21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were a great treat for my niece's halloween party at school.I made 3 batches and did'nt have any left.Very easy to make and kids and adults both enjoyed them.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P November 16, 2002

Yummy! Made these tonight for Halloween of course. Used to have these same kind as a kid made by my classmates mom. Made them orange and used 1 cup confectioners sugar less than called for and they turned out sweet enough. Also didn't have all white corn syrup so used some golden, oh and margarine rather than butter. For those who don't buy confectioners sugar in a box, 16 oz is 3 1/2 cups by weight, so I used 2 1/2 cups and it was plenty. Also, did the gloves and cold water to shape into balls and it worked great. My family has already put in orders for Remembrance Day and Christmas. Thanks

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish Za Dish September 21, 2011

I made these today for a party with six Kindergarten girls. They chose the color (pink) and made all sorts of shapes. I found they the popcorn did not harden too quickly, which was perfect for this age. We stuck large, straight pretzels in the balls and used candy corn for garnish. Popcorn Lollipops! Good flavor and super-easy. I will definitely make these again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fweetieb October 17, 2009

I was impressed with this, the coating was simple to make and a little sticky to work with, I had to put a lot of butter on my hands and press firmly to keep them together, but once they did they stayed that way! It was a good flavor, about what you'd think of with a popcorn ball, only not hard when you bite into it, there were little strings of the coating from the ball to what you bit off. It's also very addictive... when someone went by them they took one. Great recipe, thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow July 09, 2003

These were delicious! I ended up cutting back on the powdered sugar to 2 1/5 cups and then used the gingerbread flavored marshmellows since it was Christmas. These made them taste even better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwarner December 11, 2010

Makes very pretty popcorn. Powdered sugar taste is a bit strong - may try a little less next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TSpoon in UT June 19, 2010

Very easy to make and oh so good! I used long kitchen gloves (and two separate bowls of popcorn so that it would'nt get too full and overflow) and made the balls easily by having the cold tap run and running the gloves under cold water when the balls wern't sticking together well. This also works for pressing down your rice krispy treats into the pan. Not only did the cold water cool the mixture down, but it helped solidify the balls as I formed them - BONUS - no added fat to the balls! The clean up is not too bad - just a lot of hot water and soaking. Be careful about popcorn seeds getting into your disposal. GREAT recipe and sooo yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wedrinktea'ere October 25, 2009

These were very good! I've always disliked my sisters popcorn balls because though they had good flavor, it was similar to chewing on a rock! These are very chewy and sweet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahcw80 November 10, 2003

surprisingly quick to put together. I used kettle corn from the fair and a little less powdered sugar in the sugar mixture. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BreadBkr September 26, 2009

These are soooo good. I made these for our friends and family on Halloween. ( yes I'm behind on my reviews, but better late then never, right?) We made green and purple and they were a big hit. I liked these better then other recipes as they stayed soft and chewy instead of hard and crumbly. I will continue to use this recipe. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 24, 2009
Chewy Popcorn Balls