      This was an excellent copy of the dinners I remembered at ChiChi's... I would like to clarify one ingredient, though:

      2 tbs. Lobster STOCK, not Lobster base. The "base" is the concentrate that's used to prepare the stock, and if you used 2 tbs of the base, you would seriously overpower the entire recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I used to work at Chi-Chi's from 89-91 as a line cook and this recipe is spot on! Brings back memories. Seafood stock or condensed cream of shrimp soup will work well if you can't find lobster base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      This was my favorite meal at Chi Chi's and have been looking for the recipe for years! Can't wait to try it out

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I've made this recipe twice and we loved it. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a little too salty for my taste. The second time, I used about teaspoon less of the lobster base and that helped control the saltiness just enough. Using unsalted butter would probably work, as well.

      Note: I couldn't find the lobster base, so I ordered Better Than Boullion lobster base online, which was much less expensive than others I had seen and worked perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Have made this several times, and it's truly the authentic recipe! While I do have to order the Lobster Base from an online site, it is really worth it! Thank you so much for posting this, my favorite of ChiChi's dishes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I made this recipe with unsalted butter and followed the recipe exactly otherwise (a difficult thing for me to do). It was excellent and flavorful with the full amount of lobster base, just like my favorite meal at Chi Chi's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      This was my FAVORITE dinner at Chi-Chi's and I've missed it since they closed. I made it and it is fantastic!!! Thank you so much for posting it. The Lobster Base makes the recipe!! I buy it online.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      Just a great dish, enjoyed by everyone in my family. Never ate a Chi Chi's but if this is an example of their menu I'm surprised they are not in business today. Made exactly as stated (this is the only fair way to review someone's recipe!) Next time may reduce the flour to 1/3 Cup.
      Served with a Sweet Soft Mexican Corn Bread and an avacado dish...thanks for posting this super recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      We loved these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This is it! I also agree, don't omit the lobster base. I only used 3 tablespoons of butter to help cut back on the fat content. It's texture and taste was still delicious! I found the lobster base at my local specialty Italian Market.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2014

      I found this recipe delightfully SPOT ON!. I did have to sub the lobster base with seafood stock from the local supermarket but found it to work out perfectly. The fried ice cream dessert was excellent, too! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      To start with, a roux should have equal amounts of butter and flour by weight not volume so you should have more flour than butter. This recipe calls for too much butter. Also, with 2 tablespoons of a base, you are putting a lot of salt in this recipe. Instead of 3 1/2 c. milk, you should use 1 1/2 c. seafood stock and 2 c. milk and omit the powdery salty base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      OMG! I was looking for a seafood enchilada recipe and came across this one and hit the jackpot! I made it exactly as written and it was awesome. I used the cooking sherry and will use it instead of the white wine since I don't want to mess with perfection :-). I served it with shredded lettuce, sour cream, black olives, and sweet corn cake. Now I need a nap. Thank you for this fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2014

      These aren't bad - I followed the recipe exactly, although I went a tad light on the lobster base because I don't like salt, and a tad light on the sherry. Also used unsalted butter. The flavor was good. The thing I didn't like is that the sauce is thickened with flour, and that just creates a consistency that isn't my favorite, especially with leftovers the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      These sound delicious. I am gonna use More Than Gourmet Classic Seafood Stock, 1.5 Ounce instead of the Lobster base due to the salt issues. I will cut back on the liquids to compensate. I will let you all know. Also, have anyone ever tried corn tortillas instead of flour? In AZ our enchiladas are typically made with corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      I followed this recipe word for word, except I used cooked small shrimp as opposed to canned baby shrimp. This tasted nothing like the Chi-Chi's I remember. The sauce, aside from the overpowering sherry taste, was flavorless. I sprung for the lobster base, and tried making the broth as suggested and added two tbl of that, which did nothing. Then I said screw it and added two tbl of the lobster base, which still did nothing for the overall flavor of the sauce. I suffered through one enchilada and threw it and the rest of the sauce and seafood away. There was absolutely nothing good about this recipe. I don?t know if Chi-Chi?s has been gone too long for people to remember what the Cancun enchiladas tasted like, but I can assure you they tasted nothing like this. Two thumbs down on this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      We didn't care for these at all. I was so excited and looking forward to making these. I used fresh shrimp.. fresh bay scallops and fake crab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      I've never had the original before, but gave it a shot last night. It was good, but have some comments. I made it exactly as the recipe states. When I added the 2 TBS of lobster base the butter/flour mixture instantly turned into a play-dough consistency. Not sure if that is normal. In the end I found it to be extremely salty with a fairly strong taste of cooking sherry. I did use unsalted butter. I did see one post that 2 TBS of lobster base is incorrect and that you should use lobster stock. Maybe 1 TBS of lobster base?? Did seem like there was way too much sauce. I had 6 enchiladas in a baking dish and still had a lot of sauce left over, and personally thought there was too much sauce on the finished dish. Think I might also make these on plates, as they fell apart when removed from the baking dish. The wife liked them, but just seemed way too salty and too strong of a sherry taste. Any advice appreciated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chi Chi's Seafood Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 847.1
     
    Calories from Fat 353
    41%
    Total Fat 39.2 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 21.8 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 159.1 mg
    53%
    Sodium 1973.3 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.5 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 37.9 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lobster base

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites