119 Reviews

If a chocolate chip cookie and a granola bar had a baby, this would be it. We loved these, although they were not the breakfast food I was looking for. I used coconut extract in addition to the vanilla and replaced the almonds with sweetened shredded coconut. As mentioned by others, I reduced the brown sugar and omitted the white sugar. Next time ( and there will be a next time, maybe tomorrow ) I will health it up a bit with some nuts and fruits, more oats, and less chocolate. Otherwise, these are a great healthier cookie bar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milking Mom November 07, 2011

I have been making these for a while now and they are just absolutely fantastic. I never make the same batch twice as I love to experiment, but what a great base. Thanks a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raychel4korn November 07, 2011

I followed this exactly, but mine are more cakey and less like a granola bar. They are quite crumbly too and falling apart. I will try again as they do taste quite good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom October 15, 2011

I made up some Granola and thought I would try my hand at some bars too. These are delicious and now when I am on the go, I can grab one of these for the road! These will be made often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeannie Jean September 10, 2011

I was looking for a way to make our baked treats a little healthier, and this was just perfect! Based on other reviews I used 3/4 cup brown sugar. Instead of raisins, I added a couple handfuls of pre-chopped dates. Everyone in the family loved them and DH even had one for breakfast this morning. I will be making these regularly. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss August 28, 2011

These are great. Everyone LOVES them. They have a perfect texture of chewy with the rice crispies giving it a crispy texture also. I am known for my baking and this is one of the best things I have made. One day later everyone is asking me when I can make them again. I followed the advice of other reviews and used 3/4 of a cup of sugar. I also added a good handful of coconut. These are seriously to die for and so easy. I use 1/2 cup of butter and I cooked them for 20 min and they were a bit overdone. Next time will try 17

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen June 30, 2011

Amazing, never made granola bars before!! Great recipe. Made lots of granola bars, you add and subtract as you wish and they still taste good. Thank you for this recipe, will definatly made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gem's April 18, 2011

Wow. Just wow. I can't stop nibbling on these scrumptious bars, but I forced myself to so I could write this review of just how amazing this recipie is! I came across this recipe and realized I had left over trail mix, left over rice kris pies, and also another cereal called honey bunches of oats (probably a handful of each, you know the ones usually left over and nobody eats them? Yeah. It's perfect for this!) Also, a few reviews said 3/4cup brown sugar, but I did half cup brown and 1/4 white. Also added leftover trail mix that had some coconut shreds, peanuts and raisins. And also, I had about a spoonful of peanut butter so I added that too- I said what the heck! It turned out great and im so glad my family did too (they don't usually like what I bake, haha) :) thanks so much, I will definitely make this recipe again, with or without the extras!
:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suitabletummy April 02, 2011

LOVE THESE! They are excellent. I have made this recipe exactly as written many times now and they are always suburb! I suggest letting them cool completely before removing them from the pan. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Selmas0ngs April 01, 2011

Really good! I made a few modifications - halved the sugar (which I always do), omitted the salt, used the raisins instead of the chocolate chips and left out the almonds so my daughter can take them to her nut-free school. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'inCanada March 30, 2011
Chewy Granola Bars