Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Popcorn Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Popcorn Balls

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2002

      These were a great treat for my niece's halloween party at school.I made 3 batches and did'nt have any left.Very easy to make and kids and adults both enjoyed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Yummy! Made these tonight for Halloween of course. Used to have these same kind as a kid made by my classmates mom. Made them orange and used 1 cup confectioners sugar less than called for and they turned out sweet enough. Also didn't have all white corn syrup so used some golden, oh and margarine rather than butter. For those who don't buy confectioners sugar in a box, 16 oz is 3 1/2 cups by weight, so I used 2 1/2 cups and it was plenty. Also, did the gloves and cold water to shape into balls and it worked great. My family has already put in orders for Remembrance Day and Christmas. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      I made these today for a party with six Kindergarten girls. They chose the color (pink) and made all sorts of shapes. I found they the popcorn did not harden too quickly, which was perfect for this age. We stuck large, straight pretzels in the balls and used candy corn for garnish. Popcorn Lollipops! Good flavor and super-easy. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      I was impressed with this, the coating was simple to make and a little sticky to work with, I had to put a lot of butter on my hands and press firmly to keep them together, but once they did they stayed that way! It was a good flavor, about what you'd think of with a popcorn ball, only not hard when you bite into it, there were little strings of the coating from the ball to what you bit off. It's also very addictive... when someone went by them they took one. Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      These were delicious! I ended up cutting back on the powdered sugar to 2 1/5 cups and then used the gingerbread flavored marshmellows since it was Christmas. These made them taste even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Makes very pretty popcorn. Powdered sugar taste is a bit strong - may try a little less next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Very easy to make and oh so good! I used long kitchen gloves (and two separate bowls of popcorn so that it would'nt get too full and overflow) and made the balls easily by having the cold tap run and running the gloves under cold water when the balls wern't sticking together well. This also works for pressing down your rice krispy treats into the pan. Not only did the cold water cool the mixture down, but it helped solidify the balls as I formed them - BONUS - no added fat to the balls! The clean up is not too bad - just a lot of hot water and soaking. Be careful about popcorn seeds getting into your disposal. GREAT recipe and sooo yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      These were very good! I've always disliked my sisters popcorn balls because though they had good flavor, it was similar to chewing on a rock! These are very chewy and sweet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      surprisingly quick to put together. I used kettle corn from the fair and a little less powdered sugar in the sugar mixture. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      These are soooo good. I made these for our friends and family on Halloween. ( yes I'm behind on my reviews, but better late then never, right?) We made green and purple and they were a big hit. I liked these better then other recipes as they stayed soft and chewy instead of hard and crumbly. I will continue to use this recipe. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      All four of my kids loved these! What better review could I give? Even I really liked these, and I'm not a popcorn ball fan. The kids are already talking about the next time we make them and the first batch isn't even gone yet! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Great Great Great....everyone loved the chewy texture and the terrific taste. Thank you for such a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      I made these a bit smaller (I got about 30 in a batch)tinted them in pastel colors, wrapped them individually in plastic wrap, and used them in 2 seperate Easter egg hunts as "popcorn eggs". They were a hit! My 10 year old son and I had a great time making these - our only problem was trying to keep my 2 year old daughter from snatching them up as soon as they were rolled into balls. My husband has requested I make a batch just for him SOON. Thanks for such a fun and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      The first batch I made exactly like the recipe, and they were not as chewy as I preferred, more like regular popcorn balls. So next batch I doubled the marshmallows, and used 1/2 cup corn syrup and about half the powdered sugar. They were harder to work with but even 4 days later were soft and chewy and didn't hurt my teeth

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      I just made this and I can't believe how good they tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      Made these for my daughter's class party. We had so much fun making them and the kids loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      I am 47 years old and I think these are the first popcorn balls I have ever made. Made a batch for Halloween and I was impressed with how fast and easy these were to make, not to mention how good they tasted. This will be a great recipe to have the grandkids help with come Christmas time....thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      These were very good. They were soft, chewy and stringy. I think I didn't quite add enough popcorn-Next time I will add just a little more. My 7 year old had a qreat time helping me make these. Thanks DivineMom5 for submitting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2004

      I'm not going to rate this because I think I did something wrong. They didn't come out chewy at all - just very crumbly. They cooled down really quickly and were then impossible to shape. Maybe someone can tell me what I could have done wrong....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2004

      This was a wonderful recipe. It made 14 popcorn balls for us. This is a definate try again recipe. Everyone loved them even the neighbour, she went out and made them the very next day for herself!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Popcorn Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.2
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    13%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 25.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 22.5 g
    90%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    unpopped popcorn

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites