Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2009

      These are great granola bars. Everyone at home agrees that they are better than the store bought type. The first time I made them I didn't have rice crisp so I just used the cereal that I had on hand (a banana flavoured one) and it came out quite well, a bit soggy, but we still liked it. The second time we used the rice crisp and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I was looking to replace the Quaker Chewy bars my boys have both become addicted to, and this recipe did it. Almost identical, and now I can play around with the recipe (like so many others have) and bump up the nutrition a bit! I also cut out the sugar (not necessary), and did not add raisins. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      i have many recipes saved in my Zaar cookbook but this is my first review...I just had to review this recipe!! Absolutely delicious and great as a mid-morning snack!! Next time I will follow other suggestions and omit the white sugar and reduce the brown sugar to maybe 1/2 cup. May also omit the chocolate chips and just drizzle melted chocolate on top once the bars are cooled and still in the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Very good bars! I did a little tweaking, but mostly just with add-ins. I only used the 1/4C butter, used half whole wheat flour, half white flour. Added about 1/4 C. wheat germ, 1/4C. flax seen, couple spoonfuls of oat bran. Only used 1 C. of rolled oats, since I added so many other things. Left out the almonds and only added 1/2 C. mini chocolate chips. I baked these in two 8x8 pans, and added crasins to one of the pans. they baked for about 17 minutes in my oven. These are so good, I can't seem to stop eating them! My hope is to get these into the freezer for lunches. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      these bars are real good. I used the base recipe but had to change some things, because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used kashi cereal instead of rice cereal, cranberry & sunflower seeds for the almonds and less chocolate chips. They really are great for lunch boxes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      super friggen yummy!!!! So easy too. This ones a keeper. Like most recipes I do my own thing, so I think I added to much oats but that didnt stop me or the fam from gobbling them up. I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Loved these bars! As did my family! Highly reccomend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      We made these for breakfast this morning and my kids devoured them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      yummy! My 18 mo old ate them up. Dh also liked them alot!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      We loved this recipe, the whole family. Did anyone freeze it yet? How do they come out? I tried it today. Not sure about them being soooo healthy though with all that sugar. The calories speak for themselves... Anyway, a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Very good recipe. I used 1/2 cup butter, 3/4 cup brown sugar and omitted the white sugar per suggestion of another reviewer. Everything else I did according to the recipe. These are so much better than storebought. I've made these twice so far and they haven't lasted more than 2 days in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Thanks for posting a great granola bar recipe! I looked for a long time and tried many recipes before I found this one. I omit the almonds. I use about 3/4 cup of loose brown sugar and 1/8 cup of white sugar. I also melt 1/4 cup of butter before adding it to the sugars. Thanks again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      A really great Granola bar! I whipped this up in now time! and it tastes so very very good and morish!. I only used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup butter and no white sugar. I added sultanas, cranberries, dried apricots, walnuts & sunflower seeds and Im sitting here trying not to be tempted to go and grab another piece! I just had a very generous slice and it was amazing yum!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Very good, and though I made it as directed with mini-chocolate chips, I can see how it would be great with many different add-ins. My only difficulty is that after it baked I thought to myself "this is really a cross between a giant chocolate chip cookie and a granola bar"... it is delicious, and made a good snack, but more cookie-ish than I had been hoping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Excellent! And so easy. I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar after reading other reviews. I used 1/4 cup of butter, 3/4 cup chocolate chips and whole wheat flour. They were still very sweet. I also used organic crisp rice cereal. I did not add the raisins. With the chocolate chips, they are a good snack but not for breakfast. Next time I will use dried cranberries instead of the chocolate chips to make them more of a breakfast food. Very good and a definate keeper. I will never buy store bought again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Man, these are good and darn easy to make. Like boomoo, I chose this recipe because it didn't call for corn syrup. I made some changes that others mentioned in their comments: halved the brown sugar, omitted the white sugar, used wheat flour, and halved the chocolate chips. I also added dried cranberries. These were still sweet; next time I may cut the sugar further and use additional dried fruit instead of the chocolate chips so they will be more like a breakfast bar. Thanks for posting this, I plan on making these instead of buying bars in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I used just over 1/2 cup of brown sugar & left out the white, used sugar free muesli in place of the oats & chopped dried apricots in place of 1/2 the chocolate. We wolfed them down in one day & will be making them on a VERY regular basis lol. Thanks Manda for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I have made these several times to wonderful compliments. I make a few substitutions ... whole wheat flour, no white sugar, 1T cinnamon, 1I vanilla, no nuts (school rules), and about 1 cups of raisins. I left out the chocolate chips all together last time for our son's preschool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      My first attempt at granola bars! Wonderful! much better than the store bought kind and much cheaper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      OOOPs forgot to give it 5 STARS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1017 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.9
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    38%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 157.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes