Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Oatmeal Spice Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Oatmeal Spice Bars

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2002

      Thank you Dancer! My DH needs to lower his cholesterol and can't abide cooked cereal. I think you might have given me a solution with these bars! The whole family loved them. Great with a cup of tea, or on the run for a quick breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      Wouldn't call it a cookie, but rather a "flat muffin" or "breakfast bar". They were more cake-like than I expected. Delicious and healthy! I made mine extra healthy with 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1/4 c honey instead of the white sugar. I also used 1/2 c rolled barley instead of rolled oats. I think next time I will cook at 325 for longer, to give the oats more time to soften. I also DOUBLED the cinn and nutmeg and added 1/4 t allspice--I always double my spices, plus I used applesauce which doesn't have the spices of some apple butters (but why would you waste yummy apple butter in a recipe?!) Thanks, Dancer, this one I can feel good about giving to my kids!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      These were good. Kind of tasted like a spicy oatmeal cookie. I served this with a vanilla glaze so it was more like a dessert. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      These are really good. I am on Weight Watchers and these are about 2 to 3 points depending on how large you slice them. I replaced the white sugar with splenda, and the eggs with egg beaters. I also used a low-fat butter substitute. Thank you for adding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      These are a very, healthy, flavorful bar with an interesting texture. They were especially good with a cup of tea. My choices were to use dried cranberries and apple butter, which added both fruity flavor and extra spiciness. While DH and I enjoyed these, our children did not. I had originally made these for lunchbox treats, but I will be making them for the freezer for DH and I use as a healthier breakfast-on-the-go or an afternoon pick-me-up with a cup of tea/coffee. Thanks Dancer^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      My kids loved this! I left out the raisins and used apple sauce. I did use the nutmeg, but no salt. I took some to church that night and was asked for the recipe. Between my kids, and church they were gone in 2 days. They are also great with coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This was great! I sub'd canned pumpkin for the applesauce because I didn't have any and it turned out wonderful. I let the kids think they were getting to eat oatmeal cookies for breakfast and they thought I rocked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This was a good recipe to use up some ingredients I had hanging around. I too had omitted the white sugar and used some honey instead. I cooked these at 325 for 35 mins. These bars are perfect for hikers and for anyone who needs a good boost in the morning. Good post, thanks Dancer :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I made these vegan with almond milk and egg replacer and they were SO good. I wasn't sure at first that they would turn out, but they were perfect and portable. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I wasn't sure at first if they were quite as great as I expected...but I keep going back to the pan and taking one little square at a time. I LOVE them! They would also be great (but not as healthy) which peanut butter and chocolate chips instead of apple butter and raisins:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      My 1 year old daughter and husband loved these, oh yea, I did too!! My 5 year old son said he didn't, but did he put it down after tasting it? Nope, he ate the whole bar. I used apple butter (next time I will try half and half) and I only had craisins, so I used them. I also had about 1/3 of a cup of shredded coconut that I threw in. They were so stinkin moist. I was pleasantly surprised. I will be making these again and again. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Great recipe I am a big oatmeal fan and I loved how chewy they are. I left out the white sugar & doubled spices.Great for a snack at work and I have made it a lot and each time I do something different and it works each time, half of the flour whole wheat, added chocolate chips, added bran buds for some of the oatmeal which really ups the fiber. I also cut the recipe in half and cooked in a 8x8 pan for about 25 min. Perfect Healthy Snack Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      great recipe - I left out the white sugar, added a couple of tablespoons of honey, used unsweetened applesauce and a combination of raisins and chopped dried apples, and it was very good - I think with the 1/2 c sugar it would have been too sweet! my 16 month old niece loves these too - a great change from commercial granola bars. I cut the 9x13 pan into 12 bars, wrapped each one in plastic and put them in the fridge - easy to grab and a great breakfast with some yogurt or cottage cheese as well. I will definitely make these again - I also subbed 1/2 C whole wheat flour and will probably increase that next time. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      These are my new favorite snack! I love oatmeal and spices together. I also loved the texture of the oatmeal. It was still chewy and not mushy. I followed the baking instructions exactly. I did substitute whole wheat pastry flour for all-purpose flour. I also used 3/4 cup sucanat in place of the brown sugar and 1/2 cup date sugar in place of the white sugar. I increased the cinamon to 1 1/2 teaspoons and added 1/2t allspice and 1/2 t ground cloves. (Did I mention I love spicy oatmeal!) Since I don't like dried fruit I decided to add 1/2 cup chopped pecans. After the bars were cooled I cut them into 24 servings, individually wrapped in plastic wrap and stored in the fridge. After 7 days they were still delicious! I just love this recipe! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      A delicious recipe! I used Splenda brown sugar, red fat margarine & Splenda for the sugar. Also used whole wheat flour, rolled oats & applesauce. I cut the recipe in half & instead of fruit, used 3 tbsp mini choco chips. I used the optional nutmeg, too. At the last minute, I threw in 2 tbsp honey-don't know if it made a difference but it tasted great! Easy to put together & healthy, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Thanks so much for this easy, delicious recipe! I'm vegan, so I did some substitutions, but either way, I'm sure they'd turn out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      These bars were great! Healthy and substantial enough for breakfast on the go for my DH. Thank You! Will be making again and again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      These make a tasty snack or dessert. I made the following changes: 1/4 cup sugar for 1/2 cup sugar, baked at 330* instead of 350*, and sprinkled dough with cinnamon and sugar before baking. Great stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      very good, and very easy to make. much easier than cookies. great taste and healthy too! i left out the white sugar and just used the 3/4c brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      These are exceptional spicy bars with an enjoyable texture! They are nice and moist, but also chewy like oatmeal cookies. I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8”pan. I also decreased the sugar by about 1/4 for personal preference. I also doubled the cinnamon like one reviewer suggested. This made them even spicier, which was great, although I am sure they would be fine as is. I also used a mixture of dates and raisins for the dried fruit. These are delightful bars that are nutritious and nice and low in fat I will be making again. Thanks Dancer^!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Oatmeal Spice Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1450 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.8
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    15%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 63.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes