Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheyenne's Fudgy Dutch Cocoa Brownies & Fudge Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheyenne's Fudgy Dutch Cocoa Brownies & Fudge Icing

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2010

      The best brownies I've EVER had. I didn't use the nuts because I didn't have any, and I just used the unsweetened cocoa powder I had in my pantry instead of the Dutch-processed kind. I've never made from-scratch brownies before, and I'll never make another boxed one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Fantabulous! I can't count how many times I have made these. I have made them using margarine instead of all of the butter and they were still great. I also got great results doubling this in a 9x13 pan and using 3/4 cup oil instead of the 1 cup butter the doubling would require for the brownie mixture, though this wouldn't work in the icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      These were FANTASTIC. I will never make another brownie recipe again. I used chocolate chips instead of walnuts and just regular cocoa, as well as margarine instead of butter. I've made a batch 3 days in a row now, they just keep disappearing that fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Made the icing and topped my ownfavorite brownies, it was so good and fudgy. I will make this again, thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This icing is FANTASTIC! I'm not giving stars because I didn't make the brownies, just the frosting. But the frosting I give 5 stars. This was one of those things that as I was making it, I was thinking, "umm...this isn't going to work"; sure enough, it comes together to make a perfect frosting that spread oh so smoothly and tastes fabulous. :) Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      We made the brownies exactly to recipe except omitting nuts, but ran out of Dutched unsweetened cocoa and had to substitute Ghirardelli's dark cocoa mix for the cocoa in the frosting. These brownies are a mystery: no baking powder or baking soda, but they do seem to rise a bit. Delicious, especially with the excellent frosting. Great match for a glass of cold milk! Made in honor of Stacky5 for the Cookin' Cats, November 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      By far the best brownie & icing recipe ever! I used a natural & dutched cocoa blend & omitted the nuts so DD could enjoy them too. The brownie is rich, but not too sweet, with just the right amount of chewy to it. The icing is TDF! At first I thought I did something wrong. It was like stirring a softened tootsie roll. After cutting the brownies I began to spread the icing on & was amazed at how pliable, yet not messy, the consistency was. I'll be making these brownies exclusively now & I'm sure I'll find other uses for the icing as well. The only complaint I have is that I can't stay away from them til after dinner. Excellent recipe, Cheyenne! Made in remembrance of Stacy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I thought I reviewed these the first time I made them, I have a batch in the oven now, I just love these brownies, and the frosting is fabulous, thanks so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      thank you soooooooooooooooooooo much i made this cake thiscake today my self and my two little girls love this brownie again thankyou very much for this wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      We loved these!! Super good and i had everything on stock. Used Hersheys Special dark cocoa and they were superbly rich and dark. Made homemade vanilla ice cream to go with. Yummy!! I am not a huge icing fan, but this was so good and added just the right finish that i would always do it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      According to the tastes of my family...these are the perfect brownie. Very easy to make with ingredients in my pantry. Will use the icing recipe often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I can't vouch for the brownies as I didn't use this recipe. However, the icing is perfect. It was an excellent topping for brownies! Simple and fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Cheyenne, your fudge icing is delicious. Sometime I'll make your brownies but this time I used it on Mexican Chocolate Cinnamon Brownies (Mexican Chocolate Brownies With Cinnamon)and they were a big hit. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      These brownies were very rich and delicious. Unlike another review, I don't think the icing made them too rich. Just right by my tastes. Good job Cheyenne!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      These were FABULOUS!! They did not last long in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Great! I would give them a bit more baking time, depending on your oven, as after the full 30 minutes they still came out very soft. I used chocolate chips instead of nuts, and didn't frost them as I think that would have made them too rich. These are very convenient using cocoa instead of baking chocolate (which I rarely have) and I think they'd work with non-alkalized cocoa as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Mmmmm....nummies....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheyenne's Fudgy Dutch Cocoa Brownies & Fudge Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 735.7
     
    Calories from Fat 325
    44%
    Total Fat 36.2 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 22.0 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 176.9 mg
    58%
    Sodium 467.4 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.8 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 81.2 g
    325%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes