Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chex Mix My Way Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chex Mix My Way

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2012

      Our partygoers liked this mix. I used the increased amounts of sauce, and also added 1/2 tsp. each of garlic and onion powder. I also used half Crispix and half Oat squares. You can also try different kinds of pretzels, or flavored pretzels. I also added toasted sunflower seeds. Thank you, Marg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I have been making this for years too & here are some additions that might help for those that thought it needed something more. 1 Tsp garlic powder, sub about 1/2 of the butter for bacon grease, and (i know this sounds weird) but about 1 tsp of poultry seasoning. This should really add a nice zip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I hate to be the only one not into this... but I thought it just tasted like butter. I used the extra sauce amounts, and all I could taste was butter and salt. I'll probably just stick to the recipe on the back of the box from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This was my first attempt at a homemade chex mix and I think it turned out well. The predominate flavor of this mix is butter and it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. It was tasty, but could have been better. In reading the opening comments, I should have added the extra sauce as mentioned. After everything cooled, I added a medium bag of peanut m&ms and that was a nice addition. Thanks for posting, I'll definitely make this again with extra seasonings next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Wow Marg! Your recipe is almost identical to mine that I made up! Differences: 3 T. marg, 3/4 t. Lawry's, 2 T. Worcesterchire, & 3/4 c. dry roasted peanuts. I also try to find the small buttery pretzels. I always use Crispix only, & bake 45 min @ 225- stirring every 15 min. I also find the Lawry's to be the BEST seasoning salt & will only use it. And only Heinz brand W sauce. Oops- almost forgot! I add 1/4 t. garlic powder. Just wanted to share & have a great day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      This is the only recipe i use anymore! (going on 5 years of me using it) meaning your 50% more seasoning recipe. i also add a couple cups of Gardetto's Original Recipe Snack Mix it already has pretzels and the rye chips and such that comes in the packaged chex mix. i too use the crispex so i dont have to buy 3 boxes of cereal that just sit around bc my kid doesnt eat cereal that doesnt have a cartoon character on the box lol i have a road trip coming up on thursday so while i was looking at your recipe, i decided to review it! thanks again for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I made this last April for a road trip with my family (me, my husband, my mother, and my step-dad) I doubled the recipe for the trip back as well. I figured since my step-dad doesn't care for it and my mom cant eat much that we would have plenty. but we didn't have any for the ride home! My step-dad couldn't stop eating it! I wasn't about to stop him since he hardly ever eats anything I make lol. By the way, I used the extra seasoning version and I can't get enough! I am making more right now for no reason and another batch for my up coming Christmas party! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      So good. I had some rice chex and wheat chex that were open and needed to be used up, so I used what I had of them and then addex some cheerios to make the 8 cups. I served these in bowls around my house for our football party and they were a hit. There was none left. This worked perfect for me to use up my small bits of cereal, I'm goingto keep this recipe close so I can "clean out my cereal cupboard again" Thank you for sharing you recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Good but too buttery. I made a second time and halved the butter, added a bit of chipotle olive oil and doubled the rest of the seasoning, as well as adding in orange chipotle seasoning mix and cayenne pepper. Husband adored it, and my daughter kept eating it even though the spices were a bit hot for her!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I have made three batches of this stuff in the week between Christmas and New Year's. I've made the recipe as written (except for subbing cheese pretzels for plain) and my entire family (and house full of company) just can't get enough!! Thank you for posting this easy, kid friendly favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Yummy! Since I made this 3 weeks ago I have had to make 4 more batches for my kids! Instead of pretzels I put cheeze-its in it. This is wonderful stuff. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Love this! I didn't have Crispix so I used Corn Chex and Rice Chex, but other than that I followed your recipe (including your suggestion of doubling the "sauce". It really gives the perfect amount of flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Perfect in every way...easy and delicious! It's a snack I can feel good about feeding my kids. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I made this last year and came back to find it, I guess I forgot to rate it last year, it's our favorite, the "extra zip" is just what chex mix needs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was pretty tasty. I used steak sauce instead of worcestershire (vegetarian friendly option). It wasn't extremely flavorful, I think I would take the author's suggestion of upping the "sauce" next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Ok, so I have to admit that I did use Chex. But only because I had opened boxes of both rice Chex and Corn Chex in the pantry. I do like the idea of using Crispex, and would have bought that if I didn't already have Chex on hand. I was surprised at how good this was with so few ingredients. Simple and delish. I just made it late this morning and it's almost gone already! Thanks Marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      VERY good! I made a few subs only because of what I had on hand: I used 4 cups Wheat Chex, 4 cups of plain Cheerios and 1 increased the sauce by 50% as suggested. Turned out GREAT!!! Thanks for posting - super easy to adapt to your tastes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      A big hit at Bunco. Thanks for a great recipe, Marg. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I use Orville Redenbacher's buttery flavor popcorn oil in place of butter for it has 0g trans fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This is the second year I've used this recipe and I LOVE it. Simple, classic, and strong. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chex Mix My Way

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.1
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    54%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 206.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    small pretzels

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites