82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the real deal...We remember many nights at Chi Chi's on Mineral Point road in Madison...and the CanCun enchilada was my fav. Thanks KingJackQueen for posting this wonderful recipe! After reading many of the revues Some of the reviewers had problems with this recipe.. Several things that are important to have this turn out right. 1. Make sure you're using unsalted butter...the lobster base is salty and using the unsalted butter is important. 2. Cook the ruox stirring constantly until it begins to turn light brown and you can really smell that nutty aroma. 3. Make sure you do use the lobster base...both Whole Foods and Woodmans Groceries carry it 4. And lastly be sure to use sherry rather than white wine because you can taste the sherry in the final sauce.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tommy53562 May 16, 2010

This was an excellent copy of the dinners I remembered at ChiChi's... I would like to clarify one ingredient, though:

2 tbs. Lobster STOCK, not Lobster base. The "base" is the concentrate that's used to prepare the stock, and if you used 2 tbs of the base, you would seriously overpower the entire recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purple-hayes January 12, 2011

This was perfect! My Mom & I used to be the Cancun's biggest fans - that's what we ordered every single time we dined at Chi Chi's. For her Christmas gift this year, I made a pan of these for her. They were so delicious and just how we both remembered them. Thanks to another savvy reviewer, I made the shrimp broth from a ramen packet and substituted it for the lobster base (22cents at Walmart instead of buying a jar of lobster boullion). I also used one pkg of imitation crab and one pack of lobster flavored imitation crab.

We really truly were in heaven eating that wonderful meal. My Mom said it was her favorite gift! I've been buying "sweet corn cake" mix by Chi Chi's brand at SuperTarget for a while now. Make a batch of that to go along and you can't go wrong! Thanks so much for posting this recipe KingJackQueen!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Improvmom December 30, 2011

I used to work at Chi-Chi's from 89-91 as a line cook and this recipe is spot on! Brings back memories. Seafood stock or condensed cream of shrimp soup will work well if you can't find lobster base.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jobrow68 March 14, 2010

This was my favorite meal at Chi Chi's and have been looking for the recipe for years! Can't wait to try it out

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdjacob December 28, 2011

I've made this recipe twice and we loved it. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a little too salty for my taste. The second time, I used about teaspoon less of the lobster base and that helped control the saltiness just enough. Using unsalted butter would probably work, as well.

Note: I couldn't find the lobster base, so I ordered Better Than Boullion lobster base online, which was much less expensive than others I had seen and worked perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srhodes87 October 10, 2011

Have made this several times, and it's truly the authentic recipe! While I do have to order the Lobster Base from an online site, it is really worth it! Thank you so much for posting this, my favorite of ChiChi's dishes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1022477 June 29, 2011

I made this recipe with unsalted butter and followed the recipe exactly otherwise (a difficult thing for me to do). It was excellent and flavorful with the full amount of lobster base, just like my favorite meal at Chi Chi's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dstathus February 06, 2011

This was my FAVORITE dinner at Chi-Chi's and I've missed it since they closed. I made it and it is fantastic!!! Thank you so much for posting it. The Lobster Base makes the recipe!! I buy it online.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eilenek December 21, 2010

Just a great dish, enjoyed by everyone in my family. Never ate a Chi Chi's but if this is an example of their menu I'm surprised they are not in business today. Made exactly as stated (this is the only fair way to review someone's recipe!) Next time may reduce the flour to 1/3 Cup.
Served with a Sweet Soft Mexican Corn Bread and an avacado dish...thanks for posting this super recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkduffy1200 September 04, 2010
Chi Chi's Seafood Enchiladas