Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2008

      This was good but it reminds me more of an oatmeal cookie bar instead of a granola bar so I had something else as far as taste in mind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      They are very good . My whole family liked them . I would be carefull with the cooking time .They were a bit overcooked when left for 20min. But my stove tends to be hotter than average =0) I also omited the almonds because of a school ban on nuts. I will be doing this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      We loved these bars! Much better than any bar in the store. Scarfed them down quickly, should have made a double batch. Mine turned out kind of crumbly, didn't overcook, used 1/2 butter, maybe that was it? Will cut out the white sugar next time and maybe add peanut butter and some coconut. Thanks Manda for a excellent granola bar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I made this recipe and my husband LOVES it. I used whole wheat flour because that's what I had on hand, and they were very tasty! I look forward to trying them again, and varying the ingredients (such as dried fruits/nuts, etc.).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      this was good, but it reminded me of a cookie - not a granola bar.. still not a bad cookie though :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Update, on March 10, 08, I made these again as a full recipe, this time adding slivered almonds (didn't have chopped), a handful of sweetened flaked coconut, 1/4 cup of smooth peanut butter, along with just under a cup of semi-sweet choc chips. This was really sticky to spread, so it was ugly in the pan but I got it pretty even and it baked perfectly in 25 mins with just a bit of well-done edges. Oh yeah, and I ran out of old-fashioned oats so used quick-cooking. Still chewy even the next day, with a bit of crunch on the edges and from the almonds (almonds lent a nice toastiness). Bf snagged a bite and he thought they were pretty good. Guess I'm keeping these to myself again! :D OOooh, I'm so hooked. I only had enough ingreds for a half batch, and I also didn't think anyone but me would be eating these, and maybe I will be the only one eating 'em. I made these for breakfast. Honestly they turned out more like a bar cookie than a granola bar, but oh my are they wonderful. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and left out the white sugar. I used the miniumum amount of margarine and I used Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil Spread, and Eggbeaters (which was easy to halve lol - 1/8 cup instead of 1/4 cup). I used an 8in. square baking pan sprayed with Pam. I cooled this for about 30mins. Btw, this smells wonderful while baking. I baked for 20 mins which was perfect. I felt like a chocolate chip purist, so I left out the raisins. I didn't have any almonds. I'm very pleased with just the chocolate chips, to be honest. :D Thank you, Manda, I really enjoyed this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      These are great! Best granola bars I have made. My son loved them, next time I will try whole wheat flour. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Very VERY good! I made these for myself on my first road march, and shared a few bites here and there. After that, everyone fell in love with them and they are now part of every road march. My drill Sgt's thank you (and so do I)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I really liked this recipe. I did leave out the raisins and the 1/4 cup of sugar. They were plenty sweet. You could probably cut the brown sugar also. Make sure you chop your almonds into small pieces to make them easier to eat. Try this recipe...it is a good healthy granola bar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Very good, my kids love them. I think I'll cut back on the sugar next time though. I didn't have raisins so used dried cranberries; I like the way they go with the chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      These are very good. However, they are almost more like a cookie bar than a granola bar - not that I'm complaining! Both dh & I liked them very much. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Excellent recipe, made this and took it camping for quick breakfasts. I didn't have honey and omitted the white sugar aand it was still very good. I would suggest if you make this for camping or the summer to use m & m's instead of chocolate chips. They made a mess on my 3 under 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Delicious! Big hit with the family. Pretty calorie and fat rich if you cut into 16 bars. I cut 8 long rows and 4 short rows for 32 bars and one is plenty satisfying. Thanks for a great recipe! P.S. The Rice Krispies turn out to be crucial. I didn't have them the first time and I doubled the oatmeal. Bricks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      The kids and I loved these. I wrapped them individually so they were handy to grab when we are on the go! Instead of chocolate chips and raisins, I added 2/3 c each of white chocolate chips, craisins, and chopped dried apricots. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      these are INCREDIBLY delicious!!!! they taste better than ANYTHING i have ever tried at the store (seriously) and were SO easy to make. They do kindof taste more like cookies than granola bars because they're SO sweet (and have the candy).... I think I am going to cut out the white sugar in the next batch and add in some coconut and dried fruit for health. We also like to use sunflower seeds instead of almonds (easier for little mouths to chew), and may add peanut butter next time as well. But in the end, the versatility of this recipe is part of what makes it so great!!! OH-ma-goodness these are SO good!!!! our new favorite. EVERYONE loves them - even the kids! forty-ba-jillion stars from us :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Mine turned out to be more like bar cookies, but they're GOOD bar cookies!! I didn't have raisins, honey, plain almonds, or rice krispies on hand. I checked the reviews and made a few substitutions: maple syrup, 1 cup natural peanut butter, 2 1/2 cups oats, no white sugar. They turned out to be dense and delicious peanut butter - oatmeal - chocolate chip bars! My husband's eyes sure lit up as he tasted the first one and asked, "We're having these for breakfast?! Homemade granola bars are WAY better than store bought!!!" I'm not sure how the nutritional stuff stacks up to the original - I was happy with it as it was, and i don't think the changes should make too much a difference. YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      These granola bars are excellent!!!! I made them for my husband's volleyball tournament. We normally will buy two or three boxes from the store for a tournament. His teammates helped him devour them. I did omit the chocolate chips, white sugar, and raisins (husband's request, he's not a sweet tooth!) I used 1/4 cup butter, added 1/4 cup peanut butter and used walnuts instead of almonds. I will be making these again soon!!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      The DH said they weren't 'exactly' like granola bars....as I was fighting him from finishing off the last of the batch! They had a nice chewy texture (better the next day) and they weren't too sweet as store bought granola bars often are. I really enjoyed them and will be making them again and trying different ingredients, although I loved the crunch of whole almonds and the sweetness of 3/4 cup of mini-chocolate chips. Also, I only used 3/4 of a stick of butter and I think next time I can get away with using even less! Update: My last batch contained 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/2 stick butter, egg substitute, NO rice krispies, 1/2 c. chocolate chips and 2 1/2 cups oats. They came out great and are a bit healthier so we can eat them more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      great recipe! We loved the taste and the texture of these bars. I did put the raisins in and I substituted rice chex for rice crispies, because it was what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      The recipe was great! I also cut out the white sugar, chocolate chips and used only 1/4 cup of butter. That saved me about 100 calories per bar, even after I added 1/2 cup of coconut flakes, 1tsp. of milled flax seed and 1/4 cup of raisins. They were a little on the dry side but held together. Pressed them down in the pan with a cutting board. Had tin foil on bottom of board. Calories per bar 170 and they tasted great! Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1017 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.9
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    38%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 157.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes