13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is fab. I baked it in mini size also and it's texture isn't the same. Do it as written in one pan.Before baking I sprinkle it with xxxsugar and sliced almonds, it looks great.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sinclair August 02, 2003

This tastes just like marzipan so if you like marzipan you'll love this cake. I did find it a bit oily so I would recommend decreasing the amount of margarine to 2 sticks and using parchment paper so that it shouldn't stick to the pan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan March 27, 2008

This cake tasted fabulous. I did, however, have a problem. I used the suggested cake pan and ended up with overflow cake burning on the bottom of my oven. I thought the amount of batter looked too large for the pan, but I trusted the recipe. I'm not sure why I had the problem. I think I could have filled two pans! Anyway--even the bits I saved from the oven floor tasted good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kana August 12, 2005

This is a very good cake, however there appears to be a mistake in the directions which call for baking soda. The ingredientslist does not reference baking soda; but rather baking powder. I did prepare the cake with baking powder and it was delicious. I took into consideration other reviewer's suggestions, by decreasing the amount of butter to 8 ounces. It was still moist and held together nicely without being too dense. I used cake flour, 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (the common substitution); but it would probably be just as good with all purpose flour. Springform pan worked really well. This is a keeper and can be nicely presented with powdered sugar and fresh berries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M Elizabeeth December 04, 2012

As fabulous as it get, as is! Moist, rich, dense almond flavor. I would say you can easily get 16 servings, although you will find yourself wanting at least a second slice. As someone said, if you like the Italian pignoli cookies that are so expensive to make, this takes that one little can of almond paste and multiplies it times 10. You can't go wrong with something that came from Chez Panisse. If you line your pan with a parchment circle which is underlain with cross band strips of parchment (make sure the strips are ling enough to extend over the sides of the pan by a good 2 inches, the cake is a snap to remove, especially if you use a spring form pan and leave the bottom on to support the cake while removing from the pan. I transferred to a cake plate never removing the bottom. Next best thing to visiting France.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
njacacia May 04, 2013

Delicious. I used self rising flour so left out the salt and baking powder. Used an 8 ounce can of almond paste and baked in a 9" springform pan, as that is what the original recipe suggests. The cake came out wonderfully light and moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy June 08, 2010

Had to bake a little longer but other than that this cake was amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree March 07, 2010

This is a fantastic cake! The batter was much stiffer than I expected it to be, and I was surprised how much batter there was. I baked this in a 10-inch springform and cut the baking time by 5 minutes because the cake tester was clean. I then frosted it with a medium ganache flavored with amaretto and it was incredible! I found that measuring the almond paste was not necessary as a 4-ounce can of the stuff came close enough. My only problem was that when I tried to turn it out onto a plate, the entire cake broke in half, but that is something I will be more careful with when I make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks March 11, 2008

I love this cake! It's delicious and moist. It tastes great on its own or with whipped cream and berries. So good the next morning for breakfast! It's important to follow the directions carefully to make sure the cake turns out as it should, but all in all, it isn't very difficult to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sitka Sound December 02, 2007
Chez Panisse Almond Cake