7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a wonderful recipe... Tritip is not a popular cut around here, I usually have to drive about 20 miles roasted find it. Instead I used boneless short rib...perfect. You can cut these in half length-wise and skewer or just leave whole and grill. I am always looking for a tasty and economical alternative to lunch meat for my husband who likes to carry his lunch. I make a batch of this, give him a bag of 5 rolls, 5 pieces of fruit and some greens and he has a tremendous, healthy lunch for about $2.50 a day. This is one tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CampChatsworthCook September 04, 2012

Great beef sticks!!! I made this using top sirloin as I couldn't find tri-tip beef. We also put a skewer of onions on the grill with the beef and loved the combination of the two!! Great combination of flavors going on in this marinade with the kiwi, lemongrass, ginger and oyster sauce!!! I did use the organic tube versions for the lemongrass and the ginger which really made this easy to get together. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Holiday Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 07, 2012

My husband loved this and I thought it was very good. I might like this a little spicier and would use some red pepper next time in lieu of paprika. I was really nice having something from an utterly warm climate in winter's cold here. One of the reasons I brave the cold to grill outside! It warms the heart. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

Delicious! We really loved these and will definitely make again. I had some difficulty finding the kiwi where I live but was finally able to track one down. These would also make a great appetizer. Thanks for the great recipe Marra!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle March 01, 2008

Utterly outstanding! I wish I could give more than 5 stars. They are savory and a tiny bit sweet...and crispy and altogether umami. I certainly will be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT January 06, 2008

This is an outstanding recipe. I made it tonight for the first time and it is an instant classic that I will make many more times. It was so easy to make. It had a complex flavor combination unlike any other dish I have tried. It was incredible. Sweet, citrus, slightly spicy, and flowery all at the same time. I used fresh turmeric because I had it on hand and I let the beef marinade over night instead of 3 hrs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Undamysensi November 07, 2007

This was incredibly rich and deep--EASY! and just what we get in the restaurant! Chez Sovan is local, so I've been there many times! I love Viet/Cambodian food and a few of my students have worked at this restaurant. Her story is amazing too....http://www.bizjournals.com/sanjose/stories/2002/07/15/focus1.html I did marinate longer---more like 8 hours--but so tender and flavorfull. We just ate it with rice, stir fried veggies (using a little of the marinade) and it was a great dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeCooks July 22, 2007
Chez Sovan Cambodian Beef Sticks