29 Reviews

I worked at Chi-Chi's for 16 years. Crab was the imitation sticks that you see in the store. White sauce came in a dry packet that we added lobster base to along with cooking sherrie and water. Mixed the sauce with the crab and monterey jack prior to rolling enchiladas. Covered with sauce and a sprinkling of more jack cheese. When they came out of the oven we would top with paprika. Hope this helps. KJQ

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KingJackQueen October 23, 2004

I been making a recipe that I invented similar to this for years,missing chi-chis cancun,when they closed.But, I saute the onion in butter,then add shrimp and crab.I also, use cream of shrimp soup instead of chicken.But, I add 2/3 cup of sour cream,1tsp of sugar,and a splash of milk.When the soup mixture is mixed,then add alittle to the shrimp/crab mixture,and the rest to pour over top.Also,use Muenster cheese more gooyee!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauarlie13 March 23, 2011

I almost gave this recipe 5 stars, but because of one change that I made that I think improved the taste, I had to down grade to 4 stars. If you can find cream of shrimp soup, it makes a much better dish. I actually had to order mine off of Amazon.com because my grocery store stopped carrying it. I love it in other dishes too so it was no problem buying 6 cans. Anyway this is very quick and easy with good results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie January 19, 2011

In a word: bland. It probably would have been better with cream of shrimp or lobster soup. Maybe some Old Bay seasoning? I'm sorry, Lali, but I just didn't care for this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii June 14, 2010

Very nice. Used lobster soup and sauted the onion first, as suggested by reviewer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare September 22, 2009

It was alright but the insides of the enchiladas were not quiete creamy enough, next time I might suggest using some cream cheese or something in the filling or maybe just use 2 can of cream of chicken soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcv2283 August 12, 2008

Wonderfully delicious! Would love to see this chef's other menus including beef and/or chicken enchiladas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarikaKisSzentem April 30, 2008

I thought that the flavor was good but very mushy. I would definitely find a way to bake it rather than use the microwave

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bardelre March 29, 2008

Wow....very rich and decadent. We loved this. DS has already requested this as the meal to make when he comes home from college. It was so simple to prepare and tasted so much for complicated then it was. i've never had chi chi's but it doesn't matter cuz to us this was great.....thank you, Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 15, 2007

We didn't care for this at all. I don't think there is anything wrong with the recipe, it's just a matter of taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BNLNikki April 13, 2007
Chi Chi's Seafood Enchilada - Copycat