14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The problem here is that the title actually it's misleading, the name should be "Spongy Oatmeal Bars" not Chewy.

Was not what I was looking for, they don't taste bad but the consistency it's what I din't like and I see most people neither.

Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuban100 September 10, 2012

I didn't like this. It had a spongy texture and little flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
froggyjen March 29, 2008

I doubled the recipe after reading other reviews, but maybe I shouldn't have. In a 9x13 pan my bars are thick and the texture of soft cake. With hard grains of oatmeal. I used rolled oats- quick would be better I think. I wish they were chewy and wonder if the original recipe would be...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn February 22, 2008

These are great. I made them exactly according to the recipe, using plain nonfat yogurt. They make a great, quick breakfast. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 February 07, 2008

Healthy and tastes good - my favorite adjectives for food. I subbed cranberries and orange zest for the raisins, and added just a few white chocolate chips. I also added a couple tsp of oat bran and wheat bran. Oh yeah, I also subbed applesauce for the oil. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez February 05, 2008

These were really good. I liked the firm texture-some healthy bars (made without a lot of butter) don't hold together very well! I used Splenda sugars, applesauce for the oil & half whole wheat/oat flour. I also didn't use as many raisins (about half the amt), used no salt & doubled up on the cinnamon. They're not too sweet, but the raisins add great bursts of sweetness. They were just thick enough for me & were very easy! Thank u for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS February 05, 2008

This recipe was definately more cake-like and chewy. It was good, a little bland though. I would maybe add more cinnamon or even some nutmeg. I also used Blue Bunny Sweet Freedom Vanilla Creme Yogurt to save on calories and sugar. Fiance ate half the batch in one sitting. Used an 8X8 pan and baked for 25 minutes. The bars were a perfect thickness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bride to be #1 December 30, 2007

Great recipe! I used the yogurt I made from "Homemade Yogurt" and used chocolate chips instead of the raisins. I also had to add time to the baking...about 15 minutes. But soooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinmykids August 27, 2007

These are great bars. I love how healthy they are! The only change I did was add another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It took a little more effort to spread in the pan since there's not a lot of batter and the bars are pretty thin, but it's worth it! They're nice and portable and perfect for snacking. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu July 25, 2007
Chewy Oatmeal Bars