Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chi Chi's Seafood Enchilada - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chi Chi's Seafood Enchilada - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2004

      I worked at Chi-Chi's for 16 years. Crab was the imitation sticks that you see in the store. White sauce came in a dry packet that we added lobster base to along with cooking sherrie and water. Mixed the sauce with the crab and monterey jack prior to rolling enchiladas. Covered with sauce and a sprinkling of more jack cheese. When they came out of the oven we would top with paprika. Hope this helps. KJQ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      I been making a recipe that I invented similar to this for years,missing chi-chis cancun,when they closed.But, I saute the onion in butter,then add shrimp and crab.I also, use cream of shrimp soup instead of chicken.But, I add 2/3 cup of sour cream,1tsp of sugar,and a splash of milk.When the soup mixture is mixed,then add alittle to the shrimp/crab mixture,and the rest to pour over top.Also,use Muenster cheese more gooyee!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I almost gave this recipe 5 stars, but because of one change that I made that I think improved the taste, I had to down grade to 4 stars. If you can find cream of shrimp soup, it makes a much better dish. I actually had to order mine off of Amazon.com because my grocery store stopped carrying it. I love it in other dishes too so it was no problem buying 6 cans. Anyway this is very quick and easy with good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      In a word: bland. It probably would have been better with cream of shrimp or lobster soup. Maybe some Old Bay seasoning? I'm sorry, Lali, but I just didn't care for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Very nice. Used lobster soup and sauted the onion first, as suggested by reviewer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      It was alright but the insides of the enchiladas were not quiete creamy enough, next time I might suggest using some cream cheese or something in the filling or maybe just use 2 can of cream of chicken soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Wonderfully delicious! Would love to see this chef's other menus including beef and/or chicken enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I thought that the flavor was good but very mushy. I would definitely find a way to bake it rather than use the microwave

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Wow....very rich and decadent. We loved this. DS has already requested this as the meal to make when he comes home from college. It was so simple to prepare and tasted so much for complicated then it was. i've never had chi chi's but it doesn't matter cuz to us this was great.....thank you, Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      We didn't care for this at all. I don't think there is anything wrong with the recipe, it's just a matter of taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      I LOVE this recipe! I don't know what Chi Chi's seafood enchiladas taste like, but these are great! I made them lower cal/fat by using 98% fat free soup, low-fat cheese, skim milk, and low calorie tortillas. Wouldn't know they are lower cal when eating though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This has enough fat grams in it to qualify for dessert BUT like so many, Cancun was my husband's favorite Chi-Chi's entree. I used Cream of Celery Soup because my store didn't carry Cream of Shrimp and Cream of Chicken just seems "wrong". I also added a can of mild green chilies to the soup mixture and sprinkled it with paprika after cooking. I can't honestly say this was or was not exactly like the original Chi-Chi's dish but DH liked it and I will make it again. This is a great meal for an evening with not much time and I served it with "Spanish Rice" out of the envelope.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Well, I had flashbacks. They tasted so much like the original. The only thing that I would do differently would be to saute the onions in butter before I added them. Even though I am an onion lover and I liked the taste, I don't remember that in the ones I ate at the restaurant. They are very very very rich. My kids only ate a bite or two, but I thought they were delicious. I used Cream of Shrimp and added a dash of dry sherry as the reviewers recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      When I couldn't find cream of shrimp soup, I bought a package of hollandaise sauce mix & used the liquid from a can of baby shrimp as part of the liquid when making the sauce. Added the shrimp to the imitation crab in the filling. So we had more enchiladas than the the original recipe but that was OK. We liked these but they were a little too bland for us. Next time I think we'll add a can of chopped green chilis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

    • on October 15, 2005

      Very good, and a little different. I did use the cream of shrimp soup with a dash of sherry in place of the cream of chicken. I also used seasoned cooked shrimp along with the crab. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      I dont know what Chi-Chi's enchilada's taste like. I didnt care for this recipe. It was ok but I wouldnt make it again. I felt like something was missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      We love chi-chi's and I believe I wasn't disappointed. Now that I am low carbing, I did invert these to a low carb lifestyle, and they still taste great. Thank you for this wonderful copycat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      I look forward to trying this recipe. Also, it seems like the powder used in the restaurants would be similar to an Alfredo based sauce you can buy in stores in packets. Also will use cooking sherry in recipe. Chi-Chi's was my all time favorite restaurant. Still in shock that they are gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2004

      Not a bad tasting recipe, but I can't rate it highly because it tastes absolutely nothing like Chi Chi's Seafood Enchiladas. If you go out and buy all the ingreditents expecting to recreate the original flavor, you will be very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chi Chi's Seafood Enchilada - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.0
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    35%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 29.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 573.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites