Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chewy Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chewy Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2010

      Wonderful, adaptable, and delicious recipe! I left out the white sugar and used 3/4 C of brown sugar, and it was plenty sweet. To up the amount of fiber and protein (and because I didn't have rice crispies), I used Kashi Go Lean cereal in place of the rice crispies. These bars keep great, and one of them will stick with you all morning. These will become a regular recipe in our house; my husband grabs one on his way out the door in the morning, which is so much better for him than a danish or donut. Thanks, Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Very good. The only problem is they don't last as long as the store bought kind because we eat them faster:) I made as called for but omitted the nuts. I may try to add some peanut butter next time as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      These were so good. I took them to work, and EVERYONE loved them. I substituted a lot of ingredients. Instead of the chocolate chips and rice crispies, I used raisins and granola cereal. Instead of regular nuts I substitued red roasted peanuts. This is a very easy and quick recipe, and I would highly suggest it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      These are more cookie like than granola-ish to me, but that's perfectly OK. They are super tasty and really easy to make. Even my husband liked them enough to comment! I did make some substitutions and additions based on what was in the pantry, a very versatile recipe. Thanks, Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Made these as a treat for my dbf! He LOVED them!! Used maple syrup instead of honey, didn't add any almonds (as I ran out) and added some dried cranberries to the mix! Next time, will add less sugar as they were a bit too sweet for him (I loved them as is! ;) Thanks Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Very yummy and versatile. I omitted the honey and reduced both of the sugars and it turned out great. My cooking time was a bit quicker (about 18 minutes) but that could be my oven. Thx Manda, the kids will love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      These were fantastic-sweet and chewy. They are really more like a cookie bar a than granola bar, but still very good! I used 1/2 the white sugar and they were still plenty sweet. I might even cut the chocolate chips down to 1/2 cup. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Made these tonight for the kids. Everyone loved them. We added dried cranberries instead of raisins and used walnuts instead of almonds. I used a bit less sugar and think I could use even less next time/elminate most of it. They are very sweet. They taste like candy! Yum. My only wish is that there was a way to make them a bit firmer so they would stay together a bit better. Overall, very good. We will make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I made these today to give to a friend and they were the Best I've Ever Made! I used sunflower seeds for the almonds and used 1/2 C. Chocolate Chips and 1/2 C. Mini M&Ms. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      These are super yummy. My kids have been gobbling them up. I used ww flour, reduced the amount of sugar by a little (but could have done with less), used 3/4 C chocolate chips (next time will try 1/2 C) and added in craisins and cocunut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      My kids love these! Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I highly recommend this recipe to all granola bar lovers. Quick, easy, versatile, delicious and "substitution friendly"! Like some of the other reviewers, I used whole wheat flour and substituted raisins and coconut flakes instead of nuts. Moist, chewy and delicious! Thanks Manda for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Oh MY Gosh! Stop me!!! I've eaten half the pan! Hope there will be some left when the kids get home from school. I made this without the nuts {nut-free school} and with whole wheat flour. Soooooo good, but I would love to make it a little healthier. Plus it made at least 20 in my 9x11 pan. The store bought are filled with stuff I can't pronounce and cost a fortune...thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is a great base recipe. I like the way it turned out and I added some chopped up cranberries in place of the nuts. I also used crushed corn flakes as I was out of rice crispies. Thanks, I will make this one again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      These were my first attempt at making granola bars and they were delicious. I didn't want to go and buy a box of rice crispies so I just used fibre one cereal instead - delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      These are great! I didn't add the chocolate chips or raisins. The choc chips would have been great but I liked them as is. I might cut down the sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Too bad i can't give this 10 stars ... Wow these were wonderful!! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Update: we recenly had to remove a lot of foods from our sons diet and wokrked at modifying this recipe. I used Flax egg replacer #104832, brown rice flour and gluten free oats. They are awesome. They are cookies disguized as bars!! And pretty healthy to boot. I replaced the butter with cocnut oil and reduced the sugar to only 2/3 of a cup of turbinado sugar and omitted the white sugar. Still pleanty sweet! Used chopped pecans and 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips. They are our favorite bars. Very versitle recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I thought these were really good. Almost followed the recipe to a T. I used mini chocolate chips. I also didn't have any almonds, so I replaced walnuts. I really like the tiny bit of crunch the Rice Krispies gives. If I use raisins next time, I will probably do half the amount of chocolate chips and add a half a cup of raisins. Oh, I also used 2/3 c. of wheat flour and 1/3 all-purpose. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I like these bars best when the batter barely coats the solids (cereal, nuts, chocolate chips, oats). I use 1/4 cup butter, decrease the sugar, and add 1 cup applesauce or apricot pulp, to compensate. This means more batter, so I increase the solids from 4 and 3/4 cups to somewhere between 6 and 8 cups. Our favorite combo is 3 c. crisp rice, 2 c. oats, toasted, 1 1/2 cups sliced almonds, toasted, 1/2 cup dried apricots, chopped, and 1 cup chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chewy Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1017 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.9
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    38%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 157.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes