71 Reviews

These came out wonderfully! The texture was perfect- a chewy on the outside, but still soft in the middle. I didn't have any issues with them sticking to the pan, and mine didn't spread out like some of the reviews said. They are a little on the sweet side for me, but that's it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fuzzisocks2203 May 18, 2011

Delicious Vegan Cookies! High Recommendations: -Use a cookie sheet that has double insulated walls for best results. (This is a good tip for most vegan, and some non-vegan, cookies.) The cookies will not burn and not flatten as much due to the air circulation between pan layers. My cookies are NOT flat at all using this type of pan. -There is absolutely no reason why anyone should be having a hard time with pan prep for these cookies. They are not any more time consuming than regular cookies. Your hands don't need to touch the mix. Simply use your tablespoon measure. Scoop the batter into it, scrape excess from the sides with a spoon, and place on sheet using the same spoon to lightly pull the mix out of the now upside down tablespoon measure. Nice round tops, thick cookies that bake up beautifully. Tips: I chose hazelnuts instead of chocolate chips. They incorporated into the mixture great and added a very nice balance to the sweetness. I used an additional teaspoon of baking powder (I used powder in the recipe, not soda) and an additional teaspoon of flax seed which added volume to the appearance of the cookies as well enhanced chewy texture. The above tips in the end yield more than 40 nice sized cookies. My results do not appear as flat or "crackly" as the pictured examples, although they all look yummy! Mine just appear more rounded and cohesive. I don't think any examples here are pictured with nuts so maybe the use of nuts may have an affect on my final results, along with the other tips I mentioned. They taste great! Good luck and happy baking! =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Surrender To The Flow December 25, 2008

I made these after reading several of the reviews. I wanted to add 1/2 chocolate chips and 1/2 nuts, so I followed a suggestion of only using 1 1/2 cups sugar, which was fine. Some people said the cookies spread a lot, so I did not use my electric mixer for adding the dry ingredients. From past experience with chocolate chip cookies, using the electric mixer results in a large flat cookie. I baked mine on silicone baking sheets and they were fine...didn't spread and came off easily. The one batch I made on stoneware (which I had oiled well) did spread more than the others but came off easily. Good cookies; I will make again! (Oh, i used almond milk instead of soy since that's what I had.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TopfUziel March 23, 2016

Hi, can I do it without cocoa?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talisha_02 January 26, 2016

the cookies were delicious once i got the setting right. I used hemp milk instead of soy due to allergies. the first test batch I put in stuck to the pan like crazy and was really really hard. So the next batch I greased the pan with non stick spray and baked for 8 minutes only instead of 10. They were chewy and gooey in that batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anjali L. November 29, 2015

These cookies have made it into my top ten list! While making these cookies I ran out of sugar. As the recipe called for 2 cups of sugar I knew I could make some kind of substitution. I used my last 1 1/2 cups of sugar and then added 1/2 cup sweetened coconut. I knew the coconut would add extra bulk, so I only used 1/2 the chocolate chips. The cookies were fantastic and I bake a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shtedford December 30, 2014

Yummy and easy. I did decrease the sugar to 1-1/4 cup. Which was still sweet with the added choc. chips. I also used 1/4 apples sauce, 1/4 coconut oil, 1/4 canola oil. Very rich still with the lighten up changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistykody October 20, 2013

These cookies are sooooo good! Delicious!!! I used half a cup of safflower oil, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. I only used 1 and a fourth cup raw turbinado sugar. I didn't have any flax seeds. I used 1/2 cup unbleached flour and 1/2 cup wheat flour. I added sliced almonds and choco chips (didn't have any vegan ones, so used the regular). The only thing that I had to fix was that my dough/batter was really thick. I had to add a bit more applesauce and soymilk. In the end they came out perfect!! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prettyleodia April 26, 2013

These were wonderful, i doubled up on the ingredients to make a batch to share with non vegan family. Me, my partner and our 2 year old boy are vegan, and the inlaws are too. my family how ever are not. There were a hit with everybody!! Tastes amazing and perfect balance of crispy/chewy. I swapped the oil for melted non dairy spread/margarine and only used half the amount as sugar suggested because when i measured the sugar at 4 cups it was just too much!! Also added chopped roasted hazlenuts to half of the dough. Will make again!! they are just so good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegankatain March 17, 2013

These were awesome cookies! I used apple sauce instead of oil though and raw sugar. I did one batch with wheat flour and one with all purpose flour and both turned out excellent! they were perfect after ten minutes and very brownie like! i also added walnuts to half of each batch because that's what I like. I will be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainnbeau December 08, 2012
Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies