Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chi-Chi's Chile Con Queso Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chi-Chi's Chile Con Queso

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2011

      I was a cook for Chi-Chi and made many many 1/2 pans of this in my day...

      The original recipe contains Half and Half as was stated above but it also included Cumin. For your batch, I would say approx. 1 Tbsp. This was was one of the only recipes that did not require a seasoning packet so it was easy to reproduce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      I was craving queso, specifically chi chi's queso, my all time favorite that I haven't had in years...went online and found this one! Loved it! I did add cumin (about 1/2 Tbs) and a splash (appr 1-2 Tbs)of fat free half and half. FYI... for individuals who can't find diced red peppers in a can, in my area of the US (Midwest) they are labeled as diced red pimentos. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      this recipe is very close to chi-chi's. however you need to add half & half to this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      I am a huge Mexican foodie and liked that this was different from my normal white cheese dip. I actually can't remeber what Chi Chi's queso tasted like, but who cares...this one is great. I used fresh red pepper instead of the canned and added milk to make it thinner. Definitely a keeper, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Thanks for posting this , Chi Chi's was My favorite as all my friends and x girlfriends would a test to ,,i ate there 3 or 4 times a month ,,Ive tried several times to do this recipe from what I thought mightve been in it from memory,,and it just never turned out quite right ,,I used your recipe tonight minus the red peppers and the green peppers as my grocery didnt carry them ( in a Crock Pot for 20 minutes) it was as close even still as I can remember w/ the Velveeta, garlic, jalepenos & green chilis ,, Thankyou again for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

    • on January 22, 2010

      This is a great recipe and very very close to what I remember cooking when I was at Chi Chi's. I don't remember cream being in the recipe, but these are the minor tweaks I've done to get it to how I remember it tasting... (It's good on its own, or with slight modifications...) - cook/melt it in a crock pot, ready in about twenty minutes, stir often, keep on low heat or turn off heat when done so it doesn't burn. tastes better when it thickens up, if it's too runny it doesn't stick to chips and is hard to eat - I use fresh red and green peppers and just chop them up although canned is fine - using canned jalepenos and chop them up is fine too - canned chilis are fine, sometimes hard to find, but I've found them in the mexican section in safeway - velveeta works great for this - use less garlic, like 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder instead of 3/4, too much garlic makes it a little too strong Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's awesome for the die hard Chi Chi's fans and ex-employees out there. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Chi-Chi's was our fave place to eat, and we were not happy when they all closed. The Chili Con Queso was something we got everytime. I have found many other recipes that claim to be it, but never claim close. This recipe is just like Chi-Chi's. I did however tweek it a little. I was unable to find canned red peppers, so I used a red bell pepper, and I sauted the green and red peppers together before adding it into the cheese. I also used a little more jalapeno and garlic powder. I also added a bit of onion powder. Then I let everything cook in my crock-pot. However I did add a little milk to make it not so thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I can't remember everything from 20 years ago but I definitely recall that cream was an ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Consider me one of those people who were beyond upset when Chi-Chi's closed its doors for good. They slowly dwindled away until there were none left. Anyhow, among other dishes, I always loved the chili con queso. I've tried other recipe's in the past, using the block of velvetta as a starter. It was never even close to the chili con queso I remembered from Chi-Chi's. Over the weekend, I went out and bought all of the ingredients on the list, and thought I'd give it a try. I must say, this was very good. It tastes very, very much like I remember. It's extremely close, and it even looks identical to chi-chi's queso. By the way, someone mentioned that it gets very thick once it cools. Yep, exactly like chi-chi's queso always did. No need to add milk. Whenever you heat some up, via the microwave, it will be a perfect texture once again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I've never eaten at Chi-Chi's but I love queso so I thought I would try it. I used Velvetta, which I don't particularly care for...and it was great. The flavor was really yummy. The only thing is that it does get really thick when it cools. I added some milk and reheated, per another review and that worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Excellent recipe! Almost as if I were back at the restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I never ate at a Chi-Chi's but thought the ingredients sounded like the cheese sauce I use to get on a cheese enchilada. It was pretty close. The only thing is the Con queso got pretty thick before the meal was over so I had to add a little milk to thin it and reheat. Everyone liked it over their nachos. Thanks KingJackQueen. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I was devastated when they closed my FAVORITE restaurant chain!!!! I was hopeful but skeptical when I found this recipe, but it's the REAL DEAL. Fantastic! I may not be able to get my crunchy tacos anymore but at least I got my CCQ back!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chi-Chi's Chile Con Queso

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.1
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    64%
    Total Fat 28.1 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 72.9 mg
    24%
    Sodium 2197.2 mg
    91%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 23.0 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites