Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Oatmeal Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Oatmeal Bars

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2012

      The problem here is that the title actually it's misleading, the name should be "Spongy Oatmeal Bars" not Chewy.

      Was not what I was looking for, they don't taste bad but the consistency it's what I din't like and I see most people neither.

      Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

    • on March 29, 2008

      I didn't like this. It had a spongy texture and little flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I doubled the recipe after reading other reviews, but maybe I shouldn't have. In a 9x13 pan my bars are thick and the texture of soft cake. With hard grains of oatmeal. I used rolled oats- quick would be better I think. I wish they were chewy and wonder if the original recipe would be...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      These are great. I made them exactly according to the recipe, using plain nonfat yogurt. They make a great, quick breakfast. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Healthy and tastes good - my favorite adjectives for food. I subbed cranberries and orange zest for the raisins, and added just a few white chocolate chips. I also added a couple tsp of oat bran and wheat bran. Oh yeah, I also subbed applesauce for the oil. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      These were really good. I liked the firm texture-some healthy bars (made without a lot of butter) don't hold together very well! I used Splenda sugars, applesauce for the oil & half whole wheat/oat flour. I also didn't use as many raisins (about half the amt), used no salt & doubled up on the cinnamon. They're not too sweet, but the raisins add great bursts of sweetness. They were just thick enough for me & were very easy! Thank u for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This recipe was definately more cake-like and chewy. It was good, a little bland though. I would maybe add more cinnamon or even some nutmeg. I also used Blue Bunny Sweet Freedom Vanilla Creme Yogurt to save on calories and sugar. Fiance ate half the batch in one sitting. Used an 8X8 pan and baked for 25 minutes. The bars were a perfect thickness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Great recipe! I used the yogurt I made from "Homemade Yogurt" and used chocolate chips instead of the raisins. I also had to add time to the baking...about 15 minutes. But soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      These are great bars. I love how healthy they are! The only change I did was add another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It took a little more effort to spread in the pan since there's not a lot of batter and the bars are pretty thin, but it's worth it! They're nice and portable and perfect for snacking. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      I think these bars are really delicious! I love the high amount of oat to flour ratio. I halved the recipe to make in an 8x8" pan, but still used one whole egg white because I couldn't be bothered to half an egg white. I also used chocolate chips instead of raisins, as I had a chocolate craving. :) My bars turned out nice and more golden brown in color with a nice moist, slightly chewy consistancy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      This was definiatly low cal.. and not at all sweet, but for us there was a problem in that it didn't really taste of too much at all.. Maybe the addition of dried apricots would help? OTOH adding apricots would probaby up the calories substantially. DH wanted to add choc chips, but that would turn it into really a different recipe. Ours was chewy and tasted ok-ish, but it didn't grab us enough as a recipe to make again since it just didn't suit our tastes. Please see my rating system: I rate hard and 3 stars from me just means it didn't work for us and since everyone is different, so take this review with a pinch of oats.. you never know until you try, right? Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      This recipe was easy, quick, and resulted in tasty bars! I substituted currants for raisins (raisins are too sweet for me), and it turned out just fine. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      Great recipe. I believe this is a low calorie bar, not sweet at all. I alrady made this recipe 2x and i still love it and will make it again and again. I think the recipe is too little for a 9x13 inch pan. So I doubled everything, and baked it in a 8x12 pan, it turned out about 1 1/2 inch thick. I didn't have any raisins so i put wallnuts instead...and they're still yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Oatmeal Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.4
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    15%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 121.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites