Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2011

      These came out wonderfully! The texture was perfect- a chewy on the outside, but still soft in the middle. I didn't have any issues with them sticking to the pan, and mine didn't spread out like some of the reviews said. They are a little on the sweet side for me, but that's it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Delicious Vegan Cookies! High Recommendations: -Use a cookie sheet that has double insulated walls for best results. (This is a good tip for most vegan, and some non-vegan, cookies.) The cookies will not burn and not flatten as much due to the air circulation between pan layers. My cookies are NOT flat at all using this type of pan. -There is absolutely no reason why anyone should be having a hard time with pan prep for these cookies. They are not any more time consuming than regular cookies. Your hands don't need to touch the mix. Simply use your tablespoon measure. Scoop the batter into it, scrape excess from the sides with a spoon, and place on sheet using the same spoon to lightly pull the mix out of the now upside down tablespoon measure. Nice round tops, thick cookies that bake up beautifully. Tips: I chose hazelnuts instead of chocolate chips. They incorporated into the mixture great and added a very nice balance to the sweetness. I used an additional teaspoon of baking powder (I used powder in the recipe, not soda) and an additional teaspoon of flax seed which added volume to the appearance of the cookies as well enhanced chewy texture. The above tips in the end yield more than 40 nice sized cookies. My results do not appear as flat or "crackly" as the pictured examples, although they all look yummy! Mine just appear more rounded and cohesive. I don't think any examples here are pictured with nuts so maybe the use of nuts may have an affect on my final results, along with the other tips I mentioned. They taste great! Good luck and happy baking! =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Yummy and easy. I did decrease the sugar to 1-1/4 cup. Which was still sweet with the added choc. chips. I also used 1/4 apples sauce, 1/4 coconut oil, 1/4 canola oil. Very rich still with the lighten up changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      These cookies are sooooo good! Delicious!!! I used half a cup of safflower oil, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. I only used 1 and a fourth cup raw turbinado sugar. I didn't have any flax seeds. I used 1/2 cup unbleached flour and 1/2 cup wheat flour. I added sliced almonds and choco chips (didn't have any vegan ones, so used the regular). The only thing that I had to fix was that my dough/batter was really thick. I had to add a bit more applesauce and soymilk. In the end they came out perfect!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      These were wonderful, i doubled up on the ingredients to make a batch to share with non vegan family. Me, my partner and our 2 year old boy are vegan, and the inlaws are too. my family how ever are not. There were a hit with everybody!! Tastes amazing and perfect balance of crispy/chewy. I swapped the oil for melted non dairy spread/margarine and only used half the amount as sugar suggested because when i measured the sugar at 4 cups it was just too much!! Also added chopped roasted hazlenuts to half of the dough. Will make again!! they are just so good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      These were awesome cookies! I used apple sauce instead of oil though and raw sugar. I did one batch with wheat flour and one with all purpose flour and both turned out excellent! they were perfect after ten minutes and very brownie like! i also added walnuts to half of each batch because that's what I like. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      These were just ok. After 10 minutes I took them out and let them cool. They were no wear near done. I had to put them back in to salvage them. What a waste of work. The taste was fine but pretty sweet. They spread like crazy and were a little difficult to remove from the pan. Not a recipe I'd recommend. Sorry. Almost forgot, they don't hold together very well. Must be due to the flax/milk ratio. Crumbles easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      I loved the cookies!!!! I didn't use the flax seeds because we didn't have any. I rounded the dough into little balls and baked. They came off the cookie sheet easily. They melt in your mouth. Their very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Wow! These are fantastic!
      I was looking for a chewy cookie recipe that didn't need brown sugar, and I'm willing to bet this is the best one ever. It was even better than I was hoping. Chewy but with a delightful light crunch to the outside!
      I changed a few things, and they came wonderfully. I didn't use the flax seed, and instead of soy milk I used fat free milk. I also used a 12oz bag of chocolate and peanut butter chips.
      I think these may be the best cookies I've ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Rich, soft, chewy, and delicious!

