118 Reviews

Call it a "Granola Bar" if it makes you feel better about consuming it, but this is really just a chocolate chip-oatmeal cookie in bar form. It's a great recipe and really tasty, especially with the addition of the Rice Krispies, but it would definitely benefit from some healthful tweaks, like others have done, using whole wheat flour, less sugar, less butter, using mini choc. chips (and less of them), etc. It's really a good recipe and one I'll make again but not for fulfilling my family's craving for a "healthy snack."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carissa R September 28, 2012

I made these for my kids to take to school. Since my son is allergic to tree nuts I omitted the almonds, and adjusted the chocolate chips to only 1/4 cup (but added a handful of M&M's!) This is an easy recipe to follow, or change up a bit. Tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vejvoda September 20, 2012

Oh, wow!! I wish I could give this 10 stars!! To me, these were so much better than store bought. The kids liked them for the first day or so, but prefer chocolate covered ones. My son said they had too many chocolate chips in them, so next time I'll use half the chips, melted, to drizzle over the top, instead. I found myself eating them for snacks as well as breakfast. Awesome recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilBit6_2 June 24, 2012

I don't know how I missed it, but in the Directions there wasn't any step to include the rice crispie cereal so I totally forgot about it. These still turned out fabulously. Talk about a versatile recipe! Followed everything else, but took out chocolate chips, did 1 cup organic currants and all white whole wheat flour. Fantastic!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fc.cameron@yahoo.com June 06, 2012

Texture is excellent. I've put all the butter required (non-hydrogenated margarine) and left out the sugar (just the brown sugar was already a lot, it is very sweet). I used whole wheat flour. I found that the cinnamon gave a strange taste, next time I'll leave out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka May 22, 2012

I'd never made granola/granola bars before, so I read many of the reviews and followed some of their advice: less sugar, 1/4 c butter 1/2 applesauce, wheat flour. And I changed some of the add-ins to suit my tastes - walnuts, dark choc chips (/12 cup), 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut, and bing cherries. It's a pretty forgiving recipe, and the bars come out VERY tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smidgeon March 14, 2012

Very very good. Definatley requires less sugar. Can easily be reduced to 3/4 cup sugars total for those of us looking to cut the sweetness. Whole wheat flour and brown rice cereal in place of regular rice krispies are 2 more easy healthier choices that you won't even notice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daeneryz February 25, 2012

Very good. Kids loved making with me. Made lots of changes, because I sooo need to grocery shop, but they still turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan February 10, 2012

If a chocolate chip cookie and a granola bar had a baby, this would be it. We loved these, although they were not the breakfast food I was looking for. I used coconut extract in addition to the vanilla and replaced the almonds with sweetened shredded coconut. As mentioned by others, I reduced the brown sugar and omitted the white sugar. Next time ( and there will be a next time, maybe tomorrow ) I will health it up a bit with some nuts and fruits, more oats, and less chocolate. Otherwise, these are a great healthier cookie bar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milking Mom November 07, 2011
Chewy Granola Bars