      Based on the reviews, I used melted Smart Balance instead of all oil for a buttery taste, with only a few tbsp of the actual oil mixed in. Other than that, no further substitutions were made. However, this recipe called for way too much sugar! I'm cutting the amount in half for the next round. (2 cups? yikes!)

      I made myself some plain ones, and added white chocolate chips for my boyfriend's batch (who isn't vegan). They came out fantastic! No nutty/oily scented cookies here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      I'm not even vegan and I loved this recipe! My vegan friends were amazed and so excited that I made them cookies and my non-vegan friends couldn't believe that these were vegan. They were very chewy and tasty... somewhere between brownie and cookie. I have to say, I'm not used to using an oil in a cookie so I was concerned with how the chips weren't sticking in the dough and how wet they looked even after cooking but they were great.

      Also I noticed that the flax aroma and flavor mellowed after a day or two so if it's not something you're fond of, just give it some time and don't give up on the cookies too soon!

      I noticed a nutty taste from the flax for the first day but it went away pretty quickly and if it bothers you, you could easily cover it up with some walnuts or almonds in the batter.

      I replaced canola oil with safflower oil (because it was what I had) and didn't really crush the flax seeds and instead let them sit in the soymilk longer (because I don't have a food processor or mortar/pestle). I used unsweetened vanilla soymilk. Even with substitutions they turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      These were alright. The flavour was amazing, super chocolatey and chewy as stated, but they spread out like crazy, were really thin and fell apart easily, and were a huge pain to get off of the pan. I guess that this could have been fixed by using parchment paper or spraying the pan first, but I just used an ungreased cookie sheet, as instructed! They are also super high in fat and sugar, which I think could be modified.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      ok, these seem really oily when making them but once they bake they are wonderful. I made a few changes, I used 2tbs of cornstarch dissolved into the soy milk instead of flax. I also used whole wheat four, which did not cause any troubles. Also I was out of vanilla so I used chocolate agave instead. Turned out very yummy. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I've been trying to make them for at least 4 times, but they never turned out right. The first 3 times, I didn't get the flax eggs right. Make sure the flax eggs are gel-like. I couldn't get them to the right consistency, but after mixing the milk and flax meal together and cook it a bit, they become very gel-like. Also 2 cups of sugar just seems way too sweet for me. Not sure why it doesn't work for me, maybe it's because I cut down on the amount of sugar and oil or I used whole wheat pastry and almond milk. The cookies just came out way too hard and the chips won't combine with the dough. But the flavor is really good. Just like how normal cookies taste like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      These taste just as good as regular cookies! They spread out quite a bit so I don't see a need to flatten the dough. However they stick to the pan like nobody's business. So a quick spray of PAM isn't going to cut it. I'm going to invest in a silicone baking sheet or butcher paper before cooking these again. On the bright side, they taste AMAZING and I think are better than the highly rated vegan brownies on this site. Nom nom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      The only reason I give it 4 stars is because of the high amount of sugar and fat. I cut the sugar by HALF and used turbinado instead of white, and cut the fat by 1/3 and substituted 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce instead. I also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white. Since I didn't want a chocolate cookie, I omitted the cocoa and substituted a half cup of regular flour. I did bake them for about 12 minutes, and they still didn't brown, but the texture is nice and chewy. Must be the flax. I will definitely make them again with the same substitutions mentioned here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Easily one of the best cookies i've ever eaten. We're eggless, but not milkless, so i used regular cow milk in place of the soy. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      EXCELLENT! These are the best cookies. Vegan or not. (I'm not vegan - my husband is). Mixed the dough with my hands - it was much easier that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Awesome cookies! For the first 2 days they had a strong canola oil taste, but it completely disappeared and they were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 468.1
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    39%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 278.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 45.2 g
    180%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    semisweet vegan chocolate chips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